We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de Santiago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada de Santiago to your Saves list
Posada de Santiago
Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We came from san lucas de toliman and stayed two night at this hotel posade de santiago. What a place! All the rooms are little house, built on the site of a small mountain. Everything around those houses was an oasis of flowers, plants , trees and birds. I was laying in a hammock and a hummingbird was next to my ear. Increadible!. The staff is very friendly as is the owner too. The food... So fresh, taste like a five star restaurant. On the other side off the street is the pool, sauna and an other area to sit and to eat. The view is the lake, i was sitting at the boatlanding at 6.30am to enjoy the peace, beauty of the lake with the local fishers in front off me. A paradise on earth! Hope i can come back again .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    29
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
74
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 5 nights here and wish we cold have stayed longer. Beautiful views and grounds and excellent staff and food. We felt like we were in Paradise! Enjoyed the hot tub each night which was a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Posada de Santiago has already earned TripAdvisor accolades, so I can only add to the rave reviews. Our team of 11 was in Santiago Atitlan to build stoves in the nearby Maya villages, within 2 kms of the Posada. We stayed five nights, so we had an excellent opportunity to evaluate the hotel's consistent excellence. Every noon and every evening we returned from hard work to a wonderful meal in amazing surroundings. At noon we ate in the bar/gazebo overlooking the pool and Lake Atitlan, stretched out in lounge chairs. In the evenings we had marvelous meals! The owner, an American, serves fresh, local food and even grinds his own coffee, wonderfully smooth. We stayed in lovely little stone bungalows scattered up the hill. Ours was "Luna," complete with fireplace, hammock, lake view, huge volcanic boulders and lush flowers and vegetation. The grounds were carefully tended and alive with all kinds of flowers and other plants that would be houseplants in the US. Not only was the hotel excellent, but we met fascinating people here. Posada de Santiago seems to be a meeting place for people who are Doing Good in the area--searching for pure water, ensuring good health care for the region, enjoying the land and the people of Guatemala, climbing the area's volcanos. This area, across the lake from the tourist town of Panahachel, is very much a Maya community. There are some tourists, but not enough to detract from the local people and culture. We had the opportunity to get to know the villagers as we built stoves for them. Posada de Santiago gave us an ideal point of departure.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows have views of the lake. All of them have fireplaces. There is a faucet in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the posada for 4 days. I are in the restaurant several times, used the sauna, pool and hot tub, paddled the canoe early in the morning, and took a tour of the town recommended by the hotel. The hotel staff and grounds made it one of the best experiences of my life. Take time to learn the story of the hotel and ask to see David's (the owner) binder of questions and answers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great spot and a funky relaxed hotel. Good food comfortable beds and a view to die for. Go for the two suites, junior or rosa these are the best rooms and well priced. Will return for sure. The lake can be windy which means a rough crossing, take a private boat rather than public.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night on a side trip to Santiago from Santa Cruz. The hotel is on the edge of the town. I walked here, but I recommend taking a boat or a tuktuk. First of all, the hotel is amazing for the price. The rooms is clean, the garden is well maintained and healthy. The restaurant is very relaxing and serves great continental foods.

The best part is the pool area across the street. You can enjoy hot tub late at night with millions stars in the sky. They also have a sauna in the same area.

The owner of the place is also very helpful. He helped me negotiate a boat back t Santa Cruz for a reasonable price.

I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been traveling in Guatemala for two weeks and arrived by boat yesterday from panajachel. We love it here. Great food, live music with the waiters chiming in, and good wine selection. Our room is set back from the lake, up a slight incline, surrounded by beautiful gardens with a good view of the lake and a hammock just outside the door. A lovely place to wind down from the craziness of shopping in other parts of this colorful country. And the beds are so comfortable which is a plus!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Santiago

Address: Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seventeen years the Posada de Santiago has built a reputation for excellence among travel agencies, tour groups, and countless satisfied guests from across the globe. Nestled between the volcanoes that cradle the indigenous Tzutujil village of Santiago Atitlan, the Posada provides the perfect base from which to experience Guatemala's natural beauty and colorful cultures. With charming stone cottage lodgings, renowned cuisine and luxurious lake front amenities, the Posada is a place where happy guests want to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Posada de Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Santiago Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Hotel Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.