We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Beach

Mahogany Beach
Mahogany Bay, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 27 attractions in Roatan
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Louisville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“First visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Mahogany Beach area was clean and safe. There was plenty of shopping and bars to sit in the shade and relax. We found the people friendly and very helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    81
    48
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Beach was ok but everything involved is overpriced. You can ride the swing less than a mile from the shopping area to the beach for $12.00. Area is quite crowded from the cruise ship. Food is just ok, drinks are ok and shopping is extremely expensive.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Carnival's Beach at Mahogany Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We did not know what to expect at this port of call because we are told the town is not the best. We also did not know what to expect on the beach since it is man made by Carnival. When we opened our curtains when we woke up, we were very surprised. The island is beautiful and the port is neat. There were a few ship wrecks that you can see from the cruise ship. When we got on the dock, we could not believe how nice everyone was and no one was hounding you to buy their junk. Once you get through the duty free shop there is a plaza/mall of shops. There is also a Fat Tuesday bar that has fun things to take pictures of. Once you pass that plaza/mall there is a sky lift to take you to the beach or you can take the really nice walk through the nature trail. We walked and it was all shaded and beautiful. Security was at the entrance and you had to show them your sail and sign cards. After security, you pass through small stores and then you arrive at a gorgeous beach with everything you need. There was a lot of beach lounge chairs and shade. There were two ships in port and we had no problem finding great seats and shade. If you need to rent any kind of equipment it is in the rental hut, but it was kind of expensive. The water was great and you constantly see a life guard riding by the swim area on a jet ski and security is walking by every couple of minutes. My kids loved playing in the sand and swimming in the calm water. If you want to snorkel, there is a wooden dock at the far end of the beach. When you get to the end of the dock, there are two easy to use staircases. Once you are in the water, swim away from the dock and there is a great natural reef with lots of fish and coral (note it is outside of the swim area, but the life guard monitors it). If you are not swimming you can go to the boardwalk and listen to music and have some great tropical drinks. There is a jerk chicken hut that we were going to try, but we ran out of time. The hut had a quarter chicken with 3 sides and it was only $8US or a half chicken for $11US. We had a Fat Tuesday frozen Hurricane and they were great, better than the ships drinks. We got a yard for $11 US and then the refills were $9US, cheaper than any other port and the ship. The bathrooms were very clean and no one was begging for a tip. They also have fresh water showers off of the boardwalk.
Overall, my family really loved this FREE port and we would love to go back and stay longer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteMélanie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

That beach is perfect: white sands, chairs under palm trees, gentle wave, clear and cristal clear blue sea... We were cruising aboard the Crown Princess. Beach is very close to the ship... a ten-minute easy walk but there is also cable-car to go to the beaach for those who prefer not to walk.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excursion Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family and I took the Princess Cruise out of Galveston over Spring Break 2013 to Roatan, Honduras, Belize City and Cozumel, Mexico. The Galvestion port is very easy and eveyone was quickly processed. The cruise was full so we took 15 minutes after the scheduled time to depart the port due to the additional people. Muster was done fairly quickly and without must hassle. We traveled on the Crown Princess for 2 day at sea. We didn't mind since the Casino was open and the machines were hot. Lots of activities to do. Trivia games, demonstrations in the Plaza, sing alongs and shows in the Evening. The last show done by the crew was a hoot and should be missed. Customs on the way back was horrible. Never in my life did we have that many problems. This is an area that needs to be looked into.
Our first port of call was Roatan Island, off the coast of Honduras. Everyone speaks English and Spanish, but we felt at home immediately since it has been over 3 years that some of my family members have been able to go to Mexico due to the unrest and to be able to converse in Spanish has been missed. The entire area of the pier is called Mahagony Bay. It is very clean and well keep. There is a lot to do for everyone. We were a party of 10 and some of us went on to snorkely, others chose to walk around and still others decided to take a river cruise to see a culture center. Either way there was something to peak everyone's interest.
If you walk from the pier into the area of kioskes and small stores and further down you will run across an area where the locals do a show. You have a choice of either walking a 1/4 mile or taking a sky lift for $6 to arrive at the beach area called Mahagony Bay. Here you can swim or take a boat out to snorkel to the Underwater Museum. There are more shops and restaurants and of course, more drinks! The better prices for souvenirs are at the Cultural Village. I will be back since I didn't get to see and do all that I wanted to at Mahagony Bay.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Beach also viewed

 
West Bay, Roatan
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Mahogany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mahogany Beach to your Saves list