We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful excursion from cruiseship” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little French Key

Little French Key
Honduras
504-3304-5776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Roatan
Type: Islands, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to our Private Island Retreat......Best Moments....Both eco friendly and mystical, this place is built with kindness to the environment and people in mind, Little French Key is where you get back to your essence. Roatan is an uncommon place to rejuvenate physically, mentally and spiritually. .Join us for some of the best moments of your life.....
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful excursion from cruiseship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were looking for an excursion booked separately from the cruiseship, in the hopes of a less crowded & touristy experience. Little French Key (LFK) filled that expectation. One of the drivers met us just outside the port, and we rode with some others to Frenchy's 44, which is owned by the same family as LFK. Everyone was friendly & helpful. Probably 40-50 people total from our cruiseship went to LFK, which was great because the key was big enough to spread out and feel like you were doing something a little more special. Lunch was fantastic, we had a bit of everything offered, and it was one of the best meals of our whole vacation. Great drinks, combed sand, small zoo area, and clean changing area/bathrooms all made this an enjoyable & low-key excursion. No problems in getting back to the ship on time. Only "complaint" was the quality of snorkeling; visibility wasn't great which was likely due to weather, but even so, we've seen better.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It started with a Caribbean Dream for our family..... And then a spiritual awakening ,"anything worthwhile is meant to be shared" !

Thank you for sharing our dream and thank you for your visit.
God bless you and thank you for your kind words and Positive review:)

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    87
    23
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip (and $)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking forward to our stop in Roatan just for this, as we were excited by what we had read on TripAdvisor. Despite being a little uneasy at the anticipate cost ($95 an adult, seriously, in Honduras?), we were not disappointed!

We were well-taken care of, from boarding our taxi outside the ship terminal to our return to the ship terminal in the afternoon, the service was attentive, friendly and made the whole day very nice. We felt like royalty as we enjoyed a very relaxing day.

We enjoyed the beautiful (and soft) sand, the clear water, the warm weather, the frozen drinks and the great lunch. The children really enjoyed hanging out with the monkeys, holding the new baby puppies and visiting with the young jaguars. The staff were all highly attentive, friendly and courteous.

The snorkeling was equally amazing.

We sure hope to return!

As an aside, travel time from the Coxen port is about 30 minutes. We passed the Mahogany Bay port on the way over. We did not eat at Frenchy's but it seemed pretty busy when we were leaving that afternoon. The area is prone to bugs (mosquitos) but we were not bothered by them at all during our stay (mid March). The water was an excellent temperature and they have great "water chairs" that sit in the lagoon and allow you to sit and sun yourself in the water without sitting in the sand. Water shoes would be helpful as there are pieces of broken coral that are brought into the area with the currents as well as some stones. They do spend a lot of time trying to keep the sand as soft and manicured as possible though. Lastly, if you want pictures of the water in the lagoon, take them early in the day. As the day goes on and everyone is playing in the water, it gets murkier.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It started with a Caribbean Dream for our family..... And then a spiritual awakening ,"anything worthwhile is meant to be shared" !

Thank you for sharing our dream and thank you for your visit.
God bless you and thank you for your kind words and Positive review:)

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Little French Key - Very Relaxing and Fun at the same time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband & I just got back from a cruise that included a stopover in Roatan. Based on Trip-advisor reviews, we decided to book the day at the Little French Key. We were delighted with our choice. Staff was friendly, food was great!! Had a totally enjoyable day on this private little island.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
1 review
“Five Stars!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Unbelievable place!! My daughter and I just returned from a Western Caribbean cruise and were fortunate enough to stumble on this opportunity when we were looking for a beach to visit in Roatan. Little French Key was definitely the highlight of our trip--this is a true paradise island!! The owners were so hospitable and welcoming and the beauty of the island is beyond words. I highly recommend this place and plan to visit again!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It started with an Caribbean dream for our family..... And then a spiritual awakening ,"anything worthwhile is meant to be shared" !

Thank you for sharing our dream and thank you for your visit.
God bless you and thank you for your kind words and Positive review:)

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, IA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“busy, busy, busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I enjoyed the people of LFK, was fun to listen to the cooks while I waited for the food, animals were fun to see, but it was much more crowded than I anticipated and wanted. There is only a few feet of sand before you are walking on sharp rocks. They are making improvements for the shuttle boat dock (really needed since the boat travels right under the second-story jump-off into the water).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review..... Easter Holiday week is the most high peak Holiday of the year here in Roatan, Honduras with Spring break Vacationers, locals and snow birds all in Roatan enjoying the beach and the wonderful weather....Everywhere on the Roatan Island is busy for this week it is not a surprise:)

We have now completed the new dock, and additional new beach areas and there is plenty of various beach and sand areas both in the sun and the shade for our visiting guests to enjoy.... we are also currently in the process of completing additional bathrooms, a second kitchen area, Wifi room, massage area and other facilities to fully and better accomodate our visiting guests and their requests on High Peak Holidays:) If you were looking for a more secluded feel any other week of the year would have been a better choice to visit Roatan and Little French Key:)

Looking forward to having you with us again in the near future:)

Management Team @ Little French Key and Frenchys 44
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little French Key also viewed

 

Been to Little French Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little French Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.