We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Roatan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roatan Pirates Bay

Roatan Pirates Bay
Calle Pavimentada, 34101, Honduras
00504-2445-0757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 129 Outdoor Activities in Roatan
Attraction details
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Roatan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Roatan was a beautiful port of call during our cruise vacation. Warm friendly people, good food , simple fun filled attractions reasonably priced, clean and relaxed atmosphere; This is a gem. A must see for cruising in the western Caribbean.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stopped in Roatan during a cruise. The island is small, but absolutely beautiful, with wonderful hikes, gorgeous beaches, and crystal-clear water. I highly recommend hiking the island to its highest point - the view from up top is breathtaking!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Los palmos, roatan - Amazing beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Roatan was a port that our ship stopped at. For $15 A person, you can take a bus ride round trips and can spend a day in heaven. It is a beautiful beach with some shopping outside. Also, you get a towel and very nice beach charis. Drinks and food were very good and very reosanably priced. beach has wireless connection and not crowded at all. Check it on utube. Lovely day. Great drinks. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, crystal-clear water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I visited Honduras in 2011 and took a bus from San Pedro Sula to get to a ferry that took me to Roatan. I went with my boyfriend and we bought the cheaper tickets... bad choice. The VIP tickets are only a few dollars more, but definitely worth it. We ended up sitting on the top deck of the ferry, directly in the hot sun for about 2 hours! Plus the ferry was very bumpy and we both started to feel sick half-way through the trip. The ferry employees give all passangers plastic shopping bags upon boarding and many people used them during the ride.

Once we got to the island, we took a taxi ride to the west end. The ride was about 15 minutes and not too expensive. There are two ends of the island; West Bay and West End. West Bay has the beautiful water and there are hotels and resorts here. Bars and restaurants are more expensive here. To get to West End, there are water taxis that are way cheaper than the actual taxis and faster. There are lockers for rent; $5 for a whole day. Don't forget the sunblock!!! We bought a 3oz bottle for $10 on the beach! You can also rent lounge chairs for the day for $5. When we went there were sand lice/bugs (seasonal) so the chairs were a necessity.

We stayed in West End because we travel on a budget. We got a small one bedroom cabin for about $40 per night. I would stay at this place again. Very nice and very clean. It had a microwave, fridge, tv, shower, a/c. There are bars, restaurants and grocery stores in West End and it's more laid back. Not so many family things here. More for couples or single people. The beach here isn't as nice, but still pretty.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Undiscovered gem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Since our ship only stops for one day in Roatan, we wanted to go to the West Bay Beach. But after checking the price of taxi for our family, we decide to go to Las Palmas instead.ant
The shuttle and entrance was $10/personne and it is quite easy to find them once you get of the ship.
Th beach is gorgeous, with lounging beds and palapas.
There is snorkeling equipment for rental right on the beach at very reasonable price.
The restaurant on the beach has a limited menu but the portion is quite large.
We will come back to this place for sure since it is not crowded as the beach on th weste side.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roatan Pirates Bay also viewed

Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Roatan Pirates Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roatan Pirates Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.