We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Windsurfing Day in Roatan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsurfing School & Paddle Tennis

Windsurfing School & Paddle Tennis
Sandy Bay | Baseball Field, 34101, Honduras
504-2445-3292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 178 Activities in Roatan
Type: Beaches, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windsurfing School specialized in the teaching of beginners and intermediate sailors.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Viken, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Windsurfing Day in Roatan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We did read about Mickys winsurfing school on Tripadvisor and thought that should be perfect for us to learn the basic steps to windsurf when we had a stop in Roatan when Cruised with NCL Dawn at the Christmas week. We contacted Micky and he organizedit so well.
Marvin the taxi driver was waiting for us at the port and took us back after a appointment Micky gave him. I´m impressed that we actually did learn to windsurf just in 3 hours lesson and can now continue on our own to be better. This was a Fabtastic Day, and Thank you Micky and Lorena to making our Day so Great.

Family Sawelin, Sweden

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Windsurfing in Roatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Owen and I decided to take windsurfing lessons as a little treat for Owen's 40th birthday. We only had a couple of hours with Micky, but his no non-sense attitude and extreme passion for the sport had us up on the wind board in no time. A lot of people say that they don't get up the first time out - well give Micky at try! We really enjoyed the experience and Micky is very kind and accommodating and so his lovely family. Have fun!

Leah Sigurdson, Alberta Canada

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Viva Chile! Viva Roatan! Viva Mickey !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Micky is a great dude and very capable teacher.

My wife and I got lessons a few weeks back. Wind was low so he offered us to come back the next day. Wind was strong second day and we had a great time.
I noted his passion when he said "you may be the most skilled wind surfer I have ever seen, rarely do I get the pleasure of witnessing a person fall so gracefully, so often."

Thanks man. Paddle ball next time!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
“excellent windsurfing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wonderful, I enjoyed so much practicing and learning good practices and techniques about windsurfing. If you really want to enjoy eat with ZERO STRESS Sandy bay in Roatan is the best choice. Besides that.... is so close and easy to have a a walk and go watch the dolphin and snorkeling. Is a beautiful quiet sea there. And when you further sail with your sail and board you find the most fantastic views of the bottom of the sea! Micky and his wife Lorena are such beautiful people and with a lot patiente. They are there for you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great first windsurfing experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been back packing around central america for a couple of months. We spent a week in Roatan in July and decided to take a break from diving, try something new and did a two hour windsurfing lesson.

The staff were very friendly and laid back. The equipment was in good condition (they even swapped a sail half way through for the smaller of us). Our instructor, Lorena, explained everything well and gave us the basics on the beach before getting into the water. She was very patient with us first timers, and we soon got the knack of it. In the end, we spent about three hours there.

They even took photos of us and offered to send them to us (although we haven't received them yet).

By the end we were sailing up and down the sea. We had a great time, really enjoyed it, and would love to go back again, but the price is a bit expensive on our backpacker budget.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsurfing School & Paddle Tennis also viewed

 

Been to Windsurfing School & Paddle Tennis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsurfing School & Paddle Tennis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.