We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Nostra

Casa Nostra
75 yards from the dock and take a left. Continue 450 yards and it will be on your left side backing to the river, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
502-7947-0842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are new with beautiful outdoor seating next to the river under our Palapa. The best Pizza in the area, serving Shrimp and Calamari Pizza as our speciality, Curried dishes, Masala dishes and Paprika dishes. We know how to prepare fish, shrimp and Calamari in incredible ways that you will not forget. i buy the fish, shrimp and Calamari from the boats in my back yard at 6;00 AM daily. I promise you the best dishes in Livingston. We have personal pizzas for under 3.00 USD. We make everything from scratch including our salad dressings, Curries, Masala, Mojitos, Pina Coladas and more. Our dough and pizza sauce are our own creation. The dough is made the day before to increase the natural flavours of the dough overnight. Our sauce is nothing you have ever had before. We can prepare special vegetarian dishes as you like.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stumbled on this place yesterday as we were rambling around town. I laughed at the sign outside that said it was listed as #1 in Tripadvisor but the owner, Stewart from Arizona, was outside and told us it was true so we went inside to check it out. A very simple setting but the pizzas are the real deal. We had a veggie one loaded with broccoli, cauliflower, basil, tomato, mushrooms and probably some others that I'm forgetting. The crust was thin and crisp, the topping cooked perfectly. Another local American couple cruised in their fishing boat, tied up and told us it was one of their favorite places to eat. They ordered a calamari and shrimp pizza that looked divine and they said was. I saw a mojito come out to a table that looked like it was made perfectly so the bar must be good too. Highly recommended! Stewart is a great host.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“See my other review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just ask Stuart and he will rustle up top fresh seafood that came in that morning from the boats off the pier

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart w, Owner at Casa Nostra, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks Andrew, having 15 shrimp and fish boats docking and unloading their fresh catch within 100 feet of my backyard makes it easy to offer the freshest and best seafood around. Most of the time the shrimp are still alive when I get them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“For the food and Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Coming off the boat we were quickly guided up the street to "shopping" NO! not what I wanted! Off to the side was a young man who tried not to look as if he was doing any sort of business. Joshua was his name; an ex-military U.S. now on disability enjoying the life style in Central America. Easily engaged in conversation, he lead us to a bank to exchange funds and then to a place for lunch. OMG! Being able to leave the luggage at the dock for the later boat ride down the Rio Dulce, we could make our way to the Casa Nostra with joyful steps anticipating the richness Joshua promised. Stuart is the american owner who recently married a local and opened up the hostel and pizza place. What he put on the table for us had our palates into a spin and languished until we HAD to run for the boat. He went out for the avocados to make the guacamole we wanted. His gal made the best ever mojotos with sensuous mint by the handful. I asked for some protein enriched tortillas to go with the pico de gaillo.....they did a great job of cheese and beans that sent us on our merry way back to the dock. Stuart told us about getting the mozzarella for the pizza! it is a huge process that is very costly for him, but he needs it to make the pizza and provide the product he sells. People we met on the first boat were brought her as well and they ordered the special fish soup which they totally enjoyed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good food, crap location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stuart and crew are trying their best to bring a nice restaurant to Livingston. The food is really good. As of now the eating area is just a patch of dirt, but they are planning to build a deck to make things nicer. Worst part is the stench of sewage wafting over to you every so often while you eat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart w, Owner at Casa Nostra, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Well, my patch of dirt is 7 tons of sand I brought in and put on top of sand and shells, surrounded by 67 varieties {I counted} of tropical plants, flowers and fruit trees??? I have only ever smelled the Rio Dulce, the Caribbean sea and seaweed. There is not and has never been the smell you mention. Thanks for noticing the incredible food, that is after all why we are here. We offer the best seafood and Pizza along with loads of fresh fruit and vegetables direct from the market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best seafood of our vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stewart the owner was so friendly and polite, he explained the menu and specials with great passion and detail. Though most of what he mentioned was tempting (Seafood Pizza for sure) we opted for fresh caught local fish, delicately spiced with local vegetables - absolutely DELICIOUS. Went back to try their home made french toast filled with fresh fruit - WOW!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart w, Owner at Casa Nostra, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
It is fun to be able to offer Fresh fish, shrimp and calamari caught that same day. Chrisanthos and Soledad are Wizards in the kitchen. We love cooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nostra also viewed

Livingston, Rio Dulce
 
Izabal, Rio Dulce
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Nostra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.