We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best food and service so far in Guatemala"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Nostra

Casa Nostra
75 yards from the dock and take a left. Continue 450 yards and it will be on your left side backing to the river, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
502-7947-0842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are new with beautiful outdoor seating next to the river under our Palapa. The best Pizza in the area, serving Shrimp and Calamari Pizza as our speciality, Curried dishes, Masala dishes and Paprika dishes. We know how to prepare fish, shrimp and Calamari in incredible ways that you will not forget. i buy the fish, shrimp and Calamari from the boats in my back yard at 6;00 AM daily. I promise you the best dishes in Livingston. We have personal pizzas for under 3.00 USD. We make everything from scratch including our salad dressings, Curries, Masala, Mojitos, Pina Coladas and more. Our dough and pizza sauce are our own creation. The dough is made the day before to increase the natural flavours of the dough overnight. Our sauce is nothing you have ever had before. We can prepare special vegetarian dishes as you like.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Best food and service so far in Guatemala"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My partner and I have stayed in Casa Nostra for over two weeks now. Other than a few exceptions, we have eaten every meal here at the restaurant. Everyone, even the locals rave about the pizzas. The seafood is always fresh, normally bought that morning from the fisherman and the cook Chrisanthos as well as the owner, Stuart know how to cook. They cater to everyone's needs and desires and will not allow you to leave unsatisfied; they even perfected a cheeseless vegetarian pizza for us as we are lactose-intolerant. Ray even celebrated his birthday here and Stuart surprised us with a special cake and fancy dinner. What an experience! The description says best food in town, I agree 100%!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north canton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fish & pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stewart and his cook (Chisantos) make excellent fish dishes and pizza. Stewart's pizza is definitely the best in Livingston and is where all the locals get their pizza...I was told by another traveling couple that only one other place in Central America has better pizza (V.I.P. in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua). Stewart really seems to enjoy cooking for small groups and has a small tiki hut right on the water that we enjoyed eating quite a few meals at while watching the fishing boats and lanchas cruising in and out at the mouth of the river.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best Pizza in Town (really!) and its a hostel too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at this small, waterfront hostel / restaurant and really liked it. The owner, Stuart, is very friendly. The food is great (try the calamari pizza). The accommodations are basic but clean and comfortable. The patio out back is secluded and private, and overlooks the Rio Dulce (great place for breakfast). Definitely a good choice to stay, or eat at.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grrrrrreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

During our weekend in livingston, we always came back here for our meals. Rainbow Pancakes, freshest shrimp and calamary (The boats park just in front of backyard) and the best gladiator taste pizza in whole Guatemala. Stewart is the best host you'll ever meet. The trip a blast! And Casa Nostra made it better!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“The best place for food and fun in Guatemala!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days in September. Best pizza you have ever had, theres beautiful back yard that backs right up to a gorgeous river! Theres an out door cabana just next to the river that is awesome and there are beautiful topless girls everywhere on the beach!! Wow!We relaxed on Saturday in hammocks and drank coc loco's all afternoon. I was pleasantly surprised to be served and serviced by a topless waitress! (Very cool!) we were surrounded by jungle, tropical flowers and the carirbean sea. Even the coconuts were fresh off the trees. We had shrimp and fish for dinner on Sunday that were caught that very same day and served to us that night. The rooms were just the best you have ever experienced. They were small but extremely sanitary, especially the bathroom. The bed was really snugglie and held up to all the pounding we could muster. Everything was like brand new (used) condition!. We had the best time of our lives. The owner, Stuart, (a funny looking man) was the best host we ever had. He will have many drinks with you and and even entertain you with his funny stories and jokes!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart w, Owner at Casa Nostra, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Rod, Thank you for the kind words and accuracy, I enjoyed having you and your wife here. We had a blast. I need to correct one thing though, I think you may have imagined the topless waitress (or maybe it was me after swimming in the river bringing you another coco loco).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nostra also viewed

Livingston, Rio Dulce
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 
Livingston, Rio Dulce
Rio Dulce, Izabal Department
 

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Nostra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.