We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahogany Bay, Honduras” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Beach

Mahogany Beach
Mahogany Bay, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 71 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mahogany Bay, Honduras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Mahogany Bay is extremely beautiful island. It's a place where you can relax on the beach in covered lounge chairs, sip on tropical drinks, eat, dance and have a great time. I found the magical chair ride a total waist of time and money when you can walk to the beach in less than 5 minutes.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    178
    81
    32
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Subpar beach day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Although our stop in Roatan was beautiful the beach at Mahogany Beach was disappointing. The beach is very well landscaped but because you are in a cove there is no wave action. From our vantage point on the cruise ship we could see the gulf and waves and it was disappointing not to be able to go play. We walked from the ship to the beach in under 10 minutes. The beach was crowded with travelers from two cruise ships. The servers roamed throughout the crowd offering drinks and food. There was music and a fun beach vibe.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quiet paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a great place to catch some rays, drink a tropical drink and hang out of the day. A few hints:

1. Do not pay for the magical chair ride unless you physically can't walk. Enjoy the extremely short walk to the beach.
2. Rent a clam shell. You can lower or raise it as needed for sun exposure.
3. Watch out for jelly fish when swimming near the perimeter.
4. Don't waste money on the tourist goods. This is primarily a money trap.
5. If you don't like crowds, invest in the excursion package for the private beach area.
6. Party at the bars just because it's fun.
7. Don't waste money on the zipline. Wait for a better location.

Relax... relax ... relax.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“***Paradise***”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location, shopping, beach, lounge chairs, umbrellas, food, drinks, kayaks, SEA TURTLES, all in the same place. the beach area is just outstanding and no more than 100 yards from the boat for great pictures. The water is clam and clear, and if lucky you'll see a small stingray around. Great upgrade from the previous port for Honduras this is a one stop shop!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beatiful but too packed to enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Loved the cable car to the beach but once I got there I walked into the water for only few minutes. It felt good but couldn't stand the crown. Cable car broke down on the way back. Fortunately, I was not in one of them.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Mahogany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.