We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upachaya Eco-Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Upachaya Eco-Lodge to your Saves list
Upachaya Eco-Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Man O' War Harbour, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just spent a week at Upachaya where I enjoyed being in the nature. Barbara the owner is making sure that you get what you want, at all time. Plus she gives Yoga classes in the morning -The food is healthy and amazing.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and cool. The swimming pool area is lovely with crystal clear water. You can enjoy the serenity of the place and you also can get busy by exploring the mangrove on a kayack tour or going on a snorkeling trip to the coral barrier.
It's a great gateway, where you will relax and come back home in a very healthy shape and state of mind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Bay Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A friend invited me to come with her for an overnight at Upachaya. What a wonderful experience we had. Barbara is a very accomodating host, making sure we were comfortable and happy. The serenity of the place was just what I needed. No television or wi-fi access, and that was just fine with me. A beautiful pool with swim-up bar was where we spent several happy hours, cooling off. The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The ceiling fan was enough for us though Barbara is currently having air-conditioning installed in each room.
Barbara prepared a delicious dinner and breakfast for us; healthy cooking (until a decadent dessert!)
The Kundalini yoga class Barbara had just for us was great; rejuvenating me totally.

While I'd love to keep this gem a secret, it is only fair to promote it so Barbara has great success with her dream to offer Upachaya for all to experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I went with a friend of mine to have a little getaway at Upachaya. Barb is a warm, welcoming host, and the property is beautiful: well-manicured ground, lovely pool. Our room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom was gorgeous. It only had a ceiling fan for cooling, but Barb said she'll be adding a/c within the next couple months. We had dinner there, which was delicious. In the morning, we attended one of Barb's yoga classes, which take place in a thatched-roof, screened pavilion. The class was super-relaxing, and our stay overall was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Surreal is the only word I can think of to describe the feeling of peacefulness and utmost relaxation that occurs upon stepping on the property of Upachaya. Surrounded by lush vegetation and the hypnotizing calls of a variety of wildlife including parrots, one is mesmerized by the natural beauty of this magical place. We have experienced several aspects of Upachaya, from Kundalini yoga classes to the kayak/snorkel tour, all are beyond our highest expectations.
Travelling from our home in Canada we choose to live on a different island for 5 months each winter. Roatan has spoken to us as an island to which we would return and Upachaya has played an integral part in this decision. The owners, Barb and Duane are warm, friendly, attentive, honest people who care about your happiness, wellness and the well being of the environment. Hats off to both Barb and Duane for creating this tranquil, extraordinary retreat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This was one of our favorite excursions ever. We were able to kayak and snorkel with a very small group of people, and the guides were wonderful. We went kayaking along the mangroves, and saw all kinds of fish and coral reefs. Upachaya is a very beautful place; the food was great and the owners were very informative. We learned a lot about the local trees and fruit. I would go back again today if I had the chance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked a snorkel trip with Upachaya and it was GREAT! We followed the directions provided on how to meet with the driver, Mahogany Bay makes it difficult to exit the compound- but the instructions were clear and it's totally worthwhile to do so. Anyway, we were picked up and taken to the Upachaya property. We really enjoyed getting to see the "real" Roatan on our way to the property. The property is well kept and there are beautiful views! We boarded the boat and set out for our excursion. The other parties in our group varied in swimming ability- from strong swimmers to weak swimmers/children- however our guides handled the different abilities wonderfully. I also want to add that it was a small group- and they take great care to keep the groups small and personalized when you book. The guides were knowledgeable about the sea life, and pointed out many very neat things we might have otherwise missed. Bring your water camera- they'll help you to get some great shots! Between our two snorkel locations we had some refreshments and enjoyed the beauty of Roatan from the sea. When we returned to Upachaya we were welcomed with a homemade lunch spread. Every single thing was delicious! The food was all very light and healthful which great- it totally hit the spot was! We spent the lunch chatting with the other parties and owners of Upachaya; it was interesting to hear their experience of moving from the US to Roatan. I have to admit I was nervous about doing an independent excursion, because I didn't want to be "left behind" by the cruise ship- but they got us back in plenty of time! On the return journey to Mahogany Bay, the driver gave us an impromptu tour of Coxen Hole. We were both glad we left the Mahogany Bay compound as when we returned we had time to walk around a bit-- it was such a canned version of what the cruise companies want you to see (and spend your money on). The Upachaya Snorkel Excursion was a good value, and I would HIGHLY recommend it, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were so glad that we booked the snorkelling trip at Upachaya. We followed the directions sent to us and soon found Marco who was waiting to take us to Upachaya. It's a lovely property (made me think of the Swiss Family Robinson).
After a short walk to the quay, we were off on our trip. Al, our captain and JJ, first mate took us to our first snorkel site. We saw amazing coral (better than we saw at The Great Barrier Reef) and plenty of fish including a very large sting-ray.
The second site was also very good but we were unlucky enough to be caught in a very heavy downpour which meant that the water wasn't clear enough to see through but..hey-ho.. such is life and it didn't spoil our day. I did feel very sorry for the little family who were trying to fish during the storm though!
We were lucky enough to be joined on our trip by Barb and Duane and two of their friends, all very friendly. The meal on return to Upachaya was delicious as was the monkey la-la.
If you're thinking of snorkelling on Isla Roatan, please use this company. You won't regret it and you'll be back at the ship in plenty of time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
3.3 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
7.3 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upachaya Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upachaya Eco-Lodge

Address: Man O' War Harbour, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Upachaya Eco-Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upachaya Eco-Lodge and Wellness Resort offers both All Inclusive and Bed & Breakfast accommodations catering to most dietary concerns and needs, i.E.: Gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, dairy free, grain free, etc. Hidden away on Roatan's undiscovered north shore Upachaya sits on Man O' War Harbor in a quiet, tranquil garden setting away from the busy tourist areas. Daily yoga, spa treatments, snorkeling and kayaking are available. Clean, modern, comfortable rooms with ceiling fans, A/C, coffee makers, and refrigerators, await you. Take advantage of Upachaya's wellness resort events focused on alternative healing modalities designed to improve the total you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Upachaya Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upachaya Eco-Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upachaya Eco-Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.