We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The locals place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Tree Restaurant

Coconut Tree Restaurant
West End, Honduras
(504) 2445-4081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 139 restaurants in Roatan
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The locals place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was in Roatan for almost a month and ate at the Coconut tree almost every day. They offer a delicious menu of local plates and international dishes. They have an amazing hamburger and their Lion fish cakes are one of a kind. Its an open air restaurant, with a friendly staff and a carefree environment. This is a great local hang out, from the regulars to their Chef, its one of my favorite places in Roatan.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    52
    29
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“The worst of the island”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was at this "restaurant" two weeks ago and the service was the worst I ever had, during my visit to Roatan... The owner was so rude disrespectful person to me and my family.. All because I requested an order of the menu was supposed to be ready in 5 minutes I waited 15 minutes on the table, by the time my order was ready after 20 minutes I stated the owner the food was too late he told me eat it or leave it... I told him what kind of service and disrespect was that one. he confront me telling me to go outside with him. I left that restaurant my family was more important and I want them to be safe in a place I didn't know. I don't recoment it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Coconut Tree - Vincent's Dining Palace - Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Near end of a solo backpacking trip Belize - Guatemala - Honduras, this 50ish Canadian lawyer ended up for a few days in Roatan before return to Vancouver. Had been to Roatan 2y earlier with a date, at Henry Morgan all inclusive down the way a few km. It was fine by the way. Ferry from La Cieba is a bucking bronco, 2 hours of fun but non-stop handholds needed. Glad sea-sickness never a problem pour moi.

Got to west end in dark, on a thursday. Got a fine room at Cocunut Tree Cabins, walked about (the main street - formerly sand, has now been concreted, tastefully - though never a good thing for maintaining funkiness. More taxis/cars/motos, all moving faster than on sand. Still cool, but get there fast. Eroding eden.

Go to bar/restaurant above the coconut tree grocereteria/Depanneur/bodega where you check in. Have a drink, am warmly greeted by owner/chef Vincent. To my great delight, Thanksgiving turkey is being served. Comes with ham and stuffing. It's awesome. Later I learn Vincent, 30ish, is a Roatan Native, guessing turkey not a traditional dish there, seasonally or otherwise. His cooking is awesome.

And then the reason I write now - After I finish, Vincent says to me and 2-3 other bar-mates, also just finshed "In my house, we have 2nd's at thanksgiving." What's not to like?

I eat 1-2 meals here each day. Great food, friendly,inexpensive. Good burgers too.

Nice to have a place where know a guaranteed good meal. Vincents at Coconut tree, West End, Roatan. Unequivocally recommend.

Michael Woodward
Vancouver Canada
There November 2012.

Ferry

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, La.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“UPSTAIRS WITH A VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the prices on the menu, had the fish sandwich and was very pleased with it, other guests had different selections and they looked great. Too bad I couldn't eat all of them. This is one of the few places on the island with the restaurant upstairs. You get a great view of the water beach and the activities all around!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location, good food, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ate here a few times when visiting last September - enjoyed bar service & lots of sports on several tv's - good drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Tree Restaurant also viewed

West End, Roatan
Roatan, Bay Islands
 
West End, Roatan
West End, Roatan
 

Been to Coconut Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.