We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly Beautiful Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel and Restaurant Bambu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel and Restaurant Bambu to your Saves list
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tzanchicham 7, Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Comfortable rooms with good food and good service. The coffee is outstanding. Don't forget to being some home. Beautiful well kept grounds and views. Picture perfect. Wonderful stay. Looking forward to another visit in 2014. Bring your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
20
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

On May 25th 2013 our daughter got married to a wonderful young man from Santiago Atitlán at the Bambú. It was a total success! The owner, José, and all his wonderful employees worked tirelessly to make a day to remember forever. The beautiful gardens were at their best and during the preparations the day before we had great support from the staff and owner. The wedding was an all day event, ceremony in the morning followed by lunch and wedding cake for 250 people, a break in the afternoon -it took place during the rainy season so we were concerned about the weather- and in the evening a beautiful party for 125 people with great appetizers, drinks and music followed by a very good dinner, more music and dancing. We really asked too much from Bambú, at the beginning it was to be a much smaller wedding and it kept getting bigger and bigger. Bambú responded and met our needs as the great pros they are.The service was fabulous, the rooms impeccable, the showers great. An experience we'll never forget!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had lunch here after finding my own hotel disappointing and toured the property. Nice private bungalows that are airy and bright, in a quite area away from the pueblo. Great pool, lukewarm, as in all of Atitlan. The restaurant had nice food and great service - thanks to the servers for the Spanish practice. It's a great property, I'd give it a chance. There is a well-regarded Spanish school nearby and everything a 5Q tuk-tuk ride away, regardless. There are lower priced rooms in a hotel structure near the bungalows which also looked very nice and a triplex-casita nearer the pool. All looked clean and bright.

Room Tip: The bungalow closest to the lake has the best view and, once the restaurant closes, is likely the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose ca usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The situation is fantastic-right on the lake with gorgeous views. Great for a stroll around the beautiful grounds or for just hanging out watching birds. The suites are comfortable and spacious-ours was far more than we needed and the food is plentiful and tasty. The owners also arranged trips to volcano and a walking tour of Santiago with a local guide who was great.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosron
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We thought we had arrived in Paradise when we stayed at the Bambu. Though it is a few minute tuk tuk ride from the heart of town, it is utterly gorgeous, located at the mouth of the harbor in an exquisite setting that is made for R&R. The rooms are large and clean and offer private outdoor balconies. Lunch on the balcony of the restaurant is better than dinner. The location can either be a plus or a minus, depending on your preference for being close to the center of town or a bit outside in your own paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at Bambu after a terrible experience at Posada, where the inhospitable owner refused to serve us for no reason at all. It only took a few minutes at Bambu for that to feel like ancient history. The staff were so friendly, and the food was delicious. We spent a couple of wonderful hours enjoying our lunch by the lake, and I hope to return many times in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I didnt stay at the Bambu but I stayed near by and went to the Bambu for breakfast once and dinner twice. Their breakfast menu had a lot of variation and was really nice. I had the fruit filled crepes and they were perfect! The dinner menu was the same, from hamburgers to pasta dishes to steak. I had the bruschetta appetizer and it was very simple but delicious, andI had the hamburger with cheese and it was amazing and I also had the steak dinner the following night. Their mashed potatoes were GREAT! I Beautiful place with gorgeous views and lovely gardens and relaxing pool. Definitely would go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
3.1 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Bambu

Address: Tzanchicham 7, Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel and Restaurant Bambu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel and Restaurant Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Santiago Atitlan
Bambu Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Hotel And Restaurant Bambu Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.