We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada El Delfin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Posada El Delfin to your Saves list
Posada El Delfin
Barrio Mario Sanchez Diaz | Livingston, Izabal, Guatemala, Livingston, Rio Dulce 018002, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was clean and large, Gus the owner is lovely and very helpful. We also ate in the hotels restaurant which was very good. The location is great, easy to get everywhere!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is in reasonable walking distance of the town dock, and the central market area of town. Rooms are very clean, and the beds are comfortable. Chairs, table and hammocks on the dock are very pleasant to sit on. The swimming pool is clean, but not sparkling clean. Gus, the owner is widely traveled, and loves to tell tales. He went out of his way to make us comfortable, and to make our stay pleasant. For example he drove us and our piles of luggage to the town dock early early the day we left. He also saw us going for dinner, and dropped in to help us translate the menu, and treated us to an appertif after dinner. This is not a 5 star property, it is a wonderful comfortable place to get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheneville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed very much our two-nights stay in this beautiful hotel, the best compared what we have all through the city of Livingston. The view on Lake Izabal and on the Caribbean Sea is wonderful. The owners, multilingual and very friendly with their guests, have done every thing to make us feel at home and were very helpful in helping us make all reservations we needed. The place is 100% clean hospitabl, with air conditioned and a beautiful swimming pool with a superb view on the lake and on the ocean. I keep wonderful memories of our stay in Livinginston and would return any time to Delfin Hotel. Restaurant seems very nice, but was not pen at the time.

Jean-Pierre Prévost, Chénéville, Qc, Canada

Room Tip: Most rooms will provide a nice view on the lake and on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is beautiful. Our room was fabulous with a king size bed and unique decor. The pool was clean, enjoyed the hammocks on the pier, and had a great time conversing with Gus, the owner. My husband and I took a trip with Go with Gus Tours on Gus's recommendation and loved it! A definite must if you are in the Livingston area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel reminds me of something my grandma and Jimmy Buffet might have put together had they decorated a hotel. It was clean. Lots of beds in many of the rooms but the wifi, hot water, and a/c was unreliable. The pool was a bright green and the entire place needs updating but it's great for a clean nights stay. The owner Gus also gave us unreliable information and I question his sincerity.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recently my boyfriend and I visited Guatemala and after doing the obligatory visits to Antigua and Tikal, we decided to visit Rio Dulce and Livingston village to enjoy couple of days relaxation.

The Rio Dulce canyon is magnificent, an easy ride to the town of Livingston. When we arrived we decided to look for a place to stay; it had to be clean with AC (the temperature was very high) and a private bathroom.

We are so glad we found Hotel Posada El Delfin, exactly what we were looking for; a very nice hotel with nice size rooms, well decorated, private bath with hot and cold water, AC and very clean.

The hotel also has a swimming pool, a pier with hammocks overlooking the river and free WiFi!
Their staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful.

We spent two nights and really enjoyed our stay; we slept like couple of babies! Thank you Posada El Delfin.

We highly recommend this hotel for their price, location and friendliness.

Room Tip: Room number 16 - on the second floor, is decorated in a beautiful french style kind of theme. Also r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I were having a hard time finding an available hotel in Livingston because it was New Year's weekend. We refused to stay at some of the hotels that proved to be unsightly and a bit questionable. We wanted somewhere safe and affordable, and it was getting dark after looking all day. We finally found Posada El Delfin and it was like heaven. The service was amazing. Gus treated us like family. It was the best choice after seeing many hotels. I will always go back to this place whenever I visit Livingston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada El Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Delfin

Address: Barrio Mario Sanchez Diaz | Livingston, Izabal, Guatemala, Livingston, Rio Dulce 018002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada El Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Delfin Guatemala/Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada El Delfin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.