We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and awesome Margaritas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MC Tropic

MC Tropic
320 M From the Main Pier Up Street | Barrio el centro, calle de comercio, Livingston, Rio Dulce 502, Guatemala
+502 5558 5656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 restaurants in Livingston
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood, Asian fusion, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Specials: Tapado "Garifuna Soup" made with coconut cream, Sea food and green plantain; Thai curries, calamari or conch with oyster sauce, fish & ships, fresh lobsters and grilled fish,Ceviches, Pastas, Vegetarian Food, Coco Burgers. The Strongest coffee drinks from the highlands of Guatemala. Best COCO LOCO and COCO BURGER in town!!! All products are exclusive and well selected!!!
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and awesome Margaritas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I've eaten here a number of times and had most things on the menu and each time everything has been excellent. I recommend their curries and their signature Tapado, a typical Caribbean soup, which is especially good here. Also their Margaritas are top draw!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOSTROPICALES_GUATE, Owner at MC Tropic, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear janeechi,

Thank you for your great review! And for sharing your experience and some good advices to the travelers!! I am glad you like the Tapado and the thai curries. It has been a real pleasure to create some culinary dishes and Margaritas for you.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Melanie and The Mc Tropic Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    41
    15
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, tiny portions and misleading menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We visited mc tropic earlier tonight - after being impressed by the previous reviews of the place on here. It was a major disappointment. My girlfriend ordered the 'jumbo camarones in garlic and white wine sauce but she was given 6 tiny prawns (literally a little over 2 cms each) with a small portion of rice and a few vegetables in a vaguely garlic chinese style sauce. My curry chicken was the same but swap prawns for gristly chicken. I should say we are both pretty small people and do not generally eat very much. When I complained about the prawns to the chef she immediately looked embarrassed and offered a small discount saying that prawns are expensive in Livingston. For 80 Quetzales i expected much more. For context, this is the only negative restaurant review I have written in our whole 8 month trip. Do not expect much from this place!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOSTROPICALES_GUATE, Propietario at MC Tropic, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for visiting us and leaving a review. We appreciate all comments, good and poor, as it helps us improve, reminding us that any lapse in service and quality can be very detrimental to our business and customer satisfaction.

As you mentioned, we have a history of great reviews, which we are very proud of, and because of those reviews you were attracted to visit us.

We strive to maintain the high standards we set ourselves and feel genuinely sorry that this experience didn’t meet your expectations. We apologize on behalf of our chef who could have handled your complaint in a more satisfactory manner. She is not our manager so we assume full responsibility.

To that end, we had a team meeting to discuss your complaint, and extra efforts will be made to ensure a consistent and proper supply of shrimp.

Our menu does contain Asian fusion dishes, and the one you choose (Garlic shrimp flamed with white wine), belongs to the seafood section as a home recipe (local and traditional food). As fusion Asian dishes we offer “Chao min” and “Chinese fried rice”.

Our Thai Curries are the specialties of the house, and for those who prefer to taste the traditional and local cuisine: Garifuna soup “Tapado”, or grilled seafood and so on.

We take that our Mojitos at Q.13 each in happy hour were good for you, since there is no mention of them in your review. As far as the chicken with curry sauce is concerned, we aim to prepare dishes according to the good taste of the majority of people. Any suggestion is well received.

You are welcome to return anytime, and we will make sure that your next experience with us be like that of all the customers that have given us different reviews… a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Coco Loco in Livingston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I didn't dine there, tried their Coco-Loco only. It was the best

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOSTROPICALES_GUATE, Owner at MC Tropic, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Travlr_IL,

Thank you for your great review and mentioning the coco loco was the best cocktail you tried in our restaurant! Mc Tropic well known as “La Casa del Coco Loco” offers this local cocktail base in coconut water, rum and other ingredients as a specialty of the house. Definitely is one of our first recommendations to everybody.

See you soon!

Melanie and The Mc Tropic Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Friendly service, good menu choice and good portions.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at MC Tropic, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your review and mentioning we had good portions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MC Tropic also viewed

Livingston, Rio Dulce
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 
Livingston, Rio Dulce
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 

Been to MC Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MC Tropic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.