We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Finca Tatin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Finca Tatin to your Saves list
Hotel Finca Tatin
Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Caye Caulker, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our stay was amazing. Very relaxed and an amazing atmosphere. The food was really good and the prices also. We really would recommend everybody to go there for a relaxed and peaceful place. The bungalows were nice and the staff is helpfull and nice aswell.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    30
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
23
55
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My stay at Finca Tatin was perfect in every way.

The property is family-run with the help of an incredibly helpful and friendly staff. I mention this only because the other eco lodges I stayed in were staffed with friendly but young people who seemed to be just passing through. The attention to detail that arises from places with a consistent staff seem to make all the difference in quality.

Though the location may be remote for some, they've thought of pretty much anything you may desire in amenities. The food is great and the family-style dinners were superb and great for meeting other guests after the day's adventures. The rooms were spotless and all beds have a mosquito net, essential in this jungle setting. The beautiful property is filled with places to relax and enjoy, with hammocks, etc awaiting you in every nook and cranny your heart may desire. I constantly felt like a lot of work had gone into anticipating the needs of all types of travelers. Whether on a budget in the dorm or opting for the reasonably-priced riverfront cabins, the experience is designed to be fantastic.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Finca Tatin was everything I had hoped it would be, homey, cheap, comfortable, incredibly relaxing and lot's of fun.
Lying in a hammock all day long with a great book from the book exchange, renting kayaks and exploring the Rio Dulce down to Livingston and the delicious family dinners I was definitely sad to leave that place!

Room Tip: Dorm was awesome and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights last year (2013-2014).

From there we went one day in Belizean cayes, another day ww went with a guide in a cave and kayaking.

The Finca was full so there was a lot of life around and the family dinner was really great.
The food is ok, the staff was very helpful and the dorms very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
332 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were really looking forward to our visit and were having a tough time choosing which of the lodges to stay at. We had first hand recommendations to stay at either Hotelito Perdido or the Roundhouse and were impressed with the emails we received from Perdido in particular, by contrast Tatin's email responses were very short and vague. Despite this we decided to stay at Tatin based on the amazing reviews of TA.
When we arrived in Livingston we went to the dock where we were told we would be met by their boat. A small boat arrived dropping off some guests by two teenage boys, we got the feeling these guests had not had the best time and we were a little worried. The boys were nice but as typical teenagers communication was not their strength, they admitted they did not know we were arriving (despite their email acknowledgement). They said thats ok we will take you anyway - gee thanks! The service never got any better. On arrival no one greeted us or helped with bags. The female manager also did not know who we were but they said we could still stay, we were not being made to feel welcome at all. The owner smiled but did not get up to say hello.
We were explained about the lodge and shown a room and then left alone, each time we entered the common area we felt like we were intruding on their space.
Another major issue was that they were renovating, this is normal of course but we were never warned prior to arriving. All tranquility of the jungle was disturbed by the hamnmers and saws. It felt like they were not really open, I think they should either close the place until work is finished or offer some form of discount. The cramped common space was quite dirty.
With the renovations the kitchen has been moved and all the food was simply left outside with no covering, we saw the cat climbing al over it and my wife was sick that night after eating the dinner. The dinner is supposed to be a "family" sit down meal but the owner did not join us and most of the staff sat there as if in sufferance. While still eating the younger son was running around spitting spitballs at the staff across the dinner table, while the older son and the manager continued their flirting rituals from earlier.
The lodge itself is very nice and our room was very good, large size with private bathroom.
The next morning we told them we were cutting short our stay and leaving (had "reserved" 3 nights with possibility of extending) and there was no questioning or care as to why we were leaving. Also note if there is not enough guests leaving you have to take the public boat at full price.
We did notice as we were leaving that a local family arrived and they were met at the dock by the owner and manager and their bags were carried so maybe the service levels are different for different guests. Our motto is if they don't want your money why stay and give it to them. A shame because with just some form of service it could be a great place.
Maybe once the renovations are completed and the owners sons have returned to school and not being asked to manage the property service levels will rise??

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Absolutely stunning hostel, you can really tell it is the hostel owner's dream come to life. There is so much detail everywhere ! Beds were quite uncomfortable and I found it very hard to sleep at night. The owner's two sons are there for the summer and seem to have gone a little stir-crazy, they were quite arrogant and at times rude. Other than some teenage angst, this place was paradise

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place has a wonderful spot, hidden into jungle and rio dulce.
We wanted to stay 2 nights first, finally we spent 5 nights diving into the river, chilling in hammock, playing with the big dog, kayaking all around the place and discussing with travellers.
Rooms are damp. Jungle anyway.
Carlos and the volunteers are very helpful and kind!
It was a great place to relax after the tiring and warm temples of Tikal !!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.4 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#3 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#6 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
143.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Hotel Mansion del Rio
#3 of 4 in Izabal
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
13.1 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 1 in Puerto Barrios
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
19.1 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#7 of 9 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca Tatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Tatin

Address: Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Tatin is a hotel in the jungle, unique for it`s surroundings, and the simple and friendly atmosphere within.Owned by argentinian-italian globber trotter Carlos Simonini.Our place is special because we live in harmony with Nature; respect and protect the biodiversity while we work and live in the Rain Forest.How do we respect nature?If you look for a simple, relaxed time, good food, excellent company, wonderful places to explore, “FINCA TATIN IS YOUR DESTINATION”!Where is the Finca Tatin?Finca Tatin is on the Rio Tatin, a branch of the Rio Dulce. We are 20minutos boat from Livingston, the Caribbean Garifuna people, and 45 minutes by boat from Fronteras (Río Dulce) .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Finca Tatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Tatin Livingston
Hotel Finca Tatin Guatemala/Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Finca Tatin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.