We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay on Lake Atitlan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de Santiago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada de Santiago to your Saves list
Posada de Santiago
Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
usa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A great place to stay on Lake Atitlan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Posada exceeded our expectations in every way! David, the owner, has created a spot that fits in perfectly with its surroundings on the lake. Each casita is decorated with local furnishings, textiles, and handicrafts. We were in Casa Rosa and it was very comfortable. We loved the location as it was quiet and serene but had easy access to the lake where we kayaked by ourselves one morning and also took boat trips to neighboring villages. The restaurant food was delicious at each meal (as were the drinks!) and the servers were so sweet, especially Nino! We thoroughly enjoyed a tour of Santiago with the knowledgeable and delightful Dolores Ratzan and our two days spent with Rolando who accompanied us hiking San Pedro and exploring Pana and the Solala market. We would never have been able to do what we did (ride a chicken bus, try our hand making tortillas with a woman vendor, visit the cemetery, and learn SO much about the local culture, customs and history of the lake) without Rolando. It’s clear to see that David has created a real family with his staff at the Posada. There is great mutual respect. This is a gem of a place!!

Room Tip: Casa Rosa was perfect for our family of four. It is close to the dining room but the foot traffic w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    33
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
82
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived cold and wet and hopped right in the hot tub! Swam in the pool right at the lake's edge and in the lake too! The sauna was hot but dripped blue paint on us....
We rented the house, La Hacienda, and used it just for sleeping since we ate all our meals in the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious and well priced. Try the excellent hot chocolate! We would recommend this to others. The grounds are beautiful and the staff friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We absolutely enjoyed our time at the Posada. The staff were fantastic, the ambience was very tranquil, and the atmosphere very authentic at this quaint and inviting hotel. Very laid back and friendly environment to enjoy our comidas deliciosas y bebidas. The rooms are appointed and suited to the local culture. We totally recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Santiago.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is my second year going to this beautiful hotel . I love eating breakfast in there,the view gorgeous , and the people are excellent got to love Nino he has the best costumer service ever great smile and very polite and helpful . Gracias ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Posada is one of the nicest places to stay close to the town of Santiago. The town is a close walk up the street, and across the street the Posada has a lake-front spot to relax with a pool, hot-tub and a doc to access the beach. It is a great spot to relax, swim or rent a canoe for a relaxing ride on the lake. The food is excellent, and Jim the owner sometime has live music in the dining area on some evenings. The cabins are made of stone and absolutely charming. The rooms have filtered water on tap as well. It is a great place to start your visit to Lago de Atitlan

Room Tip: Rooms, halfway up the hill, are surrounded with beautiful gardens and are a close walk to the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for three nights. The "cabins" are well appointed and the staff is top notch! After we returned to Antigua we discovered that my husband did not have his money pouch containing a credit card and cash. After tearing apart our luggage we called Posada de Santiago and learned that indeed it had been left there but, our tour company had already been contacted by the staff and a courier was being sent. This was not an easy task considering that it was toward the end of Holy Week and the local roads were jammed with traffic and Antigua was wall-to-wall cars and pedestrians. When the pouch was delivered it had been secured in multiple layers of plastic and tape. All the contents were in tact. The grounds at Posada de Santiago are beautiful and the restaurant is excellent. Rolando took us on a birding expedition and he did a great job! If you want coffee before 7:30 a.m. request it and it will be delivered for a nominal charge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimaltenango, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I went to the Posada for our honeymoon in 2011. It was a dream location, dream view, and the food! We both call it paradise, our little piece of heaven. We traveled there again for our first anniversary in 2012 as well.

The food at the hotel is amazing. I still dream about the steak in peppercorn sauce. Having breakfast every morning right on the lake was incredible, the whole experience was just amazing.

David, the owner, is a hilarious man and makes you feel right at home when you're there. He is funny and very nice, chatty man.

Definitely go to the Posada if you have the chance!

Room Tip: My husband and I honeymooned in the Aguacatal suite. Very very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Santiago

Address: Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seventeen years the Posada de Santiago has built a reputation for excellence among travel agencies, tour groups, and countless satisfied guests from across the globe. Nestled between the volcanoes that cradle the indigenous Tzutujil village of Santiago Atitlan, the Posada provides the perfect base from which to experience Guatemala's natural beauty and colorful cultures. With charming stone cottage lodgings, renowned cuisine and luxurious lake front amenities, the Posada is a place where happy guests want to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Posada de Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Santiago Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Hotel Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.