We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roatan Ocean Adventures

Roatan Ocean Adventures
French Cay, sea side, 33166, Honduras
+504 9892-8179
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roatan Ocean Adventures brings guest a unique way of enjoying there time here in Roatan. Also providing guest with some of the most outstanding tours the island has to offer, making your time here a fun and safe one.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Herbert was amazing! Rather than booking an excursion with our cruise ship, we decided we wanted an experience that did not include hundreds of other people from our ship. Even though the fishing was not great the day we arrived in Roatan, Herbert worked extremely hard to make sure our family had a wonderful experience. My two teenage sons were thrilled, especially the youngest who became quite the expert by the end of the day;)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
“Breath Taking Excursion! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Herbert was the best guide ever! There was never a time limit set to this excursion. We were out there for probably 3 hours if not more just enjoying the beauty of the island! He took us the all the best places and promised us we would see certain fish and sure enough... he did not disappoint. The gear is top notch and he makes sure everybody is comfortable in the water. If visiting Roatan... This would be your best snorkel tour by far! Couldn't have asked for anything better! I love Roatan Ocean Adventures!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“TOO AMAZING FOR WORDS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I can Easily say that the snorkeling was AMAZING!!! We learned a lot about the coral reef and Roatan. Tour guide pointed out various life forms while snorkeling. He even took a Go-Pro and shot video and pics throughout the tour, when we returned from the trip, we received the underwater pics and video taken. I would and have recommended to any and everyone!!! Thank you guys at Roatan Ocean Adventures!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Best Snorkeling Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Herbert made us feel like we were visiting a friend, very good hands. This was not your typical excursion, we were not rushed to get done. For Herbert it is about sharing this experience & his knowledge of the area & see creatures with others, it is not about making money like other locations. The reef is amazing crystal waters & so much see life, very easy for any age to enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fishing and Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a wonderful time with Herbert a few weeks ago. We had scheduled a full day of fishing and he picked us up in the morning at our local dock. We had lines in the water for no more than five minutes when we got our first strike and for the rest of the morning we were pulling in tuna (blackfin and yellowfin) and trying for the clever and elusive Wahoo (which we hooked up on a few times but never quite landed).

We had great fun and Herbert with his "GoPro" was filming every fighting moment and telling us all about the island's history and was a veritable encyclopedia of knowledge about fishing, and areas for snorkeling and diving. He also has a love of the sea, and cares deeply for environment and his island and is very careful and respectful of the animals we caught and also the ones we let go.

Herbert's pride and joy (and a true labor of love) is an area in French Caye perfect for snorkeling and exploring filled with more lobsters than you'll ever see in one area in your life. Herbert and his partners have established a "no fishing/taking" zone and the animals are thriving. If you get a chance you should really ask him to take you there. It is quite a sight to see, and Herbert has worked hard to make it so.

Herbert took us back to our dock and cleaned our fish and was genuinely grateful for the share we offered to him (he could have taken more...as it was we ate fish for the rest of the week breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner).

A wonderful, personal, fishing, snorkeling adventure. If you're coming on a cruise ship or staying on the island and you want a break from diving, or really just want to catch a lot of fish for the grill, I give Roatan Ocean Adventures my Highest Recommendation.

-Ryan

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roatan Ocean Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Roatan Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roatan Ocean Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.