We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, fun for everyone in family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Key

Maya Key
Roatan Cruise Pier, IB3100, Honduras
+504 9995-9589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Attractions in Roatan
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 11.5 acre private island conveniently located just three minutes across the bay from the Roatan cruise pier and 15 minutes away from Mahogany Bay Cruise Pier. This pristine island features two secluded beaches, excellent snorkeling from a scenic pier, a 70,000 gallon swimming pool, 5,000 square foot lounge deck, lush garden paths bursting with indigenous flora and most recently an animal rescue center, artisan plaza and Roatan's finest cultural attraction, The Bay Island's Interpretation Center and Ethnic Honduran Art Exhibit Center.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, fun for everyone in family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked this through a Carnival cruise, and it was really well done and worthwhile. We're a family of 7 with kids from 4-19 and I wanted something we could do that would be fun for all.

The boat ride was quick and fun. We were some of the first people on the island and they recommended we try snorkeling first (it's better viewing in the morning) so we did. Everyone except my two little ones enjoyed that. My 8 year old gave up after 5 minutes and went to the beach to dig in the sand. I had no qualms with letting her do that while we continued to snorkel as I could still see her from the reef. I towed the 4 year old around with me, which he enjoyed. In some spots of the reef we were bit by tiny aquatic creatures (water fleas), but only in certain places so if you changed your locale in the water they went away. Older kids snorkeled for a while. Others came back, grabbed some lounge chairs and spent the rest of the time relaxing and reading on the beach. A very few bugs (sand fleas) bit us briefly but it definitely wasn't an issue and no one needed bug spray or even noticed them.

Yes, the airplanes come zooming overhead every so often but we like planes so it didn't bother us and my 15 year old who fell asleep never noticed a thing. When the kids were tired of snorkeling they checked out the animals and demos and mayan ruins. Basically they could run all over the island wherever they wanted and I didn't worry about it. There isn't anywhere to go. Even when more people came later on it didn't feel crowded.

Our excursion came with lunch which was excellent. My kids are pretty picky but the fresh food with fish sticks (not boxed!) and BBQ chicken was really good and they all ate it happily.

The staff were helpful and friendly, and the variety of programs they have really make this a worthwhile visit. I would happily come back to Maya Key as I didn't get to see or do everything I wanted due to the cruise ship time constraints. This was a great excursion and a wonderful day spent with a family having a wide variety of ages.

Only off note: There are signs explaining to people about reef etiquette, etc, but they DO NOT do a good job of enforcing/explaining to people about how to snorkel without damaging the reef. We saw a lot of damaged reef area and careless people while we snorkeling and no one says anything to them. No one says anything before you get in the water (there are helpers at the end of the pier). Since this is a reserve-type place I would think they would put more effort into conserving this beautiful natural resource.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    16
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Beautiful 11 acre paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent the day on Maya Key swimming, snorkeling, walking around the island. Lovely spot although the water wasn't as blue as we expected. The restaurant food was really good too. I love that the island is a wildlife sactuary. You can see monkeys in the trees and other animals that have been rescued. I would highly recommend spending some time on Maya key. Lots to do for such a little place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Fun Beach Day with a Sea Lion Encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited this private island while on a Norwegian Dawn cruise. Soon after arriving, I signed up for the Sea Lion Encounter. One of the trainers escorted me into a caged area to meet "Ting", one of three recused sea lions. I got to do hugs, flipper shakes, pats and a sea lion kiss (well, actually, Ting likes to blow in a person's ear - but in a friendly way). Very glad I did this encounter. My wife and I relaxed at the beach, had a good buffet lunch featuring fresh caught sea bass. We did a little swimming and then took the guided walk through the wildlife rehabilitation area and the mayan archeological reproduction area. I certainly recommend this Roatan excursion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pristine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent the day here while on a cruise. The guides were easy to find at the meeting point and had our names on a list. We took a double-decker boat to Maya Key which took about 15 minutes. Once at the pier everyone was given instructions on the day's optional events and then sent out on their own. The first thing I noticed was how immaculate the grounds were. Not only at the beach, but also on the interior of the island in the woods we could see the rake marks in the sand. Not a piece of trash in site. As others have said, the snorkel gear is not included in the price, which is misleading due to the title of the excursion. It was between $14-16 without a life vest. Though the key is small, there is much to do and it is not crowded. The locker rooms/bathrooms were surprisingly clean as well. The snorkeling dock is on top of the reef so good snorkeling is easy to find. The animal conservation area was interesting - more like a zoo. While relaxing on the beach, no salespeople approach you; however, one man asked us if we'd like to experience an animal encounter. We were able to hold a small crocodile (alligator?) and a monkey. There is also a sea lion feeding, but we missed it. Lunch was average and consisted of barbecue chicken or fried fish with rice and beans. The banana chips were great, like french fries. The fauna around the key is beautiful. Around lunch time we noticed multiple small red circles on our legs with bright reds dots in the middle (sand fleas?). Maybe this could have been prevented with bug spray? All in all, an excellent way to spend a day in Roatan. Complete relaxation.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Located directly across from the NCL mooring but a half hour bus ride from Mahagony Bay, this outing may be a better choice for NCL customers. I was unpleasantly surprised to be informed that Maya Key did not provide towels, and that the snorkel equipment was not included in the Carnival excursion charge (should have read the fine print). Our greeter was grumpy and morning visitors will exprience VERY low flying (treetop) airplanes on approach to land at the airport. There was lots of garbage floating in the water on the bay side upon arrival but in their defence much of this mess was cleaned up as the day went on. Highlights included fantastic flora, landscaping, buffet lunch with local fare and ice cold SALVA VIDAS. Considering how beautiful Roatan is, there must be better beach excursions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Key also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Maya Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.