We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot, Accommodations Rustic & Quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Moon Resort
Save
You added Half Moon Resort to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay, West End, 34101, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Spot, Accommodations Rustic & Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you enjoy snorkeling, then I recommend staying here. There's a small area to lay in the sun but there is no sandy beach, only fossilized coral. From your porch, it's a short walk to the stairs down to a short pier, where you can snorkel and see the reef without having to drive and without a lot of tourists. The accommodations are rustic, so if your standards are the Marriott or Hilton, this probably won't be what you're looking for. The cabins have clean sheets, A/C and bathrooms. There's no TV or wi-fi within the rooms, which is great for disconnecting from society and enjoy the view. Occasionally, it was hard to get warm water in the shower, which we soon learned, is pretty much an issue in most of central America. Besides, super hot showers are overrated when your skin has been baked by the sun. The staff was super friendly and helped arrange tours and fishing trips. The resort also has a full service kitchen, which was pretty good food. And, it's within walking distance to town to sample other cuisine and do some shopping. On cruise boat days, there sometimes are tour groups that swing into the resort. It's only for a few hours and it never interrupted our day or our swimming. Overall, thumbs up for location, price and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view, closer to the beach. Room 4 and 5 are pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
56
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
318 hotel reviews
Reviews in 341 cities Reviews in 341 cities
442 helpful votes 442 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very basic, small but well distributed cabins. Nice porch to sit and enjoy the breeze. It is very quiet and at the same time walking distance from the action. Owners and waiters were very helpful and friendly. It does not have a beach per se, but it has access to the water and snorkeling. They also lend you free snorkeling gear (tip the attendant). They recommended Alex (tripadvisor doesn't let me put his phone number) to drive us around and we used him through out stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I spent the last 4 nights of my trip sharing a bungalow with my two girlfriends. It was great to have AC and a shower with nice water pressure. The location is ideal--on the very end of Half Moon Bay so a quick, easy, safe walk to the bars/restaurants. Yet far enough away that you can relax in calm and quiet on their private beach. You can literally walk 20 yards from your bungalow into the ocean and start snorkeling. They gave you a small pitcher of water in your room which was hardly enough for 3 people and left us constantly thirsty, but you could buy water in the restaurant when it was open. One day they made us breakfast at the restaurant a full 1.5 hours after they stopped serving breakfast, which was so nice. Otherwise, we ate lunch there twice and it was just okay--nothing special at all. If we asked they would serve us drinks/food while we sat in the lawn chairs on the private beach and that was amazing. The HUGE negatives of this place were two-fold: 1. It swayed. Literally every time anybody moved the entire 2nd floor bungalow swayed a noticeable amount, which was a bit uncomfortable. Worse yet, the bathroom provided almost no privacy. While there were walls there was no ceiling which meant that you could do nothing in the bathroom that wasn't going to be shared with everybody else in the room. Fine if you are close to your bunk mates, but if you are traveling with a new boy friend or anybody else you don't want to have that very intimate relationship with--beware!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The resort is situated along a dirt road on Half Moon Bay which is the quieter of the two bays in West End. Its hidden away amongst palm trees, a cluster of dark wood cabins on the waters edge. We arrived on a hot afternoon but the our cabin felt cool having been shaded by the trees- in fact we had no need to use the A\C all the time we were there- the ceiling fan was adequate.

The room is entirely made of wood with a high ceiling. It had a rustic feel but was very clean- the cleaners came everyday . The cabin had a porch and hammock, though you share this with the occupants of the neighbouring room - a partition in between would have given more privacy. Theres a powerful hot water shower, and the towels were clean. The room seemed adequately sound proofed and we slept well.

Literally feet away from the room is a small dock with steps leading to the crystal waters of Half Moon Bay. Snorkels are free and it was great to be able to walk from our room and be snorkelling in seconds. There are sun beds overlooking the bay but these have seen better days - many are missing a few slats and are somewhat marked. However, this was part of the charm of the place- a swish, posh resort it isn’t, if you want that, you’re best to head down to one of the $200 a night resorts at West Bay. Half Moon Bay has a lived in quality, its laid back, friendly, clean and a fair price $65 a night.

It seems to attract more independent travellers than package tourists. The owners are friendly and theres a restaurant which is supposed to be good, though we never ate there. We’d seen West End billed as a ‘party town’ so were a little nervous of being in the centre of a noisy ‘scene’. We needn’t have worried at Half Moon Bay - theres a bar at the other side of the bay which sometimes has bands on but these seemed to end about 8pm. We were actually surprised how early everything closed -about 10pm.

One drawback of Half Moon Bay is that though the dock and small beach area are private, it occasionally gets invaded by cruise ship tour groups and other random visitors. This happened on one of the days we were there and all the sunbeds were taken by non -guests. The owners sort of shrugged at this, which reflects the laid back nature of the place- If I was them I’d put more pressure on non resident visitors to buy a meal or drinks in order to use the facilities, as this could start to impact on paying guests.

We moved onto West End for a few days after our stay at Half Moon Bay and were shocked at the crowded beach, packed with Package tourists and cruise ship passengers- it left us yearning for the peace of Half Moon Bay and we found ourselves back in West End on most nights.

In summary- its not a slick resort, but if you’re after somewhere clean, peaceful and friendly at a good price, you could do a lot worse than Half Moon Bay Resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Had lunch with our driver at HMBR and enjoyed it tremendously. You could not ask for a more lovely setting on a rainy tropical day looking out over the blue waters. From our table on the dock it felt like we were over the water. I had a local beer, Salva Vida, which was quite good, along with some cevechie for starters. It was very good by the way. The wife had coconut shrimp which she could not finish because the serving was so large. I had the grilled lobster and all I can say is wow. The service was on "island time" but by no means slow, our waiter was polite and effecient. This meal ranked up there on our list of fun experiences an although I have no Idea how to tell you to find it, I am sure your local guide can. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed for a week. Very nice resort right on the water with free snorkel gear and kayaks. Clean Cabanas and a nice restaurant. Quiet and on the edge of the action in the West End. Staff was very friendly and helped us figure out the rest of our trip around Honduras. Great dive shop right next door.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Second visit at Half Moon Resort and I like as much as the last time. Thank you Mathild Rene and all the staff. Great location not to clos, not too far from the main drag. Good food, nice AC room and awsome private deck hammock. You can snorkel 100 feet from your room, or sit the sun. Anthony makes the best Monkey LaLas in Roatan.

Room Tip: Try room 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Resort

Address: Half Moon Bay, West End, 34101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Half Moon Hotel Roatan
Half Moon Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.