We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Finca Tatin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Finca Tatin to your Saves list
Hotel Finca Tatin
Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have been addicted to this place since the first time i went there, they have been always helpful, friendly, the cleaning of the rooms has been great, we have to understand this place is located in the tropical jungle and of course you might find a spider or a gecko hanging out in your room:) But remember we are the ones are invading their space... And also I love the fact is a river front place. Is a great place to relax, to meet new friends, to chill heard the sound the tropical rain forest in Guatemala, the location of the place also let you do easy connections to Honduras and Belize! Talk to Carlos or Gaby they are amazing friendly people! And is always a chance to volunteer there and get some more knowledge about Guatemala! I highly recommend this place for adventurer people, for people has open mind and also ready to leave your comfort zone...

Room Tip: River front cabins are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    25
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
48
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Finca Tatin was a great place to slip away for a few days. With sparse electricity and internet, it forced me off my computer and away from work, after which I was delighted to soak in the place. Set in the midst of lush jungle, along the bio-diverse Rio Dulce, there are plenty of hikes, great spots for swimming, and a fleet of kayaks to take advantage of. The restaurant was simple but delicious with an obvious leaning towards the available fresh ingredients. At night, dinners are family-style and always start of with a bowl of soup and handmade tortillas with an awesome chimichurri sauce. Cold beer available, nice cocktails, great communal area, friendly staff, and nice adventures all around. For more, check out my article on Buckettripper.com: http://www.buckettripper.com/on-the-river-at-finca-tatin-in-guatemala/

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Absolutely fantastic. Theres something to be said for being out in the jungle only accessable by boat. Its something you dream of. Great food. Great company. Spent a little more than we should have but hands down our favourite place in our 1.5 month adventure. No regreats. only smiles.

Family run and operated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hotel finca tatin is a well kept, family owned hotel. I have been back several times, and i love it more and more. They have these really cool rooms, were each room is it's own building. You spend your whole time in the jungle, and it has a great mix between nature and modern apliances. The food is great, and the staff is super freindly, and I have never felt like they dont meet my needs. I recomend this for any one, and everyone. the place is super safe.

Room Tip: It's always a good idea to call before to make a reservation, but the room called Pelicano is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Finca Tatin is a really nice place with great owners !
It is a unique place in the middle of the jungle.
The rooms for two with shared bathrooms are ok but those with private bathroom on the Rio Dulce look great.
Dinner in common at night, perfect to meet people from all over the world.
Common area is great with hammocks and sofas.
The Rio got the perfect temperature for swimming !

Room Tip: Room on the rio are more expensive but more fresh than room in the middle of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A very peaceful place to stay right between river and jungle. The whole experience is very laid back. There is plenty to see and do - hiking, kayaking, swimming or just chilling on a hammock. At dinner we all sit down together to catch up with fellow travellers. It does you good to switch off from the outside world and become one with nature.
Big thumbs up to Gaby, Carlos and the team!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a perfect place to just chill out and relax. If you want something to do, there are a lot of activities available. I loved the friendly family atmosphere and peace & quiet. The room we had was good and clean. Everything was a bit damp but what can you expect in a jungle? Most of the staff were extremely nice and I liked the system where you write everything you eat, drink etc. in a book and pay when you leave. The food was always good and plenty and the evenings when all the people gather together to eat are really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Finca Tatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Tatin

Address: Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Tatin is a hotel in the jungle, unique for it`s surroundings, and the simple and friendly atmosphere within.Owned by argentinian-italian globber trotter Carlos Simonini.Our place is special because we live in harmony with Nature; respect and protect the biodiversity while we work and live in the Rain Forest.How do we respect nature?If you look for a simple, relaxed time, good food, excellent company, wonderful places to explore, “FINCA TATIN IS YOUR DESTINATION”!Where is the Finca Tatin?Finca Tatin is on the Rio Tatin, a branch of the Rio Dulce. We are 20minutos boat from Livingston, the Caribbean Garifuna people, and 45 minutes by boat from Fronteras (Río Dulce) .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Finca Tatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Tatin Livingston
Hotel Finca Tatin Guatemala/Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Finca Tatin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.