We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific setting, comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge

Save Saved
You added Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge
Lot 12, Camp Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 46 Specialty lodging in Roatan
The Dalles, Oregon
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Terrific setting, comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Not much more to add to what other fans have already posted. The setting - off the beaten track on the NE coast of Roatan - is gorgeous and secluded. Everything about the resort is nicely thought out from the room furnishings and amenities to the naturalized landscaping and the excellent menu for the open air restaurant, the Tasty Tarpon. The hosts - Michael and Roxanne and their teenagers Lizzy and Mike - are friendly and extremely accommodating without being pushy. You can choose to be active in and on the water all day long or nap in hammocks.

Michael is a wealth of information about the local fishing, snorkeling, and diving options. My husband was disappointed at the decline in the bonefish population (darn poachers with nets!!) but still enjoyed walking the flats. They don't have a full service dive shop at this point but I thoroughly enjoyed the 3 dives I did with Michael as my dive buddy - nice equipment plus the variety and health of the coral and gorgonians on the house reef inspiring - that end of the island gets very little pressure. Although the reef is a bit far out for most folks to want to swim there, you can rent a kayak or canoe by the day or the week which puts it within easy reach. As with other areas of Roatan, keep bug spray handy if the breeze dies down. Wireless internet is free but a bit sporadic due to the isolated location.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
27
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winona Lake, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

First time to Roatan, found camp bay through trip advisor and it was everything everyone said it was. I was looking for something remote, small, private, clean, personable, affordable, away from the crowds for my 10 yr son and I, which is everything camp bay is and more. The owners can pick you up and drop you at the airport which made everything a lot easier. Plenty of great diving and snorkeling, the restaurant at the lodge is delicious and very affordable, awesome beach. The family that owns and runs the lodge was extremely helpful, my son had broken his arm a week before the trip and was in a cast and Roxanne and Mike and their awesome kids (and dogs!) helped my son to have a great time and find other things to do since he couldnt get wet. We left Roatan with new friends and spent a week in a beautiful location! Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Spent a few days in Camp Bay, exploring the island of Roatan. What a wonderful couple who own the resort. It was like visiting family. We could sit for hours talking to them. They shared so many wonderful stories and gave us a great education about Roatan....was an adventure getting there, but worth the excitement (part of the trip is on a dirt road). The food was fantastic, and I have never seen such a beautiful desserted long white sand beach!!.......Thanks you two!!! Theresa (and Steve, Norm, and Teresa)

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, oregon, USA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I spent 6 days at Camp Bay Adventure Lodge and LOVED it! Similar to other reviews, we found the hospitality by Mike & Roxanne and their kids and staff to be second to none. In addition, the facility was spotlessly clean, very well maintained and has a natural environment that is absolutely amazing. Our favorite part about our 10 days in Roatan, was spent here.

I will point out that staying at Camp Bay is not for the traveler that needs nightlife, late nights or people surrounding them. Camp Bay is for the traveler that is looking for R&R and peace and quiet. During our 5 night stay, we virtually had the place to ourselves--it was glorious. So make sure you like your travel partner!

And if you are looking for activities during the day, have Mike take you out on the boat to fish or snorkel. We took a snorkel trip with him and had an amazing morning. In addition, we took their kayaks out to the reef almost every day to snorkel and found that this side of the island had better snorkeling than the popular West Bay/End. There was actually live coral! And we saw a shark! YIPPEE! ANd take some time to explore the area a bit by car. We enjoyed checking out the tiny community of Camp Bay, headed to Paya Bay for cocktails one afternoon, and took a day trip to Marble Hill. It is a small area, but there is stuff to see/do. But ultimately, bring your books and relax in a hammock and play with their dogs. You'll have a great time here.

Mike, Roxanne, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyfishingfun, Guest Relations Manager at Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thanks we enjoyed you both, I finally had a chance to read the book you traded, great read love spy intrugue, hope you both return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you go to Roatan you have to try Camp Bay Adventure Lodge as an alternative to the highly touristic West End. On the far East of the island this is undeveloped, unspoiled paradise. The lodge accomodations are all absolute beach front and the beach is practically private - kilometers of uninhabited white sand, turquoise waters and wild jungle. Not another hotel in sight. We stayed in the suite (2 bedrooms, living room, very well equipped kitchen and bathroom with a huge terrace over looking the sea perfect private meals or evening cocktails) which was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and has unbeatable views. As for the 'adventure' part, we went with big plans for snorkelling, sea kayacking etc and while all this and more was made available to us we ended up spending most of our time in the hamocks under the palm trees. Total tranquility! Mike, Roxanne and family are wonderfully hospitable and the restaurant is excellent! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I was traveling with a group of friends and after staying a few nights on the West End, Camp Bay beach is just what we needed. We had the entire beach to ourselves. The accommodations were wonderful! The rooms were nicely decorated and everything we needed was provided. Mike and Roxy were very welcoming and went above and beyond what most owners do. They brought us a huge container of water so that we didn't have to filter ours from the tap, they allowed us to do laundry, allowed us to stay in an additional room, and transported us to and from their resort at a very reasonable price. We did the kayaking tour through the mangroves to a private island. There, we enjoyed lunch then went snorkeling at a shipwreck. The kayaking trip is a blast and a good workout!
Roxanne's cooking is out of this world! Definitely the best food I ate on the entire trip! The "Drunken Plantain" was my favorite, but you can't go wrong with anything on the menu!
I highly recommend stopping by Camp Bay Beach!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

After three nights in West End, my boyfriend and I opted to not just take a day trip to the eastern end of Roatan, but to stay there for a few nights to get the full East End experience. Camp Bay Lodge seemed to fit the bill location-wise, budget-wise, and offered many of the same activities that we had seen advertised elsewhere for more money. From the moment we arrived, the owners, Roxanne and Mike, rolled out the red carpet for us, attending to our every need. Mike recommended a really cool off-road experience through the village in Camp Bay up to Old Port Royal where we could see the surrounding reef and some smaller islands. Mike also took us on a really cool kayak tour through mangroves and along a lot of the eastern shore. During the tour we did some snorkeling, had lunch, and saw what seemed like miles of uninhabited shorline (it was also a great workout!).

As for the lodge itself, the accommodations were basic, but very clean and adequate for what we needed. What was great was that our room had a porch which looked right out on to the beach, and was probably only twenty paces or so to the ocean. We were perfectly content for three days to dine at the Tasty Tarpon (Roxanne and her staff's cooking is delicious, especially the buffalo shrimp) and La Sirena de Camp Bay (which was about a quarter mile down the beach from Camp Bay Lodge), relax on the beach in the Lodge's comfy lounge chairs, swim in the ocean, wander up and down the beach and around the surrounding area, and generally just take it easy. Ever since we left, we've been trying to figure out when we're going to get back!

Thank you Roxanne and Mike for an amazing experience. We hope to see you again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge

Address: Lot 12, Camp Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Specialty lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the largest natural beach of the Bay Islands on the east end of Roatan, the largest of the Bay Islands of Honduras. With the pristine beauty of Camp Bay Beach at our front door, protection of an almost untouched barrier reef just offshore. Our location has everything to offer from beachfront rooms, shore snorkeling, flats fly fishing, offshore diving, sport fishing, kite boarding/surfing, kayak mangrove tours and outer island boat tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Bay Beach Adventure Hotel Roatan
Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.