We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed this place a lot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Resort

Save Saved
You added Half Moon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Resort
Half Moon Bay, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 hotels in Roatan
Palmdale, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this place a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great little place for the price, around $58/nt we paid. Quiet and secluded for Half Moon Bay, but can still easily walk down to where all the bars and restaurants are. We were pleasantly surprised. Very nice and helpful staff, enjoyed the food, and nice snorkeling right out in front of the cabins. This is the only place we found in the Half Moon Bay community that the cabins were actually right on the beach. We found others online that made it appear they were on the beach, but really were across the street from the beach. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
44
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My daughter and I had a very pleasant stay at Half Moon Resort. It isn't fancy, but very comfortable and clean. There was great snorkeling right outside our front door. Each room has a hammock out front where you can relax and look out over the water. I would sit out there early in the morning with my book and often would see an iguana stroll on by. The tropical plants and birds all around were quite beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Example: My daughter dropped her driver's license at the airport, and we didn't discover it missing until later. The young woman at Half Moon contacted the airport for us. A janitor at the airport found it, and a cab driver who was coming back that way brought it to the resort. Obviously, we immediately had a great first impression not only Half Moon resort, but the people of Roatan in general. We were never disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Can't comment on resort, however had lunch at Half Moon restaurant. Lovely location, nice food and service

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I booked my room at Half Moon Bay Resort on a tip from a fellow traveler and was not disappointed. Upon arriving at Half Moon Resort, I was warmly welcomed by two lovely ladies at reception who were cheerful and genuinely seemed like they were happy to see me. After checking-in, I moved onto my bungalow right on the water. The bungalows are literally 25 feet from the clear blue water of half moon bay and snorkeling. The bungalows are not a 4 or 5 star quality, but they have comfortable, newer beds, great AC, and are very clean.

After checking out my room, I went back to the front desk and asked about snorkeling... to my great surprise, they said, "do you want to borrow snorkel gear for free?" I mean how great is that! This place used to have a dive shop, but decided to focus its attention on the hotel and food (good choice because they were wayyyy better than the hotel/dive shop combos around the island), but still had equipment for all guests to use to snorkel the bay.

All in all, I spend 5 wonderful days on Roatan and would highly, highly recommend this hotel if you are staying on a budget, but still want something nice. I mean, this is the best deal on the island for 50 bucks a night. If you are a vacation TV watcher, be warned, there are no TV's in the room, but hell, why would you be watching TV when you can snorkel for hours in the bay for free!! The only reason I do not give Half Moon Bay Resort a Five rating is because I reserve 5's for places that are spectacular.... but on that note, you generally have to pay a whole lot more money for that so... stay here instead! Oh yeah, the food is fantastic at the restaurant attached to the hotel too! Much better than I had elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice place, secluded yet still close to the main attractions. We stayed here for a week and had a really good time. They have there own watertop restaurant and bar, the dock is close and you can come on a boat or in a car. The rooms are really comfy with up to 3 beds and a cold airconditioner. The staff is really nice. Mr Zeron a native of the Honduras coast has been there for more than 20 years now. His kids Rene and Matilde help him manage it. the place has kept its quality and service for quite some time now!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A laid back place to stay, excellent location for swimming and snorkelling and close to the activities of West End. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here, and I have to say, it's a lot cheaper than many other options we looked at. Also the location is great, you are right on the beach where you can go in for snorkeling. This is also the downside, since lot of cruiseship tourists get to this location. The staff can make extra money by renting out snorkeling material, food and drinks, and beds to these temp guests, and therewith they forget their normal guests sometimes. Rooms were a bit outdated, but clean and the little houses are a couple of steps away from the water. Also it was a good spot to walk to the other beaches and to enjoy the sunset. So we enjoyed ourself, but not the best we've been to.

Room Tip: try to stay a bit further from the entrance, so you don't have the cruiseship guests in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Resort

Address: Half Moon Bay, West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roatan
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Half Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Hotel Roatan
Half Moon Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.