We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best food in the world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G&G's Clearwater Paradise

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guanaja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
G&G's Clearwater Paradise
Save Saved
You added G&G's Clearwater Paradise to your Saves list
123 Boat Access Only | Mangrove Bight, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Guanaja
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

G & G do a great job. The whole place is beautiful. They have a garden to pick and always have fresh seafood. There is a lot of great outdoor and indoor living space and the view is great. They have great diving and a whole lot of other toys and things to do. If you want to do Guanaja right check them out

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
39
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed with George & Ginger the beginning of January in the two room suite for 5 nights. We had an awesome time diving, hiking, visiting the caye and relaxing. There are kayaks available any time you want to use them. George is an excellent dive master who is knowledgeable and very attentive. Your diving pleasure is his purpose.
The food is absolutely the best ever; all homemade, fresh and so very yummy! Ginger is an awesome cook with George pitching in to help as well. There was not a thing we did not like. George breaks out his famous chilies and hot salsa and is happy to share at every meal.
We went on a hike through the jungle to the nearby village and were picked up via boat when we were done. Going in to the caye for shopping was an experience meeting and greeting the locals with good food and drinks.
Ginger went out of her way to set us up with hotel rooms, flights and taxi drivers both at the beginning of our trip as well as the end of our trip when we were staying on Roatan. Staying at G&G Clearwater Paradise is just like staying with friends. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa fla
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent two full days with Ginger and George who own the property an was very impressed
with their attention to my needs and comfort.The hotel is located on the side of of a hill overlooking the beautiful turquoise water of the inside reef with the waves breaking over
the outside reef.The property has exceptional landscaping with an upper level where you
can sun bathe and enjoy the beauty.My room was new with tile floors A/C ceiling fans and
a big bathroom with artistic tile work.Ginger and George are both chefs with complementing styles
of preparation.They always had meals that you would find in an up-scale american restaurant.
I enjoy animals so the few cats ,dos and parrots kept me company.
They have built the property themselves and are continuing to add rooms and complete a
dive shop.They also have a 25 ft dive boat at their dock with Kayaks.The trip buy water to the
airport takes about 15min.
The diving is very good with many areas in the 30ft to 60ft range and the reefs are in excellent
condition.The Hotel is located near a dive called Black Rock.Its an amazing dive of volcanic rock that features tunnels,caves and cooridores that are endless.The sportfishing boats
are scarce but I managed to catch some tuna and Barracuda.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had an amazing time in December 2012 with George and Ginger. I got my scuba certification and my husband, who has done over 60 dives, was amazed at the spectacular dives. George was a wonderful instructor and we had a great time on dry land too. Ginger's cooking was outstanding, and we were so comfortable. We felt right at home, in paradise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from an amazing week in Guanaja. We stayed at another location but did scuba diving one afternoon with George and took a full day snorkeling trip around Guanaja with George and Ginger. Both trips were excellent.

The diving was the best I have experienced. I am novice diver and felt very well looked after while under. The equipment was very good and well maintained. From about 70 feet I could look up and see my wife and friends snorkeling at the surface very clearly. I would bet George is the most experienced dive master in a 100 mile radius.

We had a drink at their bar and took a tour of their place. It is very nice and new. If we were visiting Guanaja specifically to dive we would have stayed there. If we do make it back to Guanaja I will absolutely do more diving with George.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went to Guanaja hoping to find unspoiled reef diving and were not disappointed. Canyons, tunnels, caverns, and swim-throughs abound, and George goes out of his way to make sure you get to do what you want, and we felt that the diving was run very safely. We saw shark, lobster, crabs, shrimp, rays, and lots of reef fish. The upper reaches of the reef are especially good here, with more abundant and varied soft corals than we have seen elsewhere. We especially liked Black Rock and Tito's Labyrinth. We borrowed a sea kayak and had a great snorkel at Michael's rock, I expect this would make a good dive site as well.

Ginger spends her days in the kitchen and the food was plentiful and very tasty. The rooms were comfortable with real beds and we never ran out of hot water. The only warning I would give is about the bugs, you will need lightweight pants and long-sleeved shirts and some powerful bug repellent. We talked with other travelers who encountered the same on Utila, so it might be an attribute of these less-developed islands.

Overall we would rate it as a place to return to, thanks to George and Ginger and their Honduran helpers!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great intimate get away. Nestled on what seems like the corner of the island, George and Ginger's guesthouse is its own little enclosed paradise. The diving is amazing, lots of sites to explore and the reef is spectacularly untouched; my husband and I both felt comfortable with George as our dive master.

Ginger is a hostess with the mostess. Good food, clean, well-looked after rooms, hot water, good food, hammocks...all there is to do is relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to G&G's Clearwater Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&G's Clearwater Paradise

Address: 123 Boat Access Only | Mangrove Bight, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Guanaja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Guanaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with 8 ocean-view, air conditioned rooms, including 2 suites, D'Bonuron Restaurant and Bar, specializing in whole fish, and G's Spot Bar and Game Room. We offer an all-inclusive venue, which includes meals and scuba diving. The owners, George and Ginger, live on-site, and, along with their friendly staff, provide round-the-clock service and excellent meals. We are a water-access-only, secluded property that provides privacy, laid back relaxation, and some of the best scuba diving and fishing in the Caribbean. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G&G's Clearwater Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.