We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Location But Watch the Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little French Key

Little French Key
Honduras
504-3304-5776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to our Private Island Retreat......Best Moments....Both eco friendly and mystical, this place is built with kindness to the environment and people in mind, Little French Key is where you get back to your essence. Roatan is an uncommon place to rejuvenate physically, mentally and spiritually. .Join us for some of the best moments of your life.....
Village of Lisburn, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awsome Location But Watch the Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had heard from some locals that we rented a home by on the east end of the island that this was a really nice place to spend an afternoon so we gave it a try. WOW, it was gorgeous and it was packed with fun activities. We paid an tremendous price for the ride over to the island and we found out later after speaking to other folks that we were all charged different prices. And we had paid the most! Super disappointed in that.... But, it was beautiful and the food was good and we had a great time. Just be warned that you are apparently able to haggle for a good price to access the key. I would go again if I negotiated a better price for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
WE are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you wish to return for another visit....there is no reason to be disappointed....yes we do offer different prices for different people and different packages, they are lisited on our web site, littlefrenchkey.com, locals and expats living on the Roatan Island do recieve a discount when they visit us repeatedly on a monthly basis, so do children under 12 and so do group of 10 or more travelling together, we even had a group of children and teachers from the orphanage that visited us free of charge for their Easter vcation, to critize this policy and letting it get in your way of fully enjoying our location and what we have to offer seems rather odd. We do not haggle about prices associated with each group and package.

May G-d Bless

Management Team at Frenchys 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,063
    132
    39
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Tranquil Get-away, Bad drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We went to Little French Key on our mediocre Princess Cruise to Roatan. We got off the ship after it was late arriving, looked for the Little French Key guys, found them right outside the "cruise" gated area, and took a 20 minute ride to the bar/restaurant where to take a very short boat ride to the island. Right after we arrived and took a short tour of the island, I bought a Pina Colada, and it was terrible, no taste, mostly ice. Later I tried one of their popular drinks at the other bar, the Monkey La La, and as the "bartender" was making the drink, another guy ordered one, too. Instead of adding more rum and mixers, the bartender just added more ice and made two of the drinks. YUK! Other than that, the snorkeling, swimming, zoo, lounge chairs, and food was good. The $55 includes the ride to the area and back, so it is a good value.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are very glad that yo enjoyed your time with us...we do apologize if the drinks made by the bar tender were not to your satisfaction, all you had to do was ask one of our management team and we would have made certain that your were being served to your complete satisfaction. We do hire extra help for high holiday season of Easter, and we will make certain to double check the quality of service.

May G-d Bless

Management Team at Frenchys 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The small island is absolutely beautiful, great for relaxing, swimming in the tranquil teal water, and they even offer paddle boards. The staff on the island was extremely pleasant. My only complaint was the caged animals looked so sad and the cages they were in did not look safe or sturdy.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Glad that you enjoyed your time with us and found our location a gorgeous escape ....we have recently been targeted and very harshly judged for our animal rescue center which has been in operation for overthe past three years since before the Little French Key Private Island was opened to public for visit...we take great pride in rescunig these animals from various poachers, confiscated animal trade, traveling circus, etc...they are very well taken care of and very well fed, I must say better than a lot of people in Honduras, and they live in secure enclosed habitats for their safety, only the animals that enjoy human contact are interacted with for their and the visiting guests enjoyment....to judge without having actual facts and knowledge and on heresay or what you "feel" is unproductive and can be damaging for our cause and the welfare of the animals.

May G-d Bless,

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and LittleFrench Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved Little French Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We purposely chose a non-cruise ship day so that we would have a more peaceful experience. Very glad we did so. There were less than 20 guests on the island so it was an idyllic atmosphere. LOVED the animals and feel that they were very well tended and looked after - indeed loved. The lunch was delicious - a bit on the spicey side but we enjoy that. The scenery was gorgeous and we enjoyed the (non-guided) snorkelling. Snorkelling was a bit tricky since there wasn't too much to see outside the reef and it was pretty rough to get over to the other side of it. The service was very friendly. Would definitely recommend it and would love to visit again. Make sure you allow yourself several hours for an enjoyable visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this great five stars review....it is people such as your self that truly what we do here in Paradise truly worthwhile.

May G-d Bless you and your family,

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, Great Food, Bummer Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We recently visited during our first day on the Norwegian Dawn. When you get off the boat, leave the shopping area, walk out gated area and look for guys wearing "Little French Key" shirts. The bus ride took just over 20 mins.

The first place you arrive is bar area with great bathrooms. Then you get in line to pay for day and ferry over to the island. We arrived along with multiple cruisers from the Dawn and a Princess ship. Pls Pls Pls - cruisers have an idea of what excursion you are going to select and pay for.... it seems people did research to get there but still had no clue how to pick "do i get the snorkel package, or not" So it took well over 30 mins standing in line to get on the ferry. It was an overcast day so we selected the day package with food at $88 pp. YOU WILL PAY SERVICE FEE for using cc. Which is customary. 3 pp = $350 bucks. You are given 2 drink tickets.

Once you reach the isle, you are kinda just dropped off to explore the place on your own. We immediately used our drink tickets while exploring. I'm not sure exactly how the animals were "rescued" as the areas for the animals esp for the jaguars is relatively small. But overall well maintained and clean. The animals were fed while we where there - so i'm going to say that the animals are being taken care of and are better off than with owners who would neglect or abuse them.

Food was served hour or so after arriving. It was GREAT food. Well worth it and enjoyable.... used second and final drink ticket.

So what made for a bummer day - We stayed all day at this place, bought lots of extra drinks hoping to get some photos like people post on trip advisor with the animals. Only to find out that they had brought the animals out while we were on the other side of the isle! They were being put away as we walked up. And had brought the animals out for a 7 yr old! I was really disappointed. I understand that the animals can't be exposed to everyone all the time, but we had hung out for so long just to find out a kid had got the upclose experience. I wish they would have had a sign up sheet, or pay an extra fee, or at least posted times.

Upside and favorite part of my day: Meeting the Frenchie Bulldog Harley!!!! He was such a lover and a very sweet dog!!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We really don't understand how we can serve you great food in an amazing location per comments stated in the review and its heading, be a great value, have a sign at the animal area <which the review also claims is kept clean and well maintained> that states for assistance with the animals ask for Mathew or inquire at the bar, and yet recieve a 3 stars review? We believe your "bummer day" is self inflicted and chosen...
May G-d Bless

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little French Key also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Little French Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little French Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.