We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Modelo to your Saves list
Hotel Modelo
14 Avenida | Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Washingt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'm not giving four stars simply because the shower had no water. Now I can handle cold showers, but I want to pay cold-shower prices for that kind of place. I told the woman at the front desk and she said she'd look into it, but that didn't change the temperature of the shower. I was able to use a glass and the very hot water from the sink to wash myself in the shower...i know, I know...no visuals.. I'm just sayin'.

My room was off the main lobby area, so it was a bit noisy. On night in particular an elderly woman was singing to some children. I wasn't real happy.

The staff was a bit overly cordial. The kitchen staff was a more welcoming, but I only ate breakfasts there, which, by the way, were pretty good. Certainly very filling.

In spite of the bar and restaurant, I didn't get the feeling that I was really settled during my three day stay. There was no one in either the bar or the restaurant most of the time, so rather than go and have a nightcap to look though my photos or talk with a local about what to see in town, I simply retired for the evening.

The room was clean and comfortable. I'm not picky, though. As long as there are no bed bugs, I'm happy. This room was clean. Oh...there was a coffee pot with coffee waiting for me every day. Great! This alone make me give the hotel a four rather than a three.

The staff was very helpful for making sure I could make my taxi to the the bus to get back to Guatemala City. They know the distances and how long it will take to get from A to B.

BEST: A staff member got me a taxi to take me to some local towns for about 200 Q. This taxi driver was a fantastic guide (Brian?). He and I got along well; he showed me some off-the-beaten-path places I never would have seen alone. This was a highlight of my who adventure.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms directly off of the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    40
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
26
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Is the best choice that me and my family could pic and is full recommended for everyone that want to rest and have a perfect vacation.

It has a perfect location at downtown with good restaurants and places to shop.

The old fashion style is perfect because it preserves the simplicity like being at home.

The food is like made by grandma and is perfect and the service is 5 stars!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff were courteous and the ladies in the kitchen were fantastic. I spent three nights here and they cooked whatever I wanted, regardless of the menu.

Easy walk to the main square and there are lots of restaurants around it. The place has been a hotel for more than a century. The decor was befitting a hotel with that pedigree, in my opinion.

Ask for an interior room and not one on the street, but it doesn't make that much difference. Like any hotel in a downtown area in Latin America you are going to get street noise early in the morning, no matter which room you are in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Old hotel with rooms around 2 patios. The staff is very friendly. We arrived without a reservation and could get a room for the night, situated at the patio furthest from reception. A bit later, they could confirm we could stay a second night. Breakfast - with a fresh juice - included. When we arrived, the person at reception gave us a list of included items in price (also parking), so when we said we didn´t have a car, we got a discount of 10% (but we needed to indicate it to the person at reception when checking out, as it hadn´t been recorded). Very well located in town.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the patio nearest to reception : it´s quieter, safer and wifi reception is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Modelo for one night. The manager (Jose?) was very nice. My bus arrived in the evening, and he was kind enough to send a taxi to pick me up. That was nice.

Next, I requested a "quiet room" and was put in a room NEXT TO the kitchen, and across from the hotel restaurant. It was anything BUT quiet.

The room was tidy and basic. Unfortunately, the bed was ROCK HARD and I woke up with severe lower back pain the next day.

At about 630 am I was awakened by VERY LOUD clanging and banging noises from the kitchen. I could hear staff laughing and talking, cooking, etc. I could also hear guests in the dining room. Not exactly the “quiet” room that I had hoped for.

After breakfast I went back to the room to shower and there was NO hot water. I understand that this happens in Xela (and I live in Guatemala so I do know that “things happen”) but at the "#1 Trip Advisor rated" hotel? Seriously?

I decided to find another hotel and checked out of Modelo that morning. When I told Jose about the rock hard bed, noise and lack of hot water, he shrugged and said, "Yeah, we've been having problems with the hot water lately." Why didn’t he tell me that to begin with?

He didn't offer, but I asked for a discount. He charged me $38 for the night instead of $50.

I do not plan to stay at Modelo again because it's not good value and I felt like the staff didn't care. Yes, it's in the center of town, but if you prefer to get a good night’s sleep, I recommend staying away from the center of town.

I eventually ended up at Casa San Bartolome, about a 7 minute walk to the center of town. It was an AMAZING place. I can't say enough nice things about it. Almost half the price of Modelo and twice as nice.

The bottom line is this: you don't have to stay in the center to enjoy Xela. Staying a few minutes away will be less expensive and more restful. Xela is easy to get around by foot, taxi or bus.

If you DO choose to stay at Hotel Modelo ask to see several rooms (if possible). Test the beds and ask if they have hot water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very few hotels in the world have the spirit of true hospitality, when you feel like you are at home. Here I felt wholeheartedly welcomed.
The hotel is proudly owned by the same family for four generations! Here you will see the owners dining together with guests, chatting with you and trying their best to make your stay not just comfortable, but pleasant.
Considering the surroundings, you may give a little discount for some minor... peculiarities, like no shampoo in the room (you can get one at the reception). Beds are on a harder side, but within reason.
What is truly charming is the interior... Real spirit of Latin America, you can easily forget that we are in 21 century and imagine yourself to be an explorer in this mysterious and beautiful country.
Restaurant serves good food, more of home-style cooking, also very pleasant and tasty.
Personally, I am very much looking forward to returning to this hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you want to stay in the city of Quetzaltenango here one of the best, close to the central park, a big colonial house, with restaurant, little garden, big rooms, very good prices, very good service, if you are going in to a hike the next morning they make your boxlunch! Manuel a super nice person and oll of them, great service!

Room Tip: if you want really hote water, you will not found it in any place of the city dont look for an other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modelo

Address: 14 Avenida | Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1892, set the heart of Quetzaltenango, Hotel Modelo has proudly kept up with the needs of visitors to Quetzaltenango, conserving its beautiful building intact. All rooms have been decorated with original artwork and regional handicrafts. Hotel Modelo has been a family run establishment since the beginning and four generations of heart put into it have allowed us to understand our costumer's needs and meet them beyond their standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Modelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modelo Hotel Quetzaltenango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.