We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great views from rooftop terrace!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Manen

Hotel Casa Manen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quetzaltenango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Manen
Save
You added Hotel Casa Manen to your Saves list
9a Av. 4-11 | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Quetzaltenango B&B and Inns
Orlando
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location, great views from rooftop terrace!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Casa Manen. The location is perfect to explore Xela and is on a quiet street, so little outside noise. We liked the way the rooms open up into an open courtyard with good views and just one floor up is the terrace that is a great place to relax with a beer and the available WiFi. Our room was perfectly acceptable with lots of blankets for the cool Xela nights and warm bathrobes as well. The water was warm enough for me, but not hot enough for my wife - the only reason did not rate as "excellent". I agree with the other reviewer that breakfast was good and a healthy start to our day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect, one block from the main plaza. The hotel is a beautiful building with interior courtyard, big rooms...but the furniture and the bathroom are in great need of a freshen up and we doubted the cleanliness of the room also... Breakfast was really good and there was enough to keep us going until supper!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed there with several others for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff are soo nice and attentive, breakfast every morning was great! the owner is an amazingly helpful woman and very well connected and knowledgeable about Xela. Also it is a 3 min walk to the town center which is awesome! I would definitely come back here the next time i am in xela!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I just called this hotel to make a reservation for this upcoming week. Yes, I am a gringa speaking Spanish, but my goodness, this woman hung up on me when I was speaking. When I called back, she then told me that my Spanish was bad. Can you believe it!!! I will not be staying here.........EVER!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I know Quetzaltenango well having worked and lived in Guatemala for a very long time. I decided to stay at Casa Manen because of what it advertised and having visited it when it first opened. Unfortunately I cannot recommend this place for either leisure or business. Quiet in the center of Xela may not necessarily be the norm, however I found the noise level from the street unacceptable for a place that advertises itself as an oasis. The rooms shook with the cars going by it. The rooms were very musty and the service was not up to standards for the rates that are charged. Decide for yourself, but there are other options and I would suggest you check them out. Charging $60- $90 for rooms with electric shower heads is beyond me. There are cheaper places that offer hot showers without the possibility of shock. The breakfast was nothing worth repeating and the coffee was obviously burning for over an hour by the time it was served. We headed for Cafe Baviera in search of finer java following breakfast. The Dos Tejanos restaurant recommended by the hotel's staff and operated by the same owner was dismal in food quality. We ordered "sizzling platters" that came luke warm on cool platters. Again, I believe there are tastier and more economical options around town. I kicked myself for expecting good TexMex in Xela! Then again, I can find decent Italian, French, etc...
If you want to spend this much for loding I'd rather go with Hotel Modelo, a classic in the center or even Pension Bonifaz as both have greater charm and functionality than what I found here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

I'd agree with everything other people have written about the great breakfasts, nicely decorated rooms and good location. What particularly impressed me was the way the staff reacted when I had to rush back to Guatemala City in a hurry. I'd found out that there was a risk of the roads being blocked (due to a political protest) the following day, when I was due to travel, and that could have led to me missing a flight. So I wanted to leave that evening, even though the buses had all left for the day and people generally avoid travelling at night due to safety concerns. Not only did the staff help me find a driver who could take me far enough from Quetzaltenango that I was past the road blocks, one of them even travelled with us to make sure I arrived safely in a hotel. True service that was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We spent one night while visiting a friend in Xela. It was an excellent value with a location two blocks from the main square. We did not meet the owner but the staff was really friendly & served us the best breakfast we have had in a long time. We did not understand how to get hot water so ask the staff when you check-in. Wifi was available in the public area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Manen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Manen

Address: 9a Av. 4-11 | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Manen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.