We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Side Restaurant and Bar

Port Side Restaurant and Bar
Pensicola Rock, 02816, Honduras
504 99047053
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 142 Restaurants in Roatan
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Port Side is one of my favorite restaurants on Roatan. I love walking through the coral prior to entering the restaurant, and then dining over the water on the restaurant deck. I ordered one of the the specials, red snapper over linguine, and it was delicious. It came with french onion soup and a glass of wine. I then enjoyed a piece of homemade key lime pie.
Port Side is a hidden gem!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two lovely evenings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We visit Roatan often and were really happy to try this new restaurant. It is in a gorgeous spot right on the water. It has a lovely breeze and the service was terrific. There was a always a special I wanted to try so I never make it past the hand written sign. Wine was included and delicious. It is in an ex-residence and makes you wish you could live there. The food was served quickly and hot. I would highly recommend visiting this beautiful new business.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaraunts on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Imagine a house with a huge deck on the edge of the ocean and that is Port Side. You park in the lot the wind through a tunnel in the rock to get in the restaraunt. The cuisine is Itailian with an island flair. The prices are reasonable I paid 22$ for fresh snapper with pasta veggies and a glass of wine, my girlfriend had shrimp fettuchini with a half pound of shrimp on it. It all was wonderful. Mike the owner and chef was friendly and an excellent host. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting. It is in Sandy Bay so you will need a car or a taxi ride but well worth the effort!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate here twice while visiting Roatan and were first struck by the entrance to the restaurant. You may have to tell your taxi where it is...just tell the it is just past Gio's and you will be fine. You arrive in a lovely palm tree filled sandy courtyard and then walk up to the building through a maze of beautiful volcanic rock. Once inside you are seated out on the deck with a view of the light of Coxen Hole and a view below of fish and ocean floor. Mike and Francois are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The food is exceptionally well made. Our salads were great both nights and one night I had the best lobster bisque ever! We enjoyed sea bass, lobster and pasta over the two nights and everything was done very well. The prices were reasonable and the wines paired well with the food. One other plus was great, live jazz on Tuesday nights. Seriously good food in a romantic setting, period.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

One of the best restaurants I've been to on the island - a very pleasant surprise. Delicious food, nice ambiance, and great service. The specials even include a glass of wine. I hope to return soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Side Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Roatan, Bay Islands
West End, Roatan
 

Been to Port Side Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Side Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.