We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Utz Jay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Utz Jay to your Saves list
Hotel Utz Jay
5 Calle 2-50 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here during our visit to Lake Atitlan. A great value with breakfast included. Several bungalow style rooms spread out on the property amongst the garden. Wi-Fi, & cable TV included. Just a block off the main street and short walk to the docks. A great location and a great price. Plenty of HOT water for showers, they provide a pitcher of drinking water in your room. Would recommended this place to any one stayin overnight in Panajachel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
62
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a very nice time at this hotel. It is located off of the main drag in town. The staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The owner has 2 German Shepherd dogs that are very friendly and play well with children. Breakfast was included with the room and was very good.

Room Tip: Ooops. No pool to review and couldn't remove it from rating. The rooms at the back of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Utz Jay while visiting Lake Atitlan. The hotel is in a very good location - close to the main street & the two ferry points in Panajachel.

We had a upstairs room with balcony, which was nice to come back to and relax. The room was of average size with a double & single bed and private bathroom. The water is not drinkable or usable for brushing teeth, so a large jug of filtered water is left in your room each day. Breakfast was included in our room rate and there is a vast selection on offer, freshly made to order.

Having visited other towns around Lake Atitlan, I would suggest only staying in Panajachel if you really have to. There are more interesting towns such as San Pedro to stay in. If you do stay in Pana, Hotel Utz Jay is a good option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Awesome hotel with helpful staff and lush, relaxing garden! Close to the market and lake shore, but very quiet and tranquil. The breakfast option in the morning was a definite plus. ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May for a few days.....I would say best value for anywhere we stayed in Guatemala last four years......breakfast wonderful and made to order, flexible, interesting, wonderful rooms, . We loved this hotel, and anyone else we have recommended it to thought we were genus's.........Including the reasonable price or this hotel, I would give it a 6 or 7 out of 5.....the staff was very nice, the owner a bit different, but pleasant........I even had a gardening lesson from the one of the gardeners and learned alot....centrally located, and best value I have seen in Guatemala for a similar location and quality .

Room Tip: we only stayed in one room,,,,,,,,shared a living room...ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A bunch of little bungalows? basically each building had a hotel room on first floor or second floor. Flowers and vines hid porches and stairs so you really felt secluded and private. Two short blocks off the main drag so nice and quiet to sleep.

If you walk to Main Street and turn left one block down is the post office. FYI signage says accepts Visa but only let's you use it if postage is over 100Q. Also as with any country PUT postage on yourself with a sponge. They will provide sponge for you. I've read stories where clerks will say they will stamp your mail and then they keep your money and ditch you cards in the trash!!!

Breakfast included and they let me substitute waffle menu item for the continental freebie. Bacon wasn't the crispy type but I still really liked it! Tried to orders Coca Cola to drink but waiter said did not have. He may have thought we meant if it was included in our free meal. He did not speak English.

Two huge German Shepard dogs greet you. They are the tallest ones I have ever seen!!!! Very friendly.

Early morning will hear the roosters calling each other as well as several other bird sounds. Lemon tree right outside room as well as other fruit trees in the courtyard. I suggest sitting on your private porch in the morning and listening to the wonderful birds.

I felt very safe although the screened windows were nice so I kept windows open, I was a little
concerned that someone could climb in from the porch.

Sauna and hot tub in spa costs extra I didn't partake so can't comment. They also offered free foot bath jacuzzi thing but I did not try it.

Office worker only knew limited English. They had a shelf to leave and borrow English novels/ books which would be nice if you were staying there for awhile.

Bathroom was really clean!!!! With plenty of toilet paper! And hotel put a pitcher of (safe to drink) water with cups to use for brushing your teeth, etc. I thought this was a great touch!!!

Beds and pillows seemed comfortable and I slept great, but honestly this was the end of a ten day vacation so anything may have seemed great! Haha.

Also there is a bathroom next to restaurant in case you don't want to go to your room.

WiFi was great!

Room Tip: I had room #8 and loved it. Two double beds. On the second floor with private balcony that was she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

June 2013 - we had a great stay at Hotel Utz Jay in Panajachel. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is a very convenient location - a couple blocks from the main street and close to the port. Since it is not on the main road, it is very quiet. The hotel has a very nice courtyard with lots of trees, flowers, and birds. It is very peaceful!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#18 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utz Jay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utz Jay

Address: 5 Calle 2-50 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel located near the main shopping and businesses, but in a quiet street, perfect location. There are rooms spread out through a lush tropical garden, from which one can relax and enjoy watching the birds (over 25 varieties), exotic plants and beautiful trees. Each room is decorated with handcrafted native motif and has a private bathroom with plenty of hot water 24 hrs., TV with cable and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Utz Jay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utz Jay Hotel
Hotel Utz Jay Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Utz Jay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.