We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Jungle Lodge
Tikal National Park, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

The location of this hotel is just perfect. It sits right on the entrance to the amazing park of Tikal. We were able to do both a night trip to Tikal during a full moon night and the usual sunrise trip everyone takes without getting up too early and taking any bus early in the morning.
The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was good but the hours of the hot water are very limited. Other than that, the room is very limitedly equipped and quite expensive. There is a restaurant in the hotel perimeter which is also a bit expensive. Dinner was okay, breakfast is okay. Also, note that the breakfast is served till late (about eleven) and not as stated in the signs of the hotel (till nine).
Internet service is available but is also a bit expensive.
All in all it is a good place to stay, mainly because of the great location and despite of the high price.

  • Liked — great location, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    121
    73
    26
    14
See reviews for
54
134
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I just got back from a stay of two nights at the Jungle Lodge. There is no better location to stay in Tikal if you want to be close to the ruins and sleep in the middle of the jungle. The Jungle Lodge is right next to the park entrance, a 10 minute walk to the Grand Plaza of Tikal. You will thank the great location if you do the sunrise tour of Tikal (an absolute must). The tour usually starts at 445am, that means that if you are coming from a hotel in Flores (45 minute drive to Tikal) you have to get up sometime between 3am and 330am. Staying at the Jungle Lodge gets you an extra hour of sleep.

The hotel was much better than I expected. Good friendly service, nice restaurant and bar and a very nice swimming pool. I stayed in one of the bungalows. The room was ok, clean and with a nice bathroom. No extra amenities in the rooms though (no TV, no air conditioning) but nicer than I expected.

One thing to note is the lack of communication. The hotel uses satellite communication which is very sensitive to weather. No phones in the room and Internet access at the lobby depends on the quality of the satellite link. No celular phone signal in the park.

Overall great place and unbeatable location. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee,MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Stayed at the Jungle Lodge During Spring Break. It was nice except the power would go out at 9 pm or 10 pm, the bugs and we had to move because our bathroom flooded. I liked the food and the proximity to Tikal National Park.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

well I guess you can't complain too much about the location! right next to the park entrance, but also right in the middle of the jungle! when describing the hotel itself, it wouldn't be a hotel I would pay $50 for in Flores or another city in Guatemala, but wow.... I really did enjoy the pool. after walking around the park for a whole or part day, it felt pretty good swimming in a nice pool with huge trees all around. the room that I stayed in was clean, but basic. the restaurant was nice, but service wasn't great. but what the heck.... I would deffinitly go back if I was to go back to Tikal!

  • Liked — location and the pool
  • Disliked — rooms clean, but a little too basic. also the service wasn't as good as I would expect when paying $42 US in Guatemala.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Our first (and last) visit to the Jungle Loge in Tikal was a disaster. When we arrived, they would not take our luggage to our room. We had to carry it ourselves. The first room they gave us the door lock was broken (when we stuck the key in the lock it just spun around) and when we asked for a different room the lady (Miriam) at the front desk got upset like we were inconveniencing her. Also note that this is not tourist season and there was hardly anyone in the hotel. there were lots of extra rooms. Then each night we went to the hotel restaurant they did not have any food. One night when the power was out, we along with some others went to eat and the cooks were mad that they had to work and they told us the only had one item on the menue and we could take it or leave it. Also noted is that after sundown there is nowhere to go, you cannot leave the hotel grounds as there is no light and only jungle. You would think that if there is no where to eat in the area, the hotel restaurant would be fully stocked. the room had nets for the beds however they all had holes in them. the bugs came in the holes in the window screens and under the door. The pool was definately not swimable. the pool was a strange green foggy color, which did not have anything to do with excessive chlorine. the staff was not helpful and appeared "put out" when asked questions. The only positive this hotel had was that it is in the Tikal Park (walking distance) and easy acess (in and out) of the park all day. Also if you are looking for a great private tour guide ask for Dalio. He was very knowledgeable and took us to places not covered in the regular day tour. To see the entire park you must do it in at least two days, possibly three. There is a lot to see in Tikal I would recommend it, but you may want to double check on any other hotels close to the park, possibly in Flroes. If you choose to stay at Jungle Lodge, you must wear full length pants, long sleaves and a hat at all times especially to eat and to bed to protect yourself from the mosquitos, flys and numerous other creatures including a scorpion that entered a guys's room who was on the tour with us. You also have to be specific when requesting a room that the bathroom is included in your room. most of their rooms do not have a bathroom, it is a common bathroom which requires you to exit your room and walk a short distance in the pitch black to get there. And night time is when more of the bugs and other interesting animals come out.

  • Liked — cloeness to the park
  • Disliked — Rude Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tikal National Park hotels

Midwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed here for two nights because of its proximity to the National Park and the pool. On both counts it was a good choice. We were pleasantly surprised that the electricity was on all night! Our ceiling fan got pretty noisy after it was on for several hours, but that could easily be adjusted, I'd think. We were surprised that the hotel did not have filtered water available to the guests, however. We stayed at much cheaper places on our Guatemala trip that all had a water dispenser.

All in all, it was a nice place to stay. The hotel clerk made arrangements for a Canopy Tour ziplining the next day, at any time that we wanted, for $30/person. The guy from Canopy Tours was right on time and we had a blast. Finally, we paid $102/night which included breakfast--not sure where the $54 comes from on this site.

  • Liked — proximity to Tikal National Park
  • Disliked — drinking water not included
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Stayed one night (just last night) at the Jungle Lodge on a quick trip to Tikal. The location is unbeatable. The rest of the experience was underwhelming.

I am typing this review from the pricey internet cafe in the lobby - 6 USD per hour. BE sure to have exact change, or you will have to wait around for them to find you change.

When I made the reservation, I was assured by the receptionist that we would not have to pay park entrance admission to get to the hotel. When we arrived at the ticket booth yesterday, just outside of the hotel entrance, we were told by the park administration that we had to pay, and were not permitted to enter until we had paid (Q150), despite the fact that we had no intention of visiting the ruins until today.They insisted that as long as you are inside the park, visiting the ruins or not, admission must be paid each day. We bought our tickets, then came to the reception desk to ask them about this. I asked if we had to pay to come into the hotel, of course they said no. I told them I was made to pay, and they didn´t really have an answer for this. I asked what happenes when they arrange transport to the hotel for guests who arenot visiting the ruins until another day, and was told that these guests usually arrange a package tour through the hotel, and so the hotel pays their admission when they enter. So we had to change our plans to visit the ruins yesterday.

FYI: another guest let us know that the gate attendants tried to pull the same stunt her, and so she asked them to show her in writing where it states that guests of the hotel must pay park admission. They could not do so, and so she did not have to pay.

We were asked to pay the full amount ($125USD for a triple) when we arrived, and honestly, I do not think this hotel is worth this price. I understand that if I am staying in the middle of the jungle, I should expect a fair share of bugs and pests. However, if I am paying $125, I also expect the screens in the rooms to be maintained (a big hole in the bathroom window screen plugged with toilet paper, and about 10 visitors during the night, including two- two inch long beetles climbing up the mosquito net.) Additionally, the water was not hot - lukewarm at best for about 5 minutes. All other showers were cold.

Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were both quite salty.

OVERALL, the Jungle Lodge is decent, but definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Lodge

Address: Tikal National Park, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tikal National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1952, the government of Guatemala assigned a piece of land to Mr. Antonio Ortiz Contreras for the construction of a hotel which will help with the logistics of the TIKAL PROJECT, and room and board for the archeologists. This project was supervised by the University of Pennsylvania with the collaboration of many other universities around the world. Form 1956 to 1969, 113 scientists worked in the Tikal Project, making it one of the longest archeological projects in the western hemisphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Hotel Tikal National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.