We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georphi's Tropical Hideaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Georphi's Tropical Hideaway to your Saves list
Georphi's Tropical Hideaway
West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed in the cheapest possible accommodation while working toward my open water certification. This place is absolutely wonderful, and quite the value. The folks who run the place are incredibly nice, with a very welcoming, relaxed vibe. The little restaurant is very good as well, although I much preferred the chicken place next door (best and cheapest in the west end). Also, as I left hastily one early morning, I left my phone and a few other belongings. I figured there was no way I'd ever see these things again (I mean, come on, it's Honduras). To my surprise Rosalie made sure my belongings made their way back to me in the states. Amazing. Simply amazing.

Room Tip: They're all nice. They keep the shared restrooms super clean so it really doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
14
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at Georphi's for 11 days after trying a hostel in Sandy Bay (too far away) and a room at Chillies (no bathroom). For only $1 more each we were treated to the lovely 6B in a little cabin up the hill. We shared a TINY kitchen and a nice bathroom with people staying in 6A. It was a big circular cabin divided in half between the two rooms. The owners, Rosalie and Michelle, speak perfect English (I think they are from the US?) and are incredibly helpful.

As we shared a bed this was, in my opinion, the best value in Roatan. We paid $25 a night (so $12.50 each) but were both diving at the affiliated Reef Gliders dive shop which gave us each $10/off per night at Georphi's for every day that we dived. So some days we paid $2.50 each to stay at this place!

The cabin was very clean and the bathroom is a good size. The only problem was that our neighbors often forgot to unlock our bathroom door after they used it (you each have a door to the bathroom and lock the other people's while you are in there). We found out on the last day of our trip that our room key also opens the bathroom!! So that is good to know. There were a lot of nice touches like soap in the bathroom, q-tips, shampoo and conditioner. We tipped the maid $1-2 US (they clean every other day on long stays) and she did a lovely job in our room. The only complaint I would have is that the bathmat gets disgusting with 4 people a day showering on it and a humid environment...it probably needs to be changed daily. Other than that I was really pleased with the room. TWO fans in the room!! And a great little private deck with two hammocks. Super nice!

It is in a great location within walking distance to everything. Close to Fosters and Rudy's restaurant and the infamous rotisserie chicken place are on the same property. If you arrive and you can't find Michelle or Rosalie they are usually in Rudy's. There are parrots, cats and dogs all over the premises so if you aren't a fan this probably isn't a place for you.

We loved Georphi's and thought it was a great value for the price range. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Roatan. When we left, Michelle arranged a taxi for us and got some other guests in it too to cut down on the price for us. Get her to arrange for Oscar's taxi if you can... by far the nicest (and probably the only air-conditioned) cab in West End!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great place to stay and save a few dollars. Roatan is super expensive so u can save some money by getting a room with a kitchen. Coffee is great at Rudys. Kat Kat is a cool cat. This place Is a good place to stay but if u r going to spend $50-$60 on a cabin here check lost paradise further down the road for resort quality cabins for only 10-15$ more.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I think it's fair to say that staying at Georphi's was the highlight of my trip to Roatán. Georphi's is family-run by Rosalie and her daughter Michelle. They are super friendly, nice and helpful and will go out of their way for you. Which is more than I can say for the rest of my experiences in Honduras!!

Georphi's is a series of wooden cabins and there are two dorms - a 6-bed US$10/night one and a 3-bed US$15/night one. Both are well-screened with fans and have en suite baths with hot water. The 3-bed dorm also has a small kitchen. They are side by side with a shared deck and the cabin is elevated so catches the breeze. 

Rosalie and her family have thought of everything here. It's one of the best-appointed hostels I've come across and it's the little things that make all the difference... For example, there's hand soap in the bathroom, a shelf for your toiletries, 3-ply toilet paper and a bathmat. It felt like home :) They have fast wifi too, though you have to be in one of the cabins closest to the office to get a signal, or you can sit in the restaurant. Michelle told me they will soon be putting in a new router at the other end of the property so all the guests have wifi in their rooms. This place is already excellent value on Roatán and that will just be icing on the cake!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittredge, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Georphi's was the perfect match for us on our recent vacation in Roatan. We stayed in cabin 6b, shared bath/kitchen, and it could not have been any better. Not only are the owners incredibly nice and helpful, the location is perfect, and it puts you only steps to the BEST SMOOTHIES IN THE WORLD at Rudy's :) Hands down we will be staying here again.
Thank you Georphi's!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Deutschland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Well, it's not so much a hideaway, because bars and discos in the nighborhood are noisy until late. But that is everywhere in West End the case.

Their are huts with kitchen and without, with private and shared bathroom, with ac or fans, dorms. All have different prices starting with 15 US $ for a dorm. Huts starts with 25 US $, ....., asked for weekly rates.
The island is extremely expensive and I have no idea why. The reefs are destroyed, the beaches are conterminated with terrible sand flies, it's loud, noisy, not a place to relax, the road in West End is mess and rumors say it's gonna be paved soon, but who knows.

Anyhow, if you happen to stay in Roatan for some reason, I can recommend Geophry's Hideaway.

Michelle, from the US,who runs this place, is recognizable by her laughter, is a very friendly and helpful person. Staff lives in between guests and they don't care if you pay for sleeping. It's not a quiet place. If you are allergic to dogs and birds, don't go there. There are plenty of dogs running around and bark all the time. Birds are in cages.

WIFI is available for free. There are two restaurant on the property.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#5 of 8 in West End
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georphi's Tropical Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georphi's Tropical Hideaway

Address: West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Georphi's Tropical Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georphi's Tropical Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georphi's Tropical Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.