We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable option right on the center of Livingston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rios Tropicales

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rios Tropicales to your Saves list
Hotel Rios Tropicales
Main Street | After Migration Office, Livingston, Rio Dulce 10010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Livingston B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great affordable option right on the center of Livingston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night only, we were staying on a place right on the river, but decided to spend the last night right in Livingston to catch an early boat to Puerto Barrios and continue our trip into Honduras. Roberto and Melanie were extremely helpful and kind. The hotel is simple but charming. The patio is beautiful. Its location is excellent; it is situated on the main street, across the bank and ATM, and half a block from the immigration office. The owners also run McTropic, a nice restaurant across the street from the hotel. Roberto also helped to arrange our trip out of Guatemala to Honduras.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rios Tropicales G, Owner at Hotel Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear LeandroG_526

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we glad that our services as a hotel, restaurant and travel agency were all to your likely. Definitely the location helps a lot when travelers have to wake up earlier in the morning in order to catch the first transfer that leaves to la Ceiba. I am glad you made it! My best vibes to you for this year.

Roberto & Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    19
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
31
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here about a month ago during my travels through Central America, and I would highly recommend it! It's in a great location, the decor is really lovely and lovingly done, and the vibe is chill and relaxing. I was traveling alone, and Melanie was extremely cool and helpful to me. Their restaurant across the street is also really nice, and they make great mojitos! It was one of my favorite places I stayed during my trip. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Livingston, and I would recommend Livingston to anyone visiting Guatemala!

Room Tip: Single rooms with shared bathroom are very nice and still affordable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rios Tropicales G, Owner at Hotel Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Emily R,

I am happy to hear you have a lot fun around Guatemala specially in Livingston. Thanks for mentioned our great Mojitos made in Mc Tropic Restaurant and i love that you like them. Now we're having new specials infusions coctails so you are welcome to come back again and taste it! Send you positive vibes to you for this new year!

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
373 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I am going to be honest with you, as I always am in my reviews. I did not stay at the hotel. The reason that I am taking the time to write this review is because of the advice that I have received from Melanie concerning the travel agency portion. This is my first trip to Central America and I have many questions. Melanie has always been very patient with me and very helpful. Whenever I needed to get around within the country, she would use her contacts to hook me up. If you find yourself in Livingston for any reason in the future and need some advice about local areas or neighboring countries, then please don't hesitate to stop in, say "Hola" and get ready for and adventure or an easy transfer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOSTROPICALES_GUATE, Owner at Hotel Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Kyle L,

It was always a pleasure to talked to you and gave you all the information you need it, i am happy to hear that our transfer around Central America were to your likely and that you spend a good time on your vacation and for any other traveler that is willing to come to livingston please feel free to contact me in Hotel Rios Tropicales or Mc Tropic Restaurant. ! Safe Travels Kyle L and happy new year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

While we were looking for a mid budget place to stay in Livingston. After we checked every place of this budget level (all looked worse than jails) we came back to these simple but nice and clean rooms. And most of all Melanie, the owner. This brilliant girl is so helpful and the one to organize the trip to La Ceiba-Honduras ontime to catch the same day trip to the Bay Islands (a bit expensive though). Their restaurant is also excellent and with nice prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOSTROPICALES_GUATE, Owner at Hotel Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Alexandros_T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are so glad to hear that you spend a good time in Livingston as well to know that our transfer to la Ceiba and other services were to your completely satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit and happy new year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozirje, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hola...

This February I was traveling around Central America whit a group of travelers...In Livingston we stay in Hotel Rios Tropicales...The place has a great garden, great coffee and rooms...And Melanie and Stefanie are just super! They help us a lot and they make our stay as comfortable as possible!
Thank you and hope to see you next year...
Tom

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOSTROPICALES_GUATE, Owner at Hotel Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear TomoPet,

Thank you for your nice review, we glad to hear you and your group of travelers enjoy your stay with us. Looking forward of seeing you soon next year! Mel&Steph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms with shared bathroom. The room was very basic but clean. The mattresses were a bit too hard and the pillows too thin for good sleep. What is best in this place is the beautiful garden patio with lots of plants, hammocks and chairs. Perfect place for relaxing. The staff were friendly and welcoming and they keep the place really clean. I'd like to also recommend the coffee and the food in their restaurant. Their Tapado was the best we had in Livingston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOSTROPICALES_GUATE, Owner at Hotel Rios Tropicales, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you MiiFinland for your candid comments! We are glad to know you spent a good time with us in Livingston. My apologize if the mattresses and pillows were too hard, we will take this in count for further customers and make sure everybody can have a better sleep in our place. I am happy to read that you liked the coffee and the Tapado in our restaurant Mc Tropic.
See you soon! xoxo.. Melanie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ended up meeting Melanie at the restaurant who kindly offered a peaceful and harmonious place to stay.

It was a wonderful experience coming from all the rest of the friends, including the wonderful couple whom originally were impressed with the place.

Highly recommend whatever your interests are..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.3 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#3 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#6 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
143.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#5 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
12.6 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 1 in Puerto Barrios
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Hotel Mansion del Rio
#3 of 4 in Izabal
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rios Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rios Tropicales

Address: Main Street | After Migration Office, Livingston, Rio Dulce 10010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with private bathroom (warm shower) and private rooms with shared bathroom. Breakfast from waffles & crepes with Nutela and Banana, the strongest coffee drinks in town such as expresso, capuccino, Frapuccino with white chocolate, caramel or dark chocolate, chai tea . Ask Melanie about Tours or Direct Transfers to(Semuc Champey, Belize, La Ceiba, Rio dulce & Flores and Punta Gorda, Belize) FREE WIFI at the restaurant and coffe shop (entrance) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Rios Tropicales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rios Tropicales Guatemala/Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rios Tropicales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.