We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gio's Restaurant

Gio's Restaurant
French Harbour | Roatan Honduras, 504, Honduras
504-455-5214
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 148 Restaurants in Roatan
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened since December 7, 1994, Gio's Restaurant has been serving islanders and tourists with an excellent combination of local seafood and italian cuisine. Their fame and success can be attributed to their most famous plate, the Caribbean King Crab. Giovanni Silvestri, the owner, continues his family tradition of owning and maintaining restaurants. Located in French Harbour, Gio's is a must for anyone that hasn't tried their unique taste.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras, América Central
1 review
“Best restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The service,food and overall atmosphere were INCREDIBLE!!! Best seafood I probably have had in a very long time Everything wasamazing!! Excellent speedy staff.

What an amaazing experience! I will definitely come back here when I'm back in Roatan and will never forget the wonderful service we experienced!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    48
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexia, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Look no further!......best food on the island...period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our island tour guide guide, Cardy Grant, recommended Gio's to us for it's seafood and view. We went there about 3 PM and encountered mostly foreigners from all over the world. Family owned for some time, well organized, super friendly staff and a calming view of the ocean started off our experience for one of the best meals of our travels. Our waiter introduced us to an island drink called a 'Monkey Lah Lah'...a very esoteric upgrade to a Mudslide---delicious-had two! Then ordered the Eldon Special--the largest plate of local King Crab, prawn and rice we've ever attempted to eat---for just $40.00- shared by two with some left over. Started off with Gio's famous Seafood soup....by far,the best broth and various sea creatures cooked to perfection. The place is air conditioned inside with clean restrooms. Drink and food is priced for travelers on a budget. You will not leave hungry. Make Gio's a primary stop while on Roatan!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Gio's Should Be #1!.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food, nice taste, and high amounts of servings per person. Really nice enviroment with sea view and also half the restaurant has air conditioner! Good music! Its just perfect!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No Crabs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good service can be better .... The #2 was close by but do not open on momdays so we had to go to the original and from Infinity Bay is a 30 to 40 minutes drive

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Food On The Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you love seafood this is the place to go. Great service and beautiful view to end the day. Plates large enough for two, I wish I had pictures so everyone could see how big the crab plate is!!!!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gio's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.