We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Blanca

Playa Blanca
Livingston, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The speedboat ride to this beach is well worth its price to enjoy one of the few sandy beaches in eastern Guatemala.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Do not waste your time and money on Playa Blanca which is not a white sand beach. It is the ugliest and dirtiest beach I have ever been in my life! The water was very warm (I only put my feet in) but very dirty. There was some kind of mud floating in the water. On that day there were 9 of us going on this tour with Happy Fish and NONE of us jumped into the sea because it looked extremely dirty and toxic. Everyone was absolutely bored just looking at the sea for two and a half hours! I think they should have given us more time at the Siete Altares waterfall which is nicer and cleaner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Atitlan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Nice quiet carribean beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This beach has been very nice and clean on times that I have visited it. Guatemala only has a few miles of nice caribean beach, and this is as good as you will find.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best beach around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It's a private beach, you have to pay a small entry fee to get in, but it's worth it! There is nobody else there, except the group you went with. There is a very small business that sells you cold beer and coco-loco (coconut with white rum).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“White little palm beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Crowded on a weekend, but almost empty during the week. Warm water, white sand, cleaned beach, food available, when we visited.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

this was my first caribbean beach i visited and it was deserted and was just as i imagined

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Blanca also viewed

Livingston, Rio Dulce
Izabal, Rio Dulce
 
Izabal, Rio Dulce
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 

Been to Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.