We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exotic, hydroponic, tropic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum

Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum
Main Road to Mudhole, 34101, Honduras
214-234-9148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Roatan
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum is home to Roatan’s most exotic tropical gardens.  Featuring the only commercial hydroponic lettuce farm in the Caribbean, exotic tropical fruit trees, large orchid collection, heliconia gardens and a conservatory with an indoor waterfall surrounded by lush tropical plants.  Enjoy our pond with several varieties of aquatic birds.  Breathe deep and take in nature at Roatan's tropical Eden covering over 150 acres.   
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“exotic, hydroponic, tropic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I agree with other recent reviews: certainly an unique and lovely place. And they have recently opened a sandwich smoothie shop: an opportunity to try a smoothie from one of those fabulous tropical fruits whose name you have never heard of and will never remember but with an overwhelming dose of antioxidants and other good stuff. There is a somewhat irritating guinea hen named Helen who will follow you around--not to be confused with the tour guide of the same name.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our all-time favorite shore excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I are in our 60s and always try to learn about the places we visit while avoiding strenuous activities. We decided to give the BHTA tour a try based on Tripadvisor reviews and hit paydirt with this shore excursion! We confirmed an appointment online and everything couldn't have gone better! Transportation was $15 each, and the tour cost us $23 each for a total of $76. Ana met us as arranged and conducted a very informative private tour of the hydroponics facilities. Helen then showed us through the arboretum and orchards, explaining everything and answering all our questions. Both ladies couldn't have been more hospitable and we never felt hurried or herded.. Ana taught us a lot about Roatan, its climate, government and economy, and the culture of its inhabitants during the drive to and from the cruise ship. She even stopped at a store so we could buy something we needed, totally unrelated to the tour. We had such a wonderful, relaxing afternoon! I highly recommend this tour!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great experience and great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Arboretum is fantastic, as is your guide and the organic snack bar. The hydroponics are state of the art. And it takes very little convincing to get their driver to drop you afterward at the beach and pick you up afterward. We are very picky cruisers but give this attraction the best rating

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and beautiful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This past week I visited this beautiful arboretum and hydroponic farm. Helen, our tour guide, was so very knowledgeable and so very nice! If you have an interest in plants (flowers, trees, fruit, etc.) or hydroponic farming this is a "must see" on Roatan. I was there for 3 hours and loved every minute...but, I understand that most people visit for 1 1/2 hours. Thanks, again, Helen!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best excursions we did on our cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We booked direct based on the TA reviews and we had a superb time. Ana collected us with no issue from Mahoghany Bay, and took us on the 15 min drive to the Arboretum. Explaining on the way the background to the place. Helen gave us a walking tour of all the wonderful flowers and fruit trees. It was great getting a private tour with someone so knowledgable. Then to top off the trip Ana took us on a scenic drive back to the ship so we got to see some of Roatan. Up until that point i didn't feel that we had any real chance to experience the Caribbean islands outside of the main tourist towns, as are the limitations of the time ashore from a ship, but this trip enabled us to. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.