We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upachaya Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Upachaya Snorkel & Kayak Tours
Man O' War Harbor, none, Honduras
+504 3309-7615
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 178 Activities in Roatan
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get away from the crowds and discover Roatan's undeveloped north shore. Just minutes away from both cruise ship terminals. Upachaya offers small, personal tours. Our experienced snorkel guides will show you the hidden wonders of our fabulous reef system. Transportation, a meal, beverages (beer, soda & water) and snorkel equipment are provided, as well as a Roatan Marine Park Day Pass, all for $68.00 A person. You can choose from two tours. Our 24' pontoon boat provides comfort and safety for your adventure on this snorkel tour. Or, you can choose our kayak snorkel tour and enjoy the scenery through the mangroves on your way to snorkeling. A short botanical tour of our gardens is included in both excursions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Leeds Uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I can only echo all the previous reviews on how wonderful and fantastic the whole Upachaya snorkelling experience is. From Marco to Al to Rosaria and of course Barbara they all make the experience so wonderfully interesting and relaxing.
To have an entire refer to ourselves was amazing and I can't speak highly enough of the day.

We will be back.

YOU MUST DO THIS SNORKELLING EXPERIENCE

Thanks for a great time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    21
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Snorkeling Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The experience exceeded expectations. Marco picked us up near the ship. Carnival/Princess/HAL does not make it easy to find your independent tours but it was well worth it. The drive out isn't the most scenic, but once you are there it's lovely. Barb is a gracious and interesting host. Al is a wonderful dive master. The snorkeling area is beautiful and uncrowded. We were the only group within sight. We saw a four ft stingray in the wild and because it was just us we stopped the boat and jumped in. Because the north side isn't as heavily trafficked the coral is so much more healthy and diverse and beautiful than other places. We had snorkeled Palancar and Columbia Reefs in Coz the day before. This was so much better. After the snorkel Barb serves a delicious fresh lunch prepared by Rosaria. On the way back Marco stopped a couple of places for us to buy souvenirs. Would absolutely do this again on next visit to Roatan.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second Time at Upachaya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Because we enjoyed it so much the first time, we spent another day snorkeling with the great staff from the Upachaya. You should see the "Real Roatan" by leaving the "Downtown Disney" atmosphere of Carnival's Mahogany Bay. Barb (owner) and her staff exceeded our expectations again. The tour includes flawless transportation from the dock with Marco and a great snorkeling trip with AL and Mario. We saw Barracuda, Starfish, Lion Fish, Moray Eels, Sea Cucumbers, and thousands of beautiful fish along the coral reef. Snorkeling was followed up by a great lunch and conversation. I'd highly recommend the Upachaya Snorkel Tour to other cruise ship passengers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Barb the owner of the tours and small guest facilities, was very informative about the biosphere she has at Upachaya. We saw the simple but very efficient rooms, the garden areas and of course the snorkeling. I went out on the pontoon which made for a great transition into and out of the water from the back platform. Snorkel groups on the pontoon are small never more than 8. The area we snorkeled in was free of surf. I had never been in water over my head for me this was terrific. The guide was very informative as he swam with us and helped those needing extra assistance. The guide also took our water cameras and dove to the bottom to take close up pics of sea turtle, octopus…. The price was reasonable with pickup and delivery back to the cruise ship, snorkeling gear, and a typical Honduran lunch in the screen house dining room.
This is a tour not to miss.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful snorkeling and grat hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We used Upachaya for a snorkel tour on our Oceania Riviera cruise this December.
We had to go out of the cruise terminal and walk uphill to meet our driver Marco where all the drivers were required to wait. At least at the end of the day, the port allows the drivers to bring clients back to the cruise port.
The trip started out great with the very personable and informative Marco. Upachaya is an eco-lodge carved out of the jungle by the wonderful owner Barbara Wastart. She made us feel welcome immediately. We proceeded to snorkel from their pontoon boat in a bay with no other boats in sight. The dive instructor Al and his assistant Mario were very helpful and Al led 2 wonderful snorkel trips. The fish and coral were colorful and plentiful. There were only 2 others on the boat, so this was a very private snorkel trip.
We then were served lunch at the lodge. The food was a delicious representation of Central American food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upachaya Snorkel & Kayak Tours also viewed

 

Been to Upachaya Snorkel & Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upachaya Snorkel & Kayak Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.