We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buga Mama Restaurant

Buga Mama Restaurant
Barrio Marcos Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
+502.7947.0891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Healthy, Guatemalan, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We really enjoyed the food at Buga Mama.

Quite an eclectic menu. We had fresh fish, served whole
and baked to perfection with a nice selection of
seasonings. We also split a pizza which was very good.

Service is good and prices are as good a value as can be found.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not Thai Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This a clean, well presented restaurant but it sure doesn't serve Thai food. It looked like Pad Thai, I wanted it to be Pad Thai, but it was not. It contained rice noodles but that is where the similarity ended. I did not taste a single Thai ingredient other than peanuts and it was served with a side of Vietnamese Hoisin sauce.

It was kind of tasty, it just wasn't Thai food. My server, Hector, did a great job and even said gracias when I tipped him (a rarity here). The banos were clean and I was given chop sticks (not used in Thailand).

I had breakfast here on a different day - granola with yogurt so sweet it was inedible. The service that day was non-verbal but efficient.

The prices on the menu outside the restaurant are 10-20Q higher than the actual prices, so do be careful. There is nothing "wrong" with this establishment and 100% of profits go to support Mayan youth and it's a vocational school.

But if you want Thai food, you'll get a closer approximation at MC Tropic. Sorry Buga Mama, but that's not Thai food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average to below average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have only visited this restaurant once with a group of friends and it was unimpressive. Service was slow, food was salty and unexceptional, and it was relatively expensive. I would skip it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Tasteful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Thai is my favorite food, so I was drawn by their banner advertising it. The restaurant is located on the water allowing one of the best views of the Rio Dulce in town. The wait-staff is very friendly, and they greet you with prompt service and a smile. Ordering Pad Thai, I was impressed to find that the meal was as good as I had anywhere in Bangkok. I did not find their prices expensive, as some have commented, but on par with other restaurants in Livingston. The food, service, and views will keep me going back to this place. It's worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worthwhile stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Enjoyed the thai food, but especially loved the fact that this restaurant is a training school for students learning about the hospitality industry--really fun to interact with the students in this context! Also, a superb location with many tables along the water near the main dock.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buga Mama Restaurant also viewed

Livingston, Rio Dulce
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 
Livingston, Rio Dulce
 

Been to Buga Mama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buga Mama Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.