We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great jungle hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Finca Tatin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Finca Tatin to your Saves list
Hotel Finca Tatin
Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
“Great jungle hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Finca Tatin is a really nice place with great owners !
It is a unique place in the middle of the jungle.
The rooms for two with shared bathrooms are ok but those with private bathroom on the Rio Dulce look great.
Dinner in common at night, perfect to meet people from all over the world.
Common area is great with hammocks and sofas.
The Rio got the perfect temperature for swimming !

Room Tip: Room on the rio are more expensive but more fresh than room in the middle of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    25
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
48
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A very peaceful place to stay right between river and jungle. The whole experience is very laid back. There is plenty to see and do - hiking, kayaking, swimming or just chilling on a hammock. At dinner we all sit down together to catch up with fellow travellers. It does you good to switch off from the outside world and become one with nature.
Big thumbs up to Gaby, Carlos and the team!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a perfect place to just chill out and relax. If you want something to do, there are a lot of activities available. I loved the friendly family atmosphere and peace & quiet. The room we had was good and clean. Everything was a bit damp but what can you expect in a jungle? Most of the staff were extremely nice and I liked the system where you write everything you eat, drink etc. in a book and pay when you leave. The food was always good and plenty and the evenings when all the people gather together to eat are really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Every time I stay in that hotel I feel that Im in the perfect place to be. The opportunity to be surrounded with nature fills my soul with peace. The rooms and areas are really clean, the food is soooooo goood, and all the Hotel´s crew are really nice, friendly and helpful. When I have to leave, I keep on wanting more. If I had the chance I would stay there forever ;-)

If you go to Guatemala, Finca Tatin is a MUST!

What are you waiting for Citizens of the World?! =)

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice and special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Such a great place to stay! I love the location, the hotel and the people! It was such an awesome experience i decided spontaneously to come back for some weeks during the summer!
You are in the middle of nature, the hotel can only be reached by boat. You can swim in the river or explore the jungle. The hotel itself is really neat! The food is great and the atmosphere is fantastic!
This is the right place to experience Guatemala as it is!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed there for 10 days. Just relax and swim, wander over the jungle. The day when i leave there i thought 10 days are not enough! All room is very humble and clean , comfortable. i like those room style that its not too much to disturb the nature. You can do a tour adventure, you can do just stay in a hammok all day long. So wonderful things whatever you do there. I am still missing there on my bed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I spent 2 days in this beautiful hotel... it is a nice option if you want to be surrounded by nature, you will have the opportunity to see birds, trees, flowers, animals and a river. It was a really relaxing time. You will have to take a boat from Rio Dulce (town) to get here since it is located in a small river close to the main river (Rio Dulce). The food is great, always on time and delicious as well. They have kayak service so you can explore the river in a very unique way, be sure to have sun protector. I kayaked from Finca Tatin to Livingston and the experience was just amazing!!! really recommended!!! it took me around 2.5 hours but I had the chance to see the river and canyon in a better way than using a boat, full of nature!!!! The rooms are fine, not a 5 stars room but definitely you will enjoy it. the lights are also gone at 10pm, so be sure to do everything you need before that time. Can't wait to be back!!!

Room Tip: Get the bungalows, they are close to the river and you can have nice sunsets and sunrises.... ahhhh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Finca Tatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Tatin

Address: Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Tatin is a hotel in the jungle, unique for it`s surroundings, and the simple and friendly atmosphere within.Owned by argentinian-italian globber trotter Carlos Simonini.Our place is special because we live in harmony with Nature; respect and protect the biodiversity while we work and live in the Rain Forest.How do we respect nature?If you look for a simple, relaxed time, good food, excellent company, wonderful places to explore, “FINCA TATIN IS YOUR DESTINATION”!Where is the Finca Tatin?Finca Tatin is on the Rio Tatin, a branch of the Rio Dulce. We are 20minutos boat from Livingston, the Caribbean Garifuna people, and 45 minutes by boat from Fronteras (Río Dulce) .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Finca Tatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Tatin Livingston
Hotel Finca Tatin Guatemala/Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Finca Tatin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.