We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Beach

Mahogany Beach
Mahogany Bay, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 20 Attractions in Roatan
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
St Augustine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highlight of the vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This great escape was just what the doctor ordered. A quaint ride above the area in the Flying Beach Chair to Mohagany Beach. It was moderately crowded, but I didn't notice another person there. The snorkeling was amazing. The reef is beautiful. The water is crystal clear and the beach fantastic. I suggest reserviing the chairs and floats in the clam shells. It is very reasonable, you get chairside food and beverage service and you can float away all of your cares in this crystal clear island getaway.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    115
    63
    27
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“One of the best ports for just lounging on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This beach is awesome. It's beautiful. Of course the bars and stores are a little overpriced, but thats to be expected. I just love stopping somewhere where the vendors arent pushy and harass you everyone step you take.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Creek Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best stop on our cruise with Carnaval”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our third stop on our cruise with Carnival was Mahogany Bay, and as another critic wrote, we thought we were in paradise when we opened our curtains to our balcony. We quickly went up on the lido deck and couldn't believe that we were surrounded by the same perfect view. Carnival did a fantastic job of building something out of nothing, and we found lots to do without spending one dime. There were seven of us, four adults and three little ones. OF course we walked right to the beach, bypassing the very expensive chair lift that would take you there. Someone put on this site that it was 6 bucks.. Not so, it's 12 and its an easy walk and a much needed one for those that have spent so much time eating on the ship.. LOL.. Seriously though it was a nice walk to the beach, and a beautiful peaceful and shaded walk back through the walking trail. Bliss at it's best. Our grandchildren, and we adults had a blast swimming in the tepid water, and saw lots of fish, and our grands had fun with the little crabs over by a pile of rocks. If one can by pass all the extra's one can have the time of their lives at this port. Note for those that have young children, we brought food off the ship for the little ones to snack on , and please bring sun screen as we saw many folks that were red of one side and white on the other.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Conveniently located- but too many jellyfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just finished a 7 day cruise on the Carnival Glory that stopped in Mahogany Bay. Rather than purchase an excursion, my boyfriend and I stuck around Mahogany Beach. This definitely is not the authentic Honduras experience- everything has Carnival's stamp on it from the overpriced chair lift to the immaculately clean shopping complex. The beach itself is beautiful. The one big deterrent would be the amount of jellyfish in the water. They are small, but many of the swimmers did get stung. The beach was slightly overcrowded. The best way to avoid the crowds would be to rent the paddle boats in the canal just before the beach. That was the highlight of the day at Mahogany Beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“First visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Mahogany Beach area was clean and safe. There was plenty of shopping and bars to sit in the shade and relax. We found the people friendly and very helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Mahogany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.