We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stayed in "Finca Ixobel"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Ixobel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Finca Ixobel to your Saves list
Finca Ixobel
Poptun, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stayed in "Finca Ixobel"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have been to Finca Ixobel 19 years, 16 years and last week for 5 days. It's use to be a very great place to hang around with tourist from all over the world but now it's more a bus stop from local tourist coming back from Tikal and eating lunch and most of the room was occupied by Guatemaltec. We stayed in a private room sharing noise from the other room and batroom, in 5 days our section didn't have electricity for 3 nights. Of course that's a very nice place but.the food and rooms are very expensive.
The Finca offer very good activities with good price to do around.

Room Tip: It's better to take a private room private bath but high price not for budget traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
18
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a great place, surrounded by nature, easy to reach, between Rio Dulce and Flores. Accommodations for different budgets, natural swimming pond, wonderful locally grown food, vegetarian and meat. Activities like hikes, cave walks or just lazying in a hammock with a borrowed book from the library.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui, hi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the Finca Ixobel in December 2011 and absolutely loved it! The main reason for our going there was to do the all day cave adventure with Mainor, a Guatemalan guide. This was something we have never done anywhere in the world--2 hours of walking through mud up to our knees in gorgeous terrain, followed by 2 hours swimming, wading and climbing in a river cave that was pitch black, followed by another 2 hour muddy walk to the hotel. Our guide spoke no English but was so skilled at leading us through the cave and making sure he lit the area with candles (which was not easy considering we were sometimes over our heads in water). Although I speak Spanish, my husband and 10-year-old son do not, but Mainor had a way of making sure everyone understood how to maneuver through the cave and mud. We have never been so dirty in our lives, but will always remember this unforgettable trip that I could not imagine doing anywhere else in the world.
We also did a 2 hour horseback ride at the hotel as well, which was quite fun.
We rented a car in Belize and drove to Poptun (6 hours including the border crossing), which allowed us to arrive and leave when we wanted, and continue our trip to the Tikal area, which is about 1 1/2 hours north of Poptun.
The hotel is very simple and has a variety of accomodations ranging from camping to, free-standing bungalows. The restaurant and bakery are outstanding--we bought loaves of bread everyday, fresh out of their ovens. The dinners are delicious too--a different buffet each night and you sit family style, allowing you to meet other tourists and people who work at the hotel.
The finca is really a gorgeous place within the very friendly village of Poptun. We highly recommend a trip there for a very different kind of vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This was an excellent place to stop between Guatemala City and Tikal for birding. It would have been better if they maintained the hummingbird feeders, but we did find Canivete's Emeralds and Wedge-tailed Hummingbirds nearby. The garden by the restaurant was very nice for birds, and we could enjoy the birds while dining. The bungalows were very pleasant.
A friend fondly remembers staying there in 1980.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I could not recommend a more memorable place to stay on your travels along the road to Flores. I bring a medical team through every year to serve children with ear and hearing problems and each member has loved the stay. Treehouse rooms are great fun. The food is fantastic and provides a wide variety to accommodate dietary restrictions. Stargazing at night, sitting at the jungle disco or playing ping pong for beers you can't go wrong. Staff are the very helpful. People you meet staying there are great. We even recruited some folks to help for a day doing translating for our team. I have been 5 times and look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
776 reviews 776 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have stayed at Finca Ixobel for each of the past four years on my trips to Poptun where my church supports a preacher at the Iglesia de Cristo. I like the Finca because it is a relaxing place that is laid back and the food is good. I had the Valentine's day dinner a few years ago which was very good. This year I had a bacon cheese burger with avocado, which was tremendous. I especially like their breakfasts. They make their own yoghurt which reminds me of Greek yoghurt. I have tried the yoghurt with granola; the crepes wtih yoghurt and fruit; and the breakfast sandwich, which is ham topped with fried egg and chedder cheese on their baked bun.

Each year we have stayed in the Suite Venus. This is a casita with a front porch for lounging. It has three beds and is roomy with private bath. This year we spent one night in the Galaxy unit number two, which had better beds than the Suite Venus and a newer water heater for warmer water in the shower. The Finca is five kms south of Poptun and about a km off the highway. You enter through a gate that they close late at night. They have a variety of accomodations, including tree houses and hammocks.

The Finca offers a variety of adventures and activities, including horseback riding, kayaking and cave explorings. It reminds you of a summer camp for adults. Once you check in they assign you a number on a sheet in a notebook in the dining area and you sign in on the honor system for coffee, desserts, internet usage and meals. I have stayed at three other motels in Poptun, but they all pale in comparision to Finca Ixobel. I highly recommend a stop at the Finca if you are traveling in the Peten.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We highly enjoyed the two nights we stayed at Finca Ixobel. The staff is very friendly, the food is tasty, and the treehouse we stayed in was exactly what we needed. The grounds are quite spacious with plenty to do, including trails to a lake, an uncovered pyramid, ping pong, hammocks, horseback riding, and a guided tour to la Cueva del río (a river running through a cave, which you can explore with flashlights and good shoes) ... If you go to the Cueva del río, make sure you are very comfortable swimming, not afraid of the dark or of enclosed spaces, and don't be afraid to turn back if you start feeling uncomfortable. It's well worth it, but it's best to be prepared!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Ixobel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Ixobel

Address: Poptun, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Poptun
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Poptun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Finca Ixobel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Ixobel Hotel Poptun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Ixobel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.