We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge in the middle of Tikal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal to your Saves list
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Tikal National Park | Peten, Tikal National Park, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great lodge in the middle of Tikal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Likes: great location in park, excellent meals. Rooms very clean and spacious. Staff very helpful. Power will go off at certain times, Wifi best in main restaurant. Use the guides in the park for early morning sunrise tour they will collect you from this hotel.
Dislikes: none

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    145
    69
    26
    12
See reviews for
38
135
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did the camping here for $25 for 2 people. I'm not sure but it seems like we were charged more than what I read in the guide. However the staff were helpful in keeping our bags for us for the day while we explored the park. The tents have no privacy whatsoever, they are touching, and you have two single beds, so you can't sleep next to your partner. It's also equiped with a sleeping bag but it's so humid that you would prefer a sheet. We did it for the experience but I wouldn't recommend spending more than one night here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Like most people, we were looking for a hotel for one night while in the park. We didn't want to shell out twice as much money for the place down the road, so we booked the Jaguar Inn. Even though it was the cheaper hotel, it was still pretty pricy at $96 for a room with four beds. The beds were comfortable enough, and we knew about the power and water regulations, so that didn't bother us. The thing that bothered us most was that it wasn't very clean. The linen was a little old, and the floor hadn't been swept or vacuumed before we arrived. For the amount they charge, they could at least have cleaned the room better. The service at the front desk, however, was excellent.

All in all, I would stay there again, but just for the one night that is necessary to see the park and experience sleeping among the wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of July.

The good: The hotel itself is nice, cobblestone pathways to the individual bungalows. Our bungalow was attached to the one next to it, and there were guests there but noise was never an issue. Our room was spacious, and the beds and pillows were decently comfortable. We had a room with a queen and a single.
Staff were amazing. All friendly, eager to help. They gave us a good exchanged rate for American dollars (better than anywhere else we went in Guatemala). Ate breakfast at the restaurant which was delicious, big portions and fair prices.
We did the sunrise tour of Tikal wi a guide named Caesee, through our hotel. I can't compare to other tours but he was amazing. And he got us going before 4 am so we were the first group up at the top of Temple 4 to watch the sunrise. Highly recommend doing that if you stay in Tikal. If not, stay in El Remate and do the sunset tour

The bad: The hotel was the most expensive we paid in Guatemala (80 USD/night). Since it is in Tikal, the power is limited. Hot water is only available 6 am to 9 am. "Power" goes out at 9 pm when we were told we would only have access to the lights in our room and the fan. At some point in the night though there was no power at all and it got hot without the fan and difficult to get ready for our early tour without lights. We are easy going but if you are paying 80 a night then I expect a fan and lights. Finally, you are in the jungle so be prepared to have critters with you. We found two scorpions in our bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff at the Jaguar Inn were exceptional and super friendly, even though I spoke very little Spanish and they spoke little English we could understand each other well enough that everything that I needed was well taken care of. Yes, the power turns off at 9 PM but it was not really very hot, as a matter of fact, it got cold enough for me to sleep under the covers in July. The food was excellent the staff went above and beyond in taking care of getting us a ruins tour and zip line tour! The lodge is nice and the hammocks outside every room were a big plus. If I ever visit Tikal in the future, I will gladly stay here again. Plus, you haven't lived until you've been woke up by the sound of the howler monkeys in the morning. Such a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved staying in the Jaguar Inn for 2 nights while we visited Tikal. It is really great for a jungle lodge. The food was amazing! You are so close to the ruins, and they had a good guide that took us on a Sunrise hike. I would recommend planning on having a day and a half to check out the ruins if you are in shape and gungho.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Jaguar Inn. The only plus of the hotel is its location, as the rooms are quite basic and definitively not a good value for the price you pay... but is the least expensive option to be close to the ruins and after all, we came to Tikal to enjoy it in full, so we were happy with what we got. They cut electricity late in the night, so the fan stopped working, which in the hot and humid jungle environment was almost a torture. It was also a problem when you had to wake up at 3:30 for the sun-rise tour and had to look for a torch in the dark. Breakfast is not included, and the options expensive and average in taste. During the day there were some nice birds and wild animals roaming in the premises of the hotel, so that is an extra plus if you stay with kids, as our son enjoyed them very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal

Address: Tikal National Park | Peten, Tikal National Park, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tikal National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, located inside Tikal National Park, Guatemala, 15 minutes walk from the temples. 13 bungalows with private bathroom, hot water, ceiling fan (24 hours electricity). Restaurant with AC, Wi-Fi internet service, transport and tours, credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.