We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice guy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Nostra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Nostra
Save
You added Casa Nostra to your Saves list
About 500 Yards From the Municipal Dock | Calle Marcos Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Livingston B&B and Inns
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, nice guy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stuart's place is just great for relaxing. The rooms are good and very clean. There's Wi-fi. You can get great pizzas made my Stuart's delightful wife. But what makes this place stand out is the time Stuart spends making sure that all your plans run smoothly. He is amazingly helpful and interesting. Stay here, it's a great place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polleur, Liege, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We met Stuart in the street and he is very sympatic, so we decide to go to his hostel ! Place is great, Stuart is so friendly and could do a lot of things for you, like giving good tips, advices, and super good food :) !
Very quiet place, in front of the water, with super view on moutain, hot shower !!! So good conditions to chill and have fun.

We passed just one day here but we should had stay l Linvingston is small but nice, you could have fun here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great location on the water. Very clean bathroom and bedrooms. Hot, hot showers, Juliana cleans from sunrise to sundown. Within a 4 minute walk from everything. Peaceful backyard, hammocks, outdoor dining. The best Pizza and fish I have ever had in my life. The coffee and homemade fruit filled donuts are incredible.I will tell everyone about this place. Stuart, the owner made sure that everything was perfect. Highly, highly recommended

Room Tip: all about the same. they have the sound of waves at night and very comfortable new beds and sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed one night in Casa Nostra while travelling through Guatemala, but wished we could have stayed longer.
Stewart, the owner, made us feel really welcome and couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy. The kitten, dogs and parrot were playful and we truly felt at home.
The food and drinks are delicious - we tried the pizza and (very) fresh fish which were as good as promised and we have taken away the recipe for the lime juice to try to recreate at home.
The view from the dock out back where you can relax in a hammock is stunning, providing a wonderful setting for dinner. All in all Casa Nostra is truly an amazing place to stay and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobán, Alta Verapaz, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is small, quiet, and friendly. The best part of Casa Nostra is the owners Stuart and Solidad. They make you feel very much at home and will serve you up the most amazing, amaaazing food. AND, it's cheap. Seriously, this place is too good to be true.

Thanks for the incredible hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Casa Nostra for almost four weeks off and on while I went to Honduras and he stayed here then I returned. Everything is clean, the staff is as accommodating as they could be and you even get a nice towel for in the **hot** shower! There are plenty of seats and tables inside or outside to rest around as well as hammocks under the cabana right next to the Rio Dulce. Enjoy watching the local children play in the water and the fishermen take their boats out while having the best service and food in town. Crash for the night on the comfy new beds and wake up to smiles and made to order breakfast. There are only 3 rooms in the hostel, allowing the staff to provide you with whatever you need. You won't leave disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Woderful place to stay !!! I recommended !!! Excellent food, especially the pizza!!! Great hospitality!!! Wonderful drinks smooties!!! Nice bedrooms and very clean! Pretty views!!! Thanks for the GREAT time!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nostra

Address: About 500 Yards From the Municipal Dock | Calle Marcos Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small clean 3 bedroom house located on the river at the mouth of the Rio Dulce where it meets the Caribbean. Our back yard is the river, we offer outdoor hammocks and dining under our palapa. We are new, as are our beds and linen. We are also a small restaurant and will provide you with the best food available in Livingston. We make every thing fresh from scratch, buy our seafood, Calamari, Shrimp and fish daily off our back dock and always have a abundant fruit and vegetables for our liquados and dishes. You will feel special here and enjoy the tranquil setting, peace and quiet and still be within a 4 minute walk from the center of everything. I can help arrange tours for you to local caves with running rivers, waterfalls or white beaches, or take you out for a local tour in my boat, we can even try fishing near by for those who want, we always catch something. Regardless you will have fun whatever you are into. To reach me look at my info under restaurants in Livingston. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Nostra Guatemala/Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Nostra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.