We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beutiful private beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little French Key

Little French Key
Honduras
504-3304-5776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Roatan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to our Private Island Retreat......Best Moments....Both eco friendly and mystical, this place is built with kindness to the environment and people in mind, Little French Key is where you get back to your essence. Roatan is an uncommon place to rejuvenate physically, mentally and spiritually. .Join us for some of the best moments of your life.....
North Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“beutiful private beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

i just have to say that I loved this place and all the anamals they had if you go there make sure you take a picture with simba.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    120
    33
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

We had an amazing time at Little French Key. Our lunch was good, there were plenty of activities to keep everyone occupied all day, and you couldn't ask for a prettier place. We would definitely recommend this place to other travelers.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royse City, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

It was a perfect day. Beautiful beach. Best snorkel I have experienced...Awesome guide to make sure everyone was safe. Animals seemed well cared for and happy. Simba was very cooperative and seemed to enjoy interacting with her care givers as well as her time in the water. I believe Ronald was our guide w the animals and was very friendly and informative. Everyone was helpful and very friendly. Will definitely go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good time but Mother Nature threw a slight tantrum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

We were on an NCL cruise and booked Little French Key online directly after reading positive reviews on Cruise Critic as well as Trip Advisor. It was a tad pricey and finding the group going there outside the pier area was kinda scary. Every local wants to drive you somewhere or walk with you. Now that I know where you need to meet your group I feel better about going back in the future. The place is really nice but unfortunately it was a windy day with rough waves which limited the snorkeling to the sheltered lagoon. If the weather would have been better, I'm sure the day would have been superb!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

Little French Key was recommended by a friend and after reading the reviews, we decided to go. After paying a $20 entrance fee per person, you are shuttled across a small channel to Little French Key. I was so excited about seeing the animals (and equally excited that they were all rescue animals) but as soon as we got there, we witnessed a horrible sight- an employee was getting the jaguar out (using a tight chain around his neck) for a guest who paid to "swim with the jaguar" (part of the VIP package). The jaguar did not want to leave the cage, clearly knowing what was about to happen. He balked when he got to the beach and laid down trying not to go. The employee drug the jaguar on his back through the sand to the water. It was horrible. As we continued the tour, we discovered a female dog with a litter of puppies tied to the fence with such a short rope that she could not reach her puppies. She was so frantic she was twisting the rope tighter and tighter, digging a hole in the sand. I found an employee to come untangle her and lengthen the rope where she immediately starting grabbing her puppies to start nursing. There were a few older puppies that looked just like these dogs, so it doesn't seem they are being responsible with spaying and neutering the dogs. We stayed long enough for one drink and a quick swim (he swim area is gorgeous)- then waited almost 45 minutes for the boat to come back and get us, despite telling employees multiple times we needed to leave). I feel terrible that I participated in this type of exploitation of animals (Its one thing to have rescue animals in a sanctuary and a whole different thing to make them do things simply for human entertainment and money). I would definitely not recommend going here.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We believe that your review of our facilities although written from an animal lover's point view, might be uniformed and too quick to judge without having all the facts or inquring first before forming an uniformed conclusion, first we are great animal lovers and take great pride in our efforts at our rescue center, we have rescued many animals from poachers and various circuses, including our resident Jaguar, Simba who has been a member of our family since he was rescued as a small mal nurished kitten from a traveling circus, yes at times he can act like a child, a bit stubborn, and act like that he does not want to go to school, or brush his teeth, but once he gets in the Caribbean water he truly enjoys it, and loves to swim and interact, there are many pictures posted by our dear visiting guests that attest to this fact...this is done foremost to keep him active, lively, healthy and entertained and not for reasons your review uniformedly suggests...secondly the female dog and the puppies refrenced in your review at the time of your visit were brought out from their den to catch some fresh air and sun, while we were cleaning and santizing their den and habitat, the female was tied down because she is a first time mother and we would like to avoid an accident of her rolling on the puppies and accidently crushing them while we were busy getting them situated....we hope that your reconsider your review and remove the negative comments come and come and visit our facilities again, this time asking for assistance from an English speaking member of our rescue staff to explain to you in detail the reasons why and our detailed comintement of our efforts for our dear rescued animals...G-d Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little French Key also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Little French Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little French Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.