We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brisa Del Mar: Balinese Style Oceanfront Villa

Stunning Brisa del Mar Villa
Stunning Brisa del Mar Villa
Stunning Brisa del Mar Villa
The pool and ocean view
Trifold doors open to the pool deck
Comfortable living room
Dining area and kitchen
Roatan
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
herchenx
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Incredible place, expect bugs and lizards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is beautiful. The privacy, infinity pool, property, amenities, location, cost, security, staff, everything is great.

This particular villa is definitely not a hotel though. The dozens of geckos that inhabit the inside of the house will chirp and sing all night (they are louder than you would expect)

There were hundreds of very large ants every night in our bedroom. The staff took little action in spite of several calls. This was one of the disappointments with the place. Our friends did not have the large ants in the other suite, it was limited to the eastern half of the house.

In spite of the heebie-geebies, the ants were not on us while we slept and after thoroughly dousing the edges of the bed with bug spray nothing came in the mosquito netting.

There were also very tiny ants all over the kitchen, and one very large, very fast cockroach that lived under the fridge and would shoot out to the door and back periodically.

There are dogs and cats that come into the house. They are friendly but several times one of the labs smelled horribly and we shooshed him away.

The space is very open. If you travel with friends you will hear each other use the restroom, flush and any other noises that come from the bedroom or bathroom will travel around the house at night.

The kitchen is nicely furnished and functional.

We had Rosa cook dinner two nights and she is an incredible cook.

Generally I think they could charge a couple hundred more per week and provide better meal planning instead of insisting you go buy it yourself and that would go a long way. This was another pain point with us. We ended up shopping for food almost every day and would have liked to not do this. They leave it to you to know what you should buy and how much, in spite of being able to provide a list of ingredients.

I would suggest the Hiper Mercado in French Harbor to do your shopping. The property owner took us to some other sketchier store and said it was the best on the island, but the Hiper Mercado was much nicer and had more items.

We hired the driver quite a bit and that was well worth it. You get someone to accompany you during the day if he drives you to the west end and he can make suggestions and let you know if prices are fair on things. Our driver, Derek, really was great. We felt like we learned a lot more about how to get around by having spent time with him.

The reef just off the dock is nice to snorkel, although the current is very strong there and you will have to work to stay over the coral. We tried using the kayaks and snorkeling off them, but the current caused so much trouble we ended up losing grear, paddles, etc. and would have been better off just fighting the current and leaving the kayaks.

You hear a lot of music from Punta Gorda up the coast and night and in the morning. It is recorded "DJ" music, sometimes just drums though, but was loud enough it woke us and kept us up a few times.

The security is good and always around if you need anything. It is a little disconcerting having these guys with guns right around the house, but they were very friendly, never intrusive, and always very helpful.

Having the car was really nice, the first few days we had the driver take us around, but we ended up driving ourselves mid week and in spite of some close calls the driving was find and we felt safe out on our own.

Some nights the breeze was nice, but others the wind was too strong and we had to close all the doors and louvers. Then it would get too hot, then we would use the fan which was loud but kept us cool.

One night it got too cool and we were all chilly. They didn't have blankets beyond the thin sheets on the bed so we cuddled and shivered through the night.

Everything is cash on the property, but the only ATMs are very far away, so bring plenty of cash. There aren't safes, but there are locking cabinets in the rooms. We didn't have anything go missing.

Laundry and cleaning was nice but the clothes are not "spring fresh" when you get them back. They are washed but the smell may or may not be fresh.

We had all the privacy we needed, although people will come around the back of the house to turn off the pool pump and lights, so if you want absolute privacy you will need to learn when to be out and when to expect company.

We settled in and in spite of a number of things we didn't expect we loosened up and really enjoyed the house. It is very beautiful but hopefully this review helps set some correct expectations.

We loved it and would go back in a second.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location, staff, view
Liked least: bugs, dogs, cats, bugs, lizards, one cold night, bugs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kld1
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great house great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This house was wonderfully comfortable and relaxed. The grounds were lovely and the little reef between the docks was filled with wonderful fish and coral. We also swam out to the far reef for snorkeling which was great as well. There were comfortable chairs and lounges and the pool was just right for cooling off.
We took advantage of the spa for massage- I was a bit leary because other massages I have had on Roatan were not great- but this was fabulous!

We had Rosa make Shrimp Masala for us one night for dinner and also loved the Pizza night! We cooked for ourselves most of the other nights- it just seemed like too much trouble to go out!

It is a beautiful place and I am sure you would be comfortable there!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfort and the reef.
Liked least: The Dogs barking
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Michelle...
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I rented Brisa Del Mar Oct 20-27, 2012. We spent a week on the West End back in June of this year and wanted to try out the other end of the island this time.

Bruce, the property owner, personally picked us up from the airport and drove us to the grocery store. Luckily he had a little shopping to do himself so we weren't rushed, as tends to happen when a cab driver is outside waiting on you.

As soon as we arrived at the house, my husband and I were completely in awe. There weren't any reviews on TA when we booked the house, so we could only go off of pictures and reviews of the neighboring properties. It's truly more beautiful in person. This home is completely stocked with everything you need; dishes, pots and pans, silverware, dish and hand soap, toilet paper, paper towels, bath and beach towels, extra blankets, movies, books, etc. The deck, facing the ocean, was our favorite hangout and having a pool right outside of your front door is especially nice. I was a little concerned about not having A/C, but between the fold away doors, floor and ceiling fans, and a pretty constant breeze, we were more than comfortable. What sold us on renting this house was the fact that a vehicle is included in the rental price. The East End of the island is completely different than the West End and we wanted to see every inch of it.

We got a kick out of the fact that every time we left and returned to the property, someone was waiting for us at the gate, so we didn't have to get in and out of the truck. We surely could have manned the gate ourselves, but it shows that the staff is there to make your vacation feel first class. Another nice touch is that someone lights the candles that are spread around the deck area every evening at dusk. You never see it being done, but it's done nevertheless. During our week long stay, Jessica cleaned the house three times and changed the sheets once. As their site promises, if you place something in the laundry basket, she washes it and returns it the next day.

I really can't say enough good things about this place. The house is truly amazing, as well as the owners and staff. If you want a nice, relaxing vacation, this is the way to do it. We only drove to the West End once and didn't feel like we were missing a thing.

A special thanks to Bruce, Phil, Jessica, Rosa, Fausto and everyone else at Brisa Del Mar for making our vacation one to remember.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Deck, pool, grounds, owners, staff
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ann D
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most beautiful, relaxing and amazine place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

If you really want to relax on a vacation, this is the place for you. We had the most amazing time and were very sad when it came time to say good-bye. We travelled with friends who had a very unfortunate accident and had to leave after one day. The owner's were in the house next door and were amazing at getting help and assisting in getting the best care on the island. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the food was second to none. Massages were incredible! The gift shop truly one of the best on the island! A great place to fall in love all over again. We were planning our next trip back to Brisa del Mar before we left. Tuesday night Palapa Pizza is a must! Thank you Bruce, Nicky, Phillip, Briginna, Fausto, Jessica (and Lester for lighting our candles every evening), Rosa and Dorba and we cannot forget all the amazing dogs and cats. Truly a blessing that we found Brisa del Mar.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$257
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Bruce R
18433847949
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2012
Response Rate: 90 %
Calendar Updated: 15 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing