We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Su hogar . . . lejos su hogar"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modelo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modelo to your Saves list
Hotel Modelo
14 Avenida | Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Certificate of Excellence
Conner, Mt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"Su hogar . . . lejos su hogar"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

"Your home . . . away from home" is the trademark of the Hotel Modelo We've stayed there twice in the past two years. Before that we'd stayed at their Annex several times. Every time we've found the staff capable, courteous and helpful to a fault. The family operating this hotel have a deep appreciation for the culture and history of their community matched only by the pride they take in living up to their motto.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
31
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I found the hotel to be very clean, the staff was friendly & helpful - enjoyed the breakfast included in the price. The building (over 100 years old) is well maintained & has some interesting architecture...would definitely there again if I return to Xela.

Room Tip: Enjoy you stay. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

A top rated Hotel now and then as in my 1960's travel guide that my father had given to me. The family made us feel welcome and helped to make us enjoy Xela as if we were born here. The food and staff were excellent and provided a warm atmosphere of home away from home. Wi-Fi and internet was a bonus! We look forward to our return and hope to bring more of our family to Hotel Modelo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We love to go back to this wonderful Hotel owned by a family that has always been so nice!They go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The rooms are very nice and clean and the breakfast is delicious. They keep improving with time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is owned by a wonderful family that is responsive to the hotel guests. Everyone at this hotel was friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The food is excellent and the rooms large and extremely clean. It is a very safe and comfortable environment. Free wireless internet is a plus as is the location only a few blocks from the central park. For travelers who are not fluent Spanish speakers, they speak English here. You will not find a better place to stay in Quetzaltenango!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

well they gives us the worse room they have the staff in the lobby was not nice and the houseker lady would not give us towels at less we give her the towels we use before ( crazy RIGHT?) she said she need to count them lol !! ok i gets worse one time i call the lobby to request toilet paper the lady response ok i will verified if it is truth , they never ask if we need service in the rooms and never change the pitcher of water ughhh ,i mean i could go on and on about all the bad tihings but i will never go back there except for the ladies from the kitchen they are wonderful !!!! the owner was so hateful never said a word to us o but when i complaint about the service she got nasty and never apologize make look that was are fault for not asking eveyday the services well and very noisy at night with the night clubs too make sure is the best option for u because u may regret it like me.

Room Tip: make sure not get the rooms and the back patio is even worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Wonderful, family-run hotel right in the center of Xela. Been there twice so far and was very satisfied both times. The old building has lots of charme. The halls are like a little museum filled with all kinds of interesting things. The rooms have wooden floors and ceilings. Everything is very clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. For me this is THE place to stay in Xela, nothing luxurious but excellent hotel for the price and you can feel that it’s family-run and owned and not some impersonal chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quetzaltenango
2.5 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#1 of 15 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
#9 of 15 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
22.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel S&J Bella Luna
Hotel S&J Bella Luna
#12 of 15 in Quetzaltenango
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
18.9 mi away
Villa Hermosa Hotel
Villa Hermosa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz Mulua
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#2 of 26 in Quetzaltenango
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modelo

Address: 14 Avenida | Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1892, set the heart of Quetzaltenango, Hotel Modelo has proudly kept up with the needs of visitors to Quetzaltenango, conserving its beautiful building intact. All rooms have been decorated with original artwork and regional handicrafts. Hotel Modelo has been a family run establishment since the beginning and four generations of heart put into it have allowed us to understand our costumer's needs and meet them beyond their standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Modelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modelo Hotel Quetzaltenango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.