We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panajachel perfect spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Utz Jay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Utz Jay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Utz Jay
5 Calle 2-50 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
San Francisco, CA, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Panajachel perfect spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great little hotel -- away from the noisy main streets of Pana - but very close to everything. The garden are is tranquil and calming with lovely birds and flowers. We had a room upstairs (think it was 8) with a lovely deck overlooking the gardens - spent lots of time sitting there watching the sun rise, relaxing. The room was beyond clean - totally spotless. As others have mentioned - this was a real bargain and a wonderful spot in Pana. We also loved the 2 German Shepards!

Room Tip: We loved room 8 - because of the wonderful deck - but didn't really look at any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
49
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a great find! Unbelievably reasonable for two persons and sort of like a cabin in the woods with a main room off the bedroom that had a fireplace. Each bedroom area has a front porch and is surrounded by trees and shrubbery. We stayed 3 nights and were offered free breakfast because of the length of our stay. Great location on a side street off the main shopping street and close to restaurants and the docks where you catch the lanchas. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay here because the room was airy, and spotless, comfy beds and wonderful setting. They are located off the main road and only a couple of blocks from Lake Attitlan. We were in Room #2, ground floor right off the garden and woke up to birds singing. The garden is kept clean and has tables and chairs around the place to relax and enjoy the peace. Amenities include good towels, plenty of hot water and good bedding.The staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast is available and complimentary coffee if you order off the menu. The food was very good, and delivered promptly. Luggage storage is available so you can continue your visit if your next tour van leaves after checkout. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Try the "tree house" room over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We loved staying here, and wish we could have stayed longer! The grounds are beautifully landscaped which makes for a very pretty and peaceful environment. It is very reasonably priced. The room was clean and spacious, with a nice private hot water bathroom. The staff is very friendly, especially the 2 dogs :) We really loved the sauna, and the porch outside our room. They have a great location just minutes from a great view of the lake, and all of the Mayan handicraft shopping your little heart desires. We would love to stay here again, and definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Pana!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Room #5 which felt like climbing into a tree house. The room was a decent size and had a good bathroom with a hot shower. We particularly liked the outside deck and the comfortable chairs.
The room had all the amenities, a place to put suitcases, hang clothes, good towels, T.V.and desk. There was a lot of wind while we were there and the metal roof banged. We mentioned this as well as the lack of hooks in the bathroom to the owners and when we came back they had corrected both these deficiences.
As others mentioned the hotel is central and has a pleasant courtyard to walk through. We ate our breakfasts there, because it was nice to have one meal where we weren't interupted by local entrepeneurs. The staff were very helpful and we had some good converstations with the owner. The hotel is good value and would reccomend it.

Room Tip: There are alot of different options from ground floor to second floor. Al ittle noiser high up but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in this lovely hotel, we really liked it. The place is central, quiet, has a lovely garden. The breakfast choice is great!

The place is pitoresque by itself i would say, with the natural plants, the nice walking paths.

You're a 5 min walk from the Lake Atitlan, to enjoy the sunset.

It's very clean, the service is good. The rooms are lovely.

I would just highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Centrally located in Pana, this hotel is off on a quiet street with lovely gardens, hot tub, and steam. Separate small cabins with comfortable beds and outdoor sitting areas in the garden. Two friendly German shepards, the owners pets, are there to hang out in the garden. This is not luxury but it s clean, friendly, and inexpensive. Great help with drivers, boats, and tips on restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with another couple, ask for the adjoining rooms with a small living area. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Utz Jay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utz Jay

Address: 5 Calle 2-50 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel located near the main shopping and businesses, but in a quiet street, perfect location. There are rooms spread out through a lush tropical garden, from which one can relax and enjoy watching the birds (over 25 varieties), exotic plants and beautiful trees. Each room is decorated with handcrafted native motif and has a private bathroom with plenty of hot water 24 hrs., TV with cable and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Utz Jay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utz Jay Hotel
Hotel Utz Jay Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Utz Jay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.