We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel in bad location.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Norte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Barrios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Norte
Save
You added Hotel del Norte to your Saves list
7a Calle and 1a Avenida, Puerto Barrios 18001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Old hotel in bad location.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

First off, let me advise you not to travel to Puerto Barrios or stay at this hotel if you do not speak any Spanish. I took three years of Spanish in high school, but have not used it since. This hotel is very old and in a horrible location. It is next to a huge container port that is so busy with semi trucks day and night. None of the hotel staff speak English so that was a challenge. I spent one night and hopped on a water taxi to Livingston, which is much better for tourists. I would not advise even driving down the road to this place and wasting your time.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The moment I stepped into the atmospheric old building, I was in love with it. My room was very basic but the price was also basic. Brightly painted and clean. Cold water showers in the old building and a fan. It was enough. The hotel has a pool and interesting restaurant. There are other restaurants within a short walk. The staff at the Hotel del Norte was wonderful when I was there.

I had a sea view, which was lovely. Except the sea front park is a loud, late night teen hang out- but that isn't the hotel's fault.

I met wonderful people staying at this hotel. It attracts artistic people. I am told it once was the home away from home for the people filming Tarzan movies decades ago. After dinner I exchanged great life stories with other guests who sat on the big veranda/hallway. I couldn't ask for much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here for a week while I was awaiting the arrival of my motorcycle by ship from New Jersey USA.
I could not have chosen a better location.
The hotel is an oasis of tranquility surrounded by a very busy container port. The wide and airy verandas are ideal for quiely reading or just staring out at the beautifull bay. The small pool is just right for a refreshing dip and is spotlessly clean.
The breakfasts and evening meals were good quality and served by two very polite and friendly waiters.
Staying at this hotel is like stepping back 100 years in time. It is full of character, very clean, good value, lovely staff and will give you a pleasant and memorable stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We actually had a terrible experience in Puerto Barrios. It was just a stepping off point for us to get to Belize. So we thought just one night here would be ok. Just minutes after we stepped off the bus and were walking the 3 blocks to this hotel we were robbed (at noon!) Please be careful walking around this town! Get a taxi to wherever you need to go! So we showed up to the hotel, in need of some comfort and did not find much. I decided that I just needed to stay in the hotel room for a little while, but apparently they were doing some construction in the room right next to ours and it sounded like they were trying to tear down the wall into our bathroom. So we switched rooms. There was also some extremely loud construction going on next to the pool that went on all night, so we couldn't enjoy that either. The food was barely decent, and the staff was barely friendly to us. The rooms were buggy, our bathroom was kind of gross and the beds were uncomfortable. The hotel could have maybe been tolerable if we didn't have such a bad experience... I could see it's charming qualities. However, I would recommend in general avoiding Puerto Barrios if possible (we wish we had gone to Livingston instead) or stay somewhere nicer that is in a safer part of town.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirch, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

we stayed for two nights since p.barrios was where we arrived in guatemala coming from germany by boat. so we were glad to have an ok. hotel for that price, with a fine seaview (in the pool-outdoor-restaurant area) with a neat pool which was at the time of our visit clean.
the building itself is all-original from about 1 century ago, and you feel transplated back into that time at this place, even the waiters at the restaurant with their white uniforms seem to be original from that time.
The restaurant is cheap, but you get what you pay for, and there are neat restaurants also by the seaside which are better.
the matresses in the rooms are very soft, and the rooms are spacious in vertical dimensions, but somewhat cell-like.
If you can´t avoid staying in p.barrios, and get a good price for the stay, i could propably say this place is, despite the discomfort in the beds, worth its price, and if it´s only for the architecture and the views...

Room Tip: get one with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here while backpacking and found it in a Lonely Planet guide book. It was a great with tons of character and charm. The staff was very nice and took great care if us. We stayed here for 1 night and also ate in their restaurant which was fabulous! They have internet access for free too! The room was basic and included a fan. The bathroom was clean and the 2 twin beds did the job. I would recommend anyone to stay here! Enjoy!

Room Tip: check the room first to make sure its cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio dulce, guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

It's been there since 1896, so expect a bit of decay, but covered with enough layers of paint to distract you briefly. Guess it's an historic landmark, totally funky, but a touch of old world class in the formal feeling dining room. Nice wide slanting veranda offers a stunning view of the ocean and shipping traffic.
Beautiful setting for clean swimming pools and very gracious service personnel.
Very noisy all night, and this was NOT over a weekend, it's just a port city that never sleeps, just parties, i guess.
But the experience was unique, something I had looked forward to and am glad I made the trip.

Room Tip: The newer rooms with a/c are probably much quieter, but the views from the original verandas are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Norte

Address: 7a Calle and 1a Avenida, Puerto Barrios 18001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Puerto Barrios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Barrios
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Norte Guatemala/Puerto Barrios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Norte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.