We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying in a Jungle Tree House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Round House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Round House to your Saves list
The Round House
La Pintada | in between the hot spring and canyon, on the Rio Dulce, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Livingston B&B and Inns
San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like Staying in a Jungle Tree House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

What can I add? We spent our days relaxing, meeting great people, and playing in the river. You can paddle the free kayak to a couple of restaurants nearby. We thought about trying them out, but the family style dinners were too delicious. You can order breakfast, lunch or drinks as well. Everything is great, including the prices.

Spend some time watching locals fish from dugout canoes. Meet the folks who drop by for a couple of drinks or a few weeks. Jump off their dock for a swim or just swing in a hammock. If you are looking for some natural peace and a good mattress, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
29
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

During my stay here on the magical Rio Dulce I was welcomed by the caring couple Chris and Dani.
They made me feel at home and are a wonderfull couple to chat with and hang out.
The dinners are excellent and self cooked (beleve me, it's hard to cook a good meal so far out in the jungle).
The setting is wonderfully hidden in the jungle and still a few steps away from the river.
The round house is built by Chris and friends and is entirely made out of nature friendly materials.
They provide a jungle hike, kanooing, swimming pool and a relaxed setting to enjoy a good book (they have quite a lot), or taste the huge veriaty of splendid tequilla's.
Reading this you might think this will cost you a fortune but I was suprised to see that it is well affordable and doesn't cost anymore than any other hostel on the river or is actually cheaper.
I stayed here way longer than I had planned and will sertanly be back here when I visit Rio Dulce.

Room Tip: Any room will do fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio dulce
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

It seems to be the usual case with this fantastic place, i came to stay for two nights and ended up staying twenty, it is the hotel california of guatemala, i kept trying to check out but could'nt leave! Danni and Chris are a lovely couple, friendly,helpful and their enthusiasum for the ecoism of the roundhouse is great. a perfect setting on a quiet part of the river with hammocks over the dock to read and watch the fishermen. the food is fresh and filling and beers cold,what more could you want?. a fantastic place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makaha Valley, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I spent over four weeks combined at the roundhouse and I still feel like I left too early! This completly solar powered haven is nestled in the middle of an enchanting jungle right on the absolutly magnificant Rio Dulce! The premium tequila bar will keep your spirits high, while the perfectly placed hammoks overlooking the river will keep your eyelids low, as you watch local fishermen toss their nets! The brand new beds arn't that bad either! They offer kayaks, tubes, and can take you on a sunset cruise (the most awesome sunsets you can imagine), as long as there are enogh people. The sunday vollyball games in the pool are great aswell! The food is abolutly fantastic, and dinners are eaten together as a family (one of my favorite things)! I must emphasize the food is awesome, home made bread everyday! There is something very special about this place, and the only thing more special than this place in all of Guatemala are the owners Chris and Dani! They will go out of their way to make your stay special! I have truly made life long friends of these two and will be back with bells on guaranteed! The highlight of my three month trip was staying at the roundhouse and making friends with Chris and Dani! Love you guys and thanks!

Room Tip: Any room is good, you will sleep like a dead person! I believe the average person that stays here sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in during our 3 and a half month trip around South and Central America. Chris and Dani were the most hospitable, friendly and cool hotel/hostel managers we've met-thanks guys! It was hard to leave those hammocks swaying above the beautiful clean river in a peaceful and muy bonito setting amongst green green and more green! The food was wonderful, there was a pool to play some volleyball if that way inclined, hot springs a boat ride away and friendly people coming in and out. The energy of the place is special, there's no doubt about it. We'll be back! (:
ps a warning! you may go for a night or two but its likely to be three four or five (;

Room Tip: Dorm is open planned mosquito nets included. Private rooms are all similar and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

the roundhouse and its owners made me stay a whole week, Extremely nice atmosphere and overwhelming nature. Very nice to see how the projects are carried out to give their guests the best providance possible. Only the fact alone that everything is solar powered is just fantastic. I still think back of the place with a joyfull heart. thanx a lot, chris and dani!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Roundhouse is build up in a very nice way. Big and lovely furnished rooms, lots of hammocks, a round bar with an unbelievable selection of Tequila around a peaceful garden in the middle of the jungle directly at the river.

Dani and Chris (the owners) are such a great couple and a perfect team. They did everything to make sure we’re having a good time. We planned to stay two nights and stayed six. We had great conversations and a lot of fun. We always had dinner together, which is kind of a “family” thing and very nice. The food is insanely good (awesome self-made bread and granola, and delicious meals for dinner). We never had such good food anywhere else in Central America.

They picked us up with the boat in Livingston and took us to Rio Dulce after our stay. I think you can get there by water taxi as well. However, Dani and Chris do not charge a lot of money. Thus, it might be easier to call Dani and Chris and arrange the transportation with them. Every two days or so there is the reggae boat tour (boat tour from the hostel “Casa de Iguana” in Livingston) with a bunch of people for a few drinks, which is really enjoying.

Chris and Dani also have a swimming pool for volley ball, a hammock-house from where you can jump into the water, as well as kayaks and tubes.

The Roundhouse is one of the nicest places we’ve been to so far. It was really relaxed and chilled.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#3 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#5 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#6 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 1 in Puerto Barrios
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Hotel Mansion del Rio
#3 of 4 in Izabal
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Round House

Address: La Pintada | in between the hot spring and canyon, on the Rio Dulce, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is a social place with family-style dinners. We're located right on the beautiful Rio Dulce in the rain forest. The canyon, caves and hot springs are all nearby. Swim, hike, kayak, sunbathe or just take a hammock and watch the river life. We've got a great book exchange and enough hammocks to read. Or if you're up for a drink: there is also a well-stocked (Tequila!) bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Round House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Round House Guatemala/Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Round House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.