We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent and cheap for a longer stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal don Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal don Diego to your Saves list
Hostal don Diego
6 Street, 15-12 Zone 1, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Descent and cheap for a longer stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Descent hostel if you are looking for a private room for a longer stay. The private rooms are nice, with windows and comfortable beds and the monthly rent isn't too much. Dorms are ok too. The hostel is quit big and has a good kitchen. Although the cooking gear can use some renewal.
The lady working at the hostel is very knowledgeable about anything to do in Guatemala and more than willing to help you out.

I would recommend it for long stayers, room tip are the rooms upstairs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
7
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spent Samana Santa here as there was nothing else to do, no buses, and no museums open. In saying that the staff here were great and constantly on the phone to see if any buses were moving. A short distance from the main plaza, so, very central. The rooms were comfortable with 3 communal shower and toilet. The place was kept clean and has a big kitchen. A good place to stay and not expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms would be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Position of accomodation is not bad. close to Quetzaltrekkers, close to town square. Toilits clean. Kitchen available, not so special, but works.

Private rooms, are very simple, nothing I can write about. I thing its only separated area with twin wooden desks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've stayed in Hostal Don Diego twice, for a total time of nearly two weeks. It's well-located, two blocks from central park and a decent grocery store.

Free internet is a great plus (but the hostel's computer is charged)

The kitchen needs better stock, some pans can spin 360 degrees on their handles, the remainder have no non-stick surface remaining.

The staff are courteous and friendly. I had to print one page out and the manager took care of it for me when I could not find anywhere to print a scanned document.

Both hot showers worked when I was first here, only one worked when I passed through again, but there was no line for it. Laundry facilities were there (but I hand-washed all my clothes) and hot water was available all times of the day for showers or for tea/coffee (not included).

I would stay here again. 45Q per night is decent for this good hostel.

I was here during the 7.4 Richter scale earthquake that struck 15 miles off the Pacific coast. The entire city shook and plaster came off the walls. This hostel held up just fine, the power didn't and was out for a few hours. I still managed to get my hair cut by one of the barber shops running a generator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed for 1 night here in July and I thought it was very nice- the room was clean, the bed decent, the showers were good and the staff very friendly. It is also very close to the central park and is near enough to plenty of places to eat. There is a family living here with kids but they never bothered the guests. It is very safe and has a travel agent out front with plenty of options (although I would always recommend Quetzaltrekkers seeing as they are a non-profit organisation that supports local schools).

I seem to remember the prices for private rooms were much much steeper than the dorms but overall this hostel was very nice and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Paper thin walls. A few people who were there at the time had problems with bugs in their rooms. Kitchen was ok, but most people did not know how to clean frying pans. Only three bathrooms is not enough when it is crowded. Most rooms are either noisy being too close to main desk, front door or near kitchen/patio. Also some rooms have skylights in them baking you in the morning The staff was great, then they left one by one, replacements not great...

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are the best, although they are further from the bathroom than any other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Staying in a private economy room which is very very clean and comfortable (I like hard pillows and matresses). The only annoying thing is that the bathroom and showers are quite a way aways from the upstairs room and the walls are very thin. So you hear EVERYTHING! The kitchen is great for long term stayers, i'm not really using it as i'm only in town for a few days but it seems clean and really well equipped. The showers arent the warmest and they don't seem to be the cleanest either. The hostal is really well situated for the town centre and there is a good reputable travel agency in the foyer but the tours can be a little bit pricey. So a good budget option but bring flip flops for the shower and a torch for the corridor if you go to the bathroom at night!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#2 of 15 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#1 of 15 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
#9 of 15 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel S&J Bella Luna
Hotel S&J Bella Luna
#12 of 15 in Quetzaltenango
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#1 of 26 in Quetzaltenango
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Nativos
Casa Nativos
#9 of 26 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal don Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal don Diego

Address: 6 Street, 15-12 Zone 1, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Quetzaltenango
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 2002, Hostal Don Diego has set the standard for Bed & Breakfasts in the city of Quetzaltenango (Xela). Our hostel is clean and comfortable, recommended by Lonely Planet, Rough Guide and many tour guides, focusing on Guatemala. Our rates are very cheap and include use of kitchen, Tv cable and Wi-Fi. Clean and pleasant facilities provide our guests experience a unique stay. The hostel also has a tour operator with many options and extensive information on tourist spots in Guatemala.Hostal Don Diego has many services, some are and some are not included in the daily, weekly or monthly rate, please ask for it upon arrival.Don DiegoHostal Don Diego has many services, some are and some are not included in the daily, weekly or monthly rate, please ask for it upon arrival.The weekly rate and monthly include ALWAYS the use of the kitchen, which is fully equipped (refrigerator, stoves, toaster oven, microwave, coffee machine, blender, utensils, etc.) please ask for our rates.Tour operator are within the hotel for advice and to answer all of your questions Adrenalina ToursHot and cold water always and clean showers!Cable television in the living room, for news, a movie, sports, talk show etc….feel welcome!If you have a laptop you can use our wi-fi service.Guest living per month includes cleaning service twice weekly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal don Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal don Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.