We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Moon Resort
Save
You added Half Moon Resort to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay, West End, 34101, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Half Moon Bay had everything we were looking for.... a fantastic place to snorkel, relax, have a good meal and a beer while enjoying a cool breeze and a fantastic view. The people were friendly. The deck was perfect. The rooms were simple and clean. The best thing was snorkeling right off the pier in the most beautiful reef. I took a guided night snorkeling trip with Atlantic Divers... it was brilliant. I saw eels, lobsters, and even octopus. This hotel is perfect for people who want something simple, pleasant, and a little out of the madness. It is quiet in the evenings, but the kind people will always bring you a cold beer on the deck.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
56
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

It´s paradise, i love it, the food, the location, the service, the cabins everything is just perfect. Going Back this year and the others to come!! Simply wonderfully relaxing. thye also know how to throw an event!! The year before that I was at a wedding there in the hotel, it was soooo beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The snorkeling from the resort dock was fabulous - we saw exciting and different marine life each day - sea turtles, squid, angelfish, stingrays, and more! The food was consistantly great. I particularly enjoyed the banana pancakes, cocoanut fish, and key lime pie. The fresh lemonade is a must. And service was, warm, friendly - excellent!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Great set up for all ages. Kayaks and plenty of room for exploration for the kids. Great restaurant with the friendliest of staff to be found! Rooms have a great view of the ocean and so many different plant species. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

First a disclaimer: we didn't stay in the rooms here, but we may well have spent more hours at Half Moon Resort than in our actual rooms.

We stumbled on the complex of palm trees and cabins without knowing what it was. A glimpse of the shimmering water was enough to distract us from our wandering along the main road. The location can't be beat: the property is a slice of beach on Half Moon Bay, with access (i.e., 5 steps) to the water, a series of large open-air decks and tables, as well as a rudimentary bar.

But the staff won us over: all were extremely helpful and ready to plan out amusements -- for a pair of stragglers who wandered in from the street. They set up a zipline tour, even walking us to the crossroads where an unnecessarily large van transported us to Gumbalimba Park. And despite many hours of sloth-like lounging by us, they did not hover over us. If we return to Roatan, we will stay here and look forward to great staff and unbeatable location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Half Moon Resort was nothing like a resort. Its non-touristy and is set up like bungalows. They are right on the water, serve free coffee, have free snorkeling, kayaking, and coffee. The rooms even have AC. Its about 50 bucks a night and you will get a good night sleep because it is set off the noisy main drag. After checking out some other hostels.. this is the best by far. And the service and family run joint is accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

I thought this place was amazing, we stayed in room 3 and we literally walked out the door in our bathing suits and with our snorkel gear (free rental for the duration of your stay) and a few seconds later were snorkeling around the reef... this was pretty amazing. There is a dive shop right next door and its a bit our of ways from the main strip of restaurants and bars, but you can walk on the beach or on the road to get here (could be sketch but we rented a bike and it was fine - and alot of fun, we walked one night as well and it wasn't that bad just dark). The people could be friendly if you talk to them and if you have a question you have to go seek them, or figure it out yourself. But otherwise, I really liked it. The restaurant is pretty good too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Resort

Address: Half Moon Bay, West End, 34101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Half Moon Hotel Roatan
Half Moon Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.