We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dive Shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Subway Watersports

Subway Watersports
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort | Milton Bight, Honduras
+504 9959-1140
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are PADI 5 Star Dive Center and Green Star Award Winner located on the north side of Roatan, Honduras, at Turquoise Bay Resort catering to multiple hotels, vacation rental homes and cruise ship visitors. We offer scuba diving and lessons, snorkeling, kayaking and other water sports as weekly packages or day excursions. Enjoy diving or snorkeling on our private dive sites. Only a short boat ride away you find amazing dive/snorkel sites with drop offs, canyons, swim throughs and the Caribbean's biggest variety of coral and sponges. PADI Divemasters guide all dives. Enjoy valet diving and the best personal attention and customer service you deserve!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Dive Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Amazing dive sites. Nelson was our dive master and was top notch. He was professional, fun and made every effort to make our week of diving everything we expected. We plan on returning to this resort again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subway_Watersports, Manager at Subway Watersports, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're glad you had a great time diving with us and we loved having you here. Nelson is now working full time for us since mid July and we're glad to have him onboard. Come and visit us again soon for more fun under the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    29
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great day snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were in Roatan on July 10th and did a two site snorkel tour. Holly picked us up in Mohogany Bay and took us to the dive shop. Our guides Bob and Marcus were the best giving insight to life on the island and the ecosystem of the reef. To boot, it was just the two of us on the tour and the guides.

Don't book through a cruise ship, just book directly through Subway Watersports.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subway_Watersports, Manager at Subway Watersports, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your day in Roatan with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're really glad you enjoyed your time with us and had a wonderful experience on this beautiful island. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SUBWAY Diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Took a little vacation to Roatan 22 - 29 June. Although not a Diving vacation, wanted to get as much diving in as possible with my boys, as the other half of our party were not divers. Did a lot of research before we left and talked with numerous dive shops before deciding who to go with. Since this was our first time on Roatan, was not to sure at first about diving the North side since I never heard anything about it before, and everyone I know that have been to Roatan either dove the South side or West end, and that's all you really ever hear about.

After communicating with Holly numerous times, she answered all my questions very informatively, friendly and in a timely manner. Even when I showed concern about the North side, she gave me true and accurate information, along with her opinions, that helped me make the Subway choice. I knew that if she could put up with all my pestering before I got there, then the hardest part was already over.....

Anyway, the diving was great, and not another group on site all week, except for the El Alguilar wreck dive, so we had the the North side all to ourselves.... The entire staff was friendly and courteous, and the dive shop manager, Becky, made sure we had everything we needed. We had the same dive group all week, so that was nice since we knew everybody and what to expect. Since we are really beginning divers, it was nice to be around others with a variety of skills and abilities that wanted to do similar dives.

Although we were not staying at Turqoise Bay resort, they certainly treated us like we were. We rented a house on the North side of the island not to far from Subway, so they picked us up everyday at our dock, and then dropped us off at the end of our diving day. OUTSTANDING... No extra charge.... That's customer service... All together we got 23 dives in, the water was calm and no current to deal with except for a little on Half Moon Wall drift dive on West end. Vis averaged 100', water temp 82 deg so shorts & rashgards are all we needed. Boat also provided water & pineapple each day.. Also was able to leave our gear at the dive center each day so we would not have to haul it back and forth. They even loaded up on the boat each day and set it up for each dive. Just make sure to check your tank bands before jumping in...

Plenty of fish to see on North side. Our group saw everything from Rays, Morays, Shark, Turtles, Lion fish, Giant Puffer and Groupers, Lobster, Shrimp along with a myriad of all the colorful reef and aquarium fish you expect to see. Rockstar & Milton walls were great, and you must dive the El Aguilar wreck to see the biggest Moray that lives under port side stern at about 110' and then cruise to the reef to see the giant groupers at about 30-40'... Did not get to dive Dolphin Den, so that gives us a reason to come back.

Highly recommend Subway and hope to to make it back there one day...


Jeff, Derek & Quinn

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subway_Watersports, Manager at Subway Watersports, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us a great review. We offer the private dock pick up to make it even easier to dive and we love being able to offer divers the chance to explore the uniqueness of the north side of the island. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I were attended in a most proffesional manner and there was also specialized attention to clients. If you are looking for a private family dive this is the place. The ships captain was well qualified and the dive instructor too. She taught my sister to dive and made a friend along the way. A lot of safety measurements were taken to ensure a fun and safe dive. In fact they were so genial they made my father a cake for his birthday.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Rescuers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beth and Mark came to our rescue on short notice. We had a very disappointing experience at East End Divers. After dumping them we were able to salvage a few days of diving. She worked six divers into her schedule on short notice, it was awesome. All of the gear provided worked and Mark was an outstanding dive master. If we visit Roatan again we will definitely use Subway Watersports, I would recommend to anyone traveling to dive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subway Watersports also viewed

 

Been to Subway Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Subway Watersports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.