We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina Asiatica Restaurante

La Esquina Asiatica Restaurante
9 Avenida, 6-79, Zona 1, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
+502 5214 7829
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian
Description: La Esquina Asiatica is located 3 blocks away from Parque Central, the main plaza. It is on the 2nd level, across the street from the yoga house, as well as across from the taiwanese street food store. It is directly on the corner of 9a avenida and 8th calle!
Restaurant details
Description: La Esquina Asiatica is located 3 blocks away from Parque Central, the main plaza. It is on the 2nd level, across the street from the yoga house, as well as across from the taiwanese street food store. It is directly on the corner of 9a avenida and 8th calle!
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

its a nice and small restaurant with good food for a good price! i think its the best asian restaurant in the center!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Three good things and one bad thing about the buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

There are three good things about the buffet and one bad thing. The first good thing is that it is all-you-can-eat. The second good thing is that the food is great. The third good thing is that it will only cost you Q50. The only bad thing is that you can only find this deal the last Saturday of each month. At other times, you will find a variety of very good items on the menu, but you have to order them separately.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“These flavors!? In Guatemala!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Imagine how pleased we were to enjoy such light and flavorful food in Xela. The service was tops. I have an allergy to sesame, which shows up a lot in Asian food. Our server was very patient, and luckily for me, quite accurate in making certain my dish was allergen free. A special thanks to the cooks as well for good food that was sesame free. Some of the sauces contained sesame oil. I know how a spoon used to stir food containing sesame oil can effect me if the same spoon is used on my dish. It does not take much for me to react. Many thanks for being so very careful. The food was priced very well. A main dish with a beer was 70Q. The ingredients were fresh. We would come here for dinner again. Again, thanks to the whole crew that night for great service and food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Xela”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

What did I like about La Esquina Asiatica? The dumplings, the pad thai, the spring rolls, the lemonade -- most of the menu really. The service is awesome there too. They are all so friendly and helpful! I highly recommend getting the dumplings - that sauce is to-die-for!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great after a hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went to the buffet (last Saturday of every month) after a half day hike to Chicabal and it was awesome. They say hunger is the best gravy, but the food was awesome, especially the dumplings.

A bit more expensive than your usual eats in Xela (50Q for the buffet), but so so good. I'll definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina Asiatica Restaurante also viewed

Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
 
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
 

Been to La Esquina Asiatica Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina Asiatica Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.